My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Moru Kachiyathu

Posted by Annita on September 23, 2008

Moru Kachiyatahu or Spiced butter milk used to be a regular in my home for lunch.This goes well with ‘Kuthari Choru ‘(rice with Rosematta rice),but if you’ve some beef fry or meen pattichathu to accompany it ….hmmm…just try it out.

Moru Kachiyathu can be kept for a long time and it tastes better with time.After 1 day,you might’ve to keep it in fridge to prevent it from getting too sour.If possible,try using ‘Indian curd’ instead of yogurt while preparing this dish.

Traditionally,Moru Kachiyathu is prepared with coconut paste,but the simpler version without coconut is more popular nowadays.

Here goes my Amma’s recipe of Moru Kachiyathu(with coconut)….

Ingredients :-

Well beaten Curd – 4 cups
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Asafoetida(Kaayam) – a pinch
Fenugreek powder(Uluva) – a pinch
Salt – to taste
Oil (preferrably Coconut Oil) – as needed

For Grinding :-
Grated coconut – 1/2 cup
Cumin seeds (Jeerakam) – 1/2 tsp
Red Chilly powder – 1/2 tsp

Grind all these ingredients into a fine paste and keep it aside.

For Seasoning :-
Mustard seeds – 1/4 tsp
Shallots (kunjulli ) sliced – 1 tbsp
Green chillies slit – 3 or 4
Red chillies – 2
Curry leaves – a sprig

Method :-

Mix together curd,salt and turmeric powder in a bowl and keep it aside.

Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Then add shallots ,fry until it turns brown and then add green chillies ,red chillies and curry leaves.Fry for a while and remove it from oil and keep it aside.

Reduce the heat and add the ground paste into the same oil.Fry for 2-3 mins stirring continuously.Do not let coconut paste change its color.Now add asafoetida and fenugreek powder and stir well.(Instead of adding fenugreek powder at this stage,you can use fenugreek seeds itself while preparing the seasoning.)

Reduce the heat to low and gently add the beaten curd mixture and stir continuosly until it is warm.Never let it boil.Switch off the stove and pour the prepared seasoning over it.Serve with warm rice.

23 Responses to “Moru Kachiyathu”

  1. nags said

    i love it with fried fish :D

  2. Jennifer said

    Oh my gosh, YUM!! I love mor.. anything with mor is my favorite!! Thanks for posting this.

  3. Bervin said

    Hi Annita,

    Thanks for posting this recipe.BTW I’m a regular visitor of your site and Trialsnerror too.But nowadays I’m not able to get into TnE…can you please help me.

    Thanks,
    Bervin.

  4. Perfect for a sunny day lunch

  5. Veena said

    Dear Annita,
    Congrates for your informative and very attractive site. I would like to tell u that according to ayurveda, fish and curd comes under”VIRUDDAHARAM”, means not to be included in one meal. There are more viruddaharams given. Anyways thanks for the site.
    Veena

  6. cookspot said

    this looks very nice never had it though. anythng that is wth buttermilk is preferred in my home also..thanks for the recipe

  7. Bindu said

    Hey Annita,

    Nice and simple recipe. Endey naattil we make kaachiya moru when some one has an upset stomach or something. As in indigestion or something. They say it is good. Anyways…I wll def try the coconut version. And btw, just wanted you to know I watched the movie “achhuvinde amma”. I loved it. Thanks for suggesting it to me. I also watched ‘chaandu pottu’ on you tube. I loved that one too.

  8. RP said

    Annita! its been a long time! :)
    I love mom’s moru kachiyathu with kumbalanga.
    Mine is always a quick one. I don’t even add ground coconut! Just season the moru with mustard, chillies, ulli, garlic, curry leaves, and turmeric…and I call it moru kachiyathu!

  9. Anonymous said

    Is there any Indian type dish with dal and chicken? If so, can you publish the recipe or a link?

  10. Liz said

    I tried this…it turned out delicious…reminded me of home :)

    Thank you liz for letting me know abt it..
    Annita

  11. remya said

    Annita ..tried this and came out very well….meanwhile do u know to prepare parippuvada..if so please post it..

  12. sarina alexander said

    Hi Annita,

    I did try this Moru Kachiyathu and came out well. i thought i’ll share a tip i picked from my mom which i guess would be useful for a lot of people.

    Sometimes when we make this it seems as though the dish has curdled a bit. the trick is before putting the seasonings cool the mooru and put it in a blender and beat just a few seconds. Stain the mooru with a seive and add the seasonings to get a relly smooth flowing curry. this also helps us if the coconut is not ground very smoothly and dont like to bite it.

    regards,
    sarina

  13. maya said

    i love morukacheyathae very much espiecially when u have a bad stomach, my mom used to make this for us but without coconut. Really works
    thanks

  14. […] Please see Annita’s Kachimoru here. […]

  15. Paakapriya said

    Tried this today with rosematta rice. It was delicious! Thank you for a simple and great recipe!

  16. Sumitha said

    hi annita
    am a regular visitor to your blog.
    you ahave lots of amazing and awesome recipes.
    i tried your maoru kachiyathu yesterday.infact i have been looking for an authentic christian style moru kachiyathu for a long time.
    am happy that i got it.
    you are doing a great job dear.
    my family enjoyed it very much.
    i had it with papadam thalichathu .thanks to mishmash’s recipe.
    keep doing this good work.
    looking more and more for more vegetrian recipes for chappathis and rotis.
    thank you so much dear.

  17. Rani said

    Hi Annita,

    Could you suggest me with some prawn recipes

  18. amarnath said

    Hello Annita,

    Loved the way u putup everything so simply and effectively…….. good for everybody not only for house wives.
    Thanks for putting in so much efforts and taking out time to find these informations.
    Wishing u a happier & healthier new year ahead…..KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

    amar
    Delhi

  19. Hello Annita,

    very nice post and interesting aswell. You are doing a great job dear.
    my family enjoyed it very much.

    i had it with papadam thalichathu .thanks to mishmash’s recipe.
    keep doing this good work.
    looking more and more for more vegetrian recipes for chappathis and rotis.

  20. Hi Annita,

    I did try this Moru Kachiyathu and came out well. Great Share Thanks

  21. I truly wanted to develop a brief note to thank you for some of the lovely instructions you are writing here. My rather long internet investigation has finally been recognized with reputable concept to exchange with my companions. I ‘d mention that most of us site visitors are extremely fortunate to dwell in a very good place with so many outstanding individuals with good plans. I feel really grateful to have seen your web site and look forward to tons of more amazing times reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things.

  22. I’d must verify with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I get pleasure from studying a submit that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  23. Amit Roy said

    How do you know if moru curry has gone bad?

Leave a comment