My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Semiya Payasam

Posted by Annita on September 12, 2008

“Wishing you all a very happy Onam”

Semiya/Vermicelli Payasam is the simplest of all the payasams and is the most popular one.

Recipe follows…

Ingredients:-

Vermicelli/Semiya – 1 cup
Sago – 1/4 cup (Optional)
Milk – 4 – 5 cups(I’ve use 2% fat milk here.You can use whole milk,or little water combined with whole milk depending on your choice.)
Sugar – 1/2 cup
Condensed milk – 1/2 cup (Optional)
Cashewnuts – 1/4 cup
Raisins – 1/4 cup
Cardamom pods crushed – 3
Ghee – 2 tbsp + 1 tbsp(for roasting cashews & raisins)

Method :-

Soak the sago in 1-2 cups water for an hour.Boil it along with this water until it turns soft and translucent,stirring in between.Drain it through a sieve and reserve the sago.

Heat ghee in a pan and roast the vermicelli till it gets a light brown color and keep it aside.(Ready made roasted vermicelli is available in market now,if you’re using that you can skip this step.)Boil milk in a big vessel,and when it is fully boiled,slowly add the roasted vermicelli into it,stirring continuosly to prevent them from sticking.Let it come to a slow boil in medium heat.When the vermicelli is cooked,add the sugar and sago and mix well.Now simmer it for 10- 15 minutes or until it begins to thicken.Add the condensed milk into it and stir again until everything is well combined.You can also add more milk if needed.Check for the sugar and add crushed cardamom,mix well and switch off the stove.

Heat 1 tbsp ghee in a pan and fry cashews until brown,remove them from pan and fry the raisins until plump.Add these to the payasam.This payasam can be served warm or chilled.

Note :- If you’re not using the condensed milk add more sugar accordingly.

18 Responses to “Semiya Payasam”

  1. Happy Onam..Love this payasam

    Thank u,And onam wishes to u too…
    Annita

  2. Jayashree said

    Onashamsakal Annita….

    Happy Onam to u & ur family,Jayasree
    Annita

  3. RP said

    Thank you annita. Happy Onam to you too.. :)

    sadya okkay enthaayi…?
    Annita

  4. Bindu said

    A very very Happy Onam to you and your family and every one who visits this blog. I miss the traditional Ona Sadhya so much!!!So, I am just going to go through all the Ona Sadhya vibhavams!!!

    Happy Onam to u & ur family,Bindu
    Annita

  5. Maria Jose said

    Happy Onam Annita…

    are u making onasadya?

    Yes Maria…a little one…:)
    Annita

  6. geetha said

    hi annita, i prepared my first onasadya this time… ur blog helped a lot with some dishes….thank you…hope u had a wonderful onam…

    nice to hear that,Geetha…Yes…we had a nice onam here..:)
    Annita

  7. Happy Onam!

    same to you..:)
    Annita

  8. lalitha said

    Happy Onam to you and your family.

  9. ligi said

    hai anitta,
    HAPPY ONAM
    i prepared onasadya for the first time,(completely alone)!!!ur blog helped me a lot!!
    thanksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
    evideya thamassikunathu???

  10. raaji said

    my first time here……nice recipe collection……
    love payas..

  11. DIvya said

    Hi Annita,

    I’ve been viitiong ur blog for quite some time now…Shud say that the recipies are quite good…. I got married recently and am still learning the gimmicks of cooking… :) and i must say ur site is a big help….

    And this onam i prepared sadya for around 12 pple…!!! And almost all the reciies were from ur site…
    It turned out to be good enuf… i cud enter my Mom in law’s good books..!!!

    Thanks a lot…

    This is so much of a help for all beginers like me….

  12. kristina said

    Hey, there’s a new website about to launch called Behind the Burner: it features exclusive tips on products and cooking techniques, as well as video demonstrations with New York City’s best chefs! Be sure to check out the website, http://www.behindtheburner.com, where you can sign up for email updates and more info.

  13. Surya said

    Hi Annita,

    Belated Onam wishes to u and ur family. For sadya, I had made ada pradhaman using ur recipe and it came out so well. My guests liked ada pradhaman the most among all onam dishes. I must confess that this is not the first time I am referring to your site. Infact I am an ardent fan of ur blog. I made ada pradhaman last Onam too using your recipe and a friend of mine who had the same then called me this this Onam, to ask how I had made the payasam last year as she had liked the same so much. I send her a link to ur site with a note saying ur site is really gud and she can refer to it for making many dishes and then I realized I have been selfishly using ur site all along without even leaving a thank you note. I have made many dishes refering to ur recipes – Chilly Chicken, Uzhunnu vada, Vellarika pachadi, Kadhai paneer…obviously the list is long; Needless to say all of them turned out really gud. I even joined a Wilton class inspired by your cake displays.
    Today I thought rather than being lazy, I should let you know how much me & my family have enjoyed cooking & eating all those dishes. I love your blog with its variety of recipes and easy to follow instructions. I visit your site often just for the sheer pleasure of reading through your recipes and seeing snaps of those wonderful dishes. Thanks a ton for selflessly sharing all your recipes. Keep up your good work !!!

  14. Liz said

    I made this (no sago)and it turned out delicious. Thanks!!

  15. Its consistently great to learn guidelines such as you part targeted blog posting. As I only began posting remarks targeted blog and dealing with trouble as in lots of rejections. I think the suggestion would be useful for me. i’ll let you know if its function for me too.

  16. Peppermint can be described as therapeutic organic consisting of menthol. Great can easily be grown in every with the temperatures. Mashed mint is employed when home cure for the purpose of an acne breakout. Take a handful of mint foliage and mash them adequately by having a human and also pestle. Use that broken percentage and juices for peppermint results in for infected dermis leaving for 5 that will 15 minutes.

  17. First Class Recipes…

    […]Semiya Payasam « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  18. Healthcare said

    Healthcare…

    […]Semiya Payasam « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
