My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Wilton Buttercream Icing(Stif consistency)

Posted by Annita on April 17, 2007

This is the recipe taught to us in Wilton Cake decorating class.

Wilton Buttercream

Ingredients :-

Solid white vegetable shortening – 1 cup
Wilton flavour(Vanilla,Almond or Butter) – 1 tsp
Milk or water – 2 tbsp
Pure cane confectioners’ sugar – 1 lb (approx 4 cups)
Wilton Meringue Powder – 1 tbsp
salt – a pinch (optional)

Method:-

Cream shortening,flavoring and water.Then add all the other ingredients and mix on medium speed until all the ingredientsnhave been thoroughly mixed together.Blend an additional minute or so,until creamy.

This stiff consistency recipe is used for decorations such as flowers with upright petals like roses and sweet peas.

Medium consistency:- Add 1 tsp water to each cup of stiff consistency icing(one additional tbsp of water when using the full recipe).Mix until well blended.Medium consistency is used to create stems,figure piping,borders and flowers with petals that lie flat.

Thin consistency :- Add 2 tsps of water to each cup of stiff consistency icing(two tbsps of additional liquid when using the full recipe).Mix until well blended.Thin consistency icing is used for writing,making stems,leaves and frosting a cake.

20 Responses to “Wilton Buttercream Icing(Stif consistency)”

  1. samatha neerupudi said

    iam from norway.it is very nice anita.

  2. Luvi Marie said

    I’m going to have to try this, it looks really simple and great for sudden vistors.
    Luvi
    Cake Decoration

  3. sindu said

    hi anita
    it looks really good . i need to try this.Can i use a hand mixer for mixing it.

  4. Swati said

    Hi Annita

    will try out this and let u know…

    Swati

    Waiting for ur comment,Swati..And u have are doing a great job with cakes…I simply adore your creation..
    Annita

  5. nive said

    hi anitha you have a lovely blog , i have my daughter birthday coming up so just needed some advice she wants me to make the teddy bear cake you have.
    what brand of vegetable shortening did you use and can we make the cake a day aheadh? have so many things to plan so sis not want to spend too much of time icing . Thanks a lot

    I use crisco vegetable shortening..and yes..u can make the cake a day ahead…but it’ll take some of ur time…
    All the best…
    Annita

  6. MYLEA said

    HOW MANY CUPS DOES THIS RECIPE MAKE?

    May be 3 cups
    Annita

  7. Lakshmi said

    Great site you have out here. I have tried most of your recipes out here and they have come out great. My husband loves the Chicken Varatiyathu recipe. Today gonna try the spicy liver fry :). We dont get meringue powder around where I stay. What can I use instead of 1 tbsp Meringue powder also could you specify the amount of the substitute I could use.

    It ‘ll work even if you dont add meringue powder also…But i dont know about any substitute for meringue powder..Sorry Lakshmi..
    Annita

  8. Linda said

    I have made two batches of a traditional buttercream frosting. Each time it comes out the consistency of pancake batter. Martha Stewart recipe.
    I thought maybe it is because I live in the tropics with the humidity. Any ideas? Also, I have these two batches I am keeping…..is there any way to thicken it after it is finished?
    Three lbs of butter lots of sugar and the vanilla. Taste absolutley wonderful if I can just thicken it?????

  9. ACJ said

    thanks for this. i am about to try my first decorated cake and i’m using this recipe for icing. hope it turns out well!

  10. Hazlina Asaruddin said

    I will love to try it….Yes!! of course…

    Regards

    Hazlina
    Selangor, Malaysia

  11. Substantially, the post is really the freshest on this deserving topic. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the wonderful clarity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates. Solid work and much success in your business efforts!

  12. Kayla said

    She did not create this, but it is very helpful to post it.

  13. Kayla said

    http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Buttercream-Icing

  14. baby diaper cake instructions…

    […]Wilton Buttercream Icing(Stif consistency) « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  15. renee said

    I’ve been looking for this recipe and the consistency of the icing. Thank you

  16. cooking classes…

    […]Wilton Buttercream Icing(Stif consistency) « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  17. It is beautiful. I am gonna try this. iI have been waiting to make a cake because my daughter always asked me to make a cake.thank you.

  18. hello again meeting yo

  19. hello again meeting yo

  20. Nice

Leave a comment