My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Puttu Olathiyathu(Stir fried puttu)

Posted by Annita on January 22, 2007

This is a simple quickie dish which is made with left over Puttu,and with the wide range of creative ideas you can vary the tastes as well as the appearance of this dish.My amma was very good at this,she kept changing the ingredients everytime.This used to be a regular tea time snack in my home,but we never get bored of it.You can either prepare it plain or add different type of sauces(soya sauce,chilly sauce etc) in it,also use any left over non-veg ,eggs,veggies etc that suits your tastebuds.Here’s the recipe of a simple stir fried puttu with scrambled eggs in it..

Puttu Olathiyathu

Ingredients:-

Left over puttu crumbled with hands – 2 cups
Eggs – 1 or 2
Chopped Onion – 1
Chopped ginger – 1 tsp
Red chillies – 4
Pepper powder – as needed
Curry leaves – a sprig
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Jeera seeds – 1/4 tsp
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Check whether the left over puttu has become hard,steam it or microwave it for few minutes to make it soft.Heat little oil in a pan,scramble the eggs adding salt and pepper and keep it aside.Now heat oil in another pan,allow mustard seeds and jeera seeds to splutter.Add in red chillies,ginger and curry leaves and fry for few seconds.Stir in chopped onion and saute until onion turns translucent.Add the soft puttu and mix it well.Simmer it for 3 or 4 minutes,stirring in between.Add scrambled egg and pepper powder and mix well.Fry for 2-3 minutes more in low heat.Serve hot with tea.

9 Responses to “Puttu Olathiyathu(Stir fried puttu)”

  1. Asha said

    Looks great but I have never eaten Puttu before so I will just enjoy looking at the beautiful dish!:))

    Try making Puttu once,Asha..A great cook like you can do it quite fast..
    Annita

  2. Ramya said

    Hi, Great blog,aids me a lot
    Can u kindly post or direct me to Kerala baby foods receipes for babies from 9months plus, I want to start introducing homemade foods for my baby

    I didn’t had any special recipes for my kid..i used to give him boiled fruits & veggies(potatoes,carrots,apples,pears etc) with little salt & butter.Then cereals made with ragi & milk.i think you can start introducing rice,iddlis,appams etc at this age.You have to wait till 1 yr to start non-veg.
    Hope this helps,Remya.I dont know any sites about home made baby foods.
    (my mother inlaw had prepared ‘Plantain powder’ for my kid..i just had to make a cereal with it ,by adding milk..I’ll surely get you the recipe for that one..)
    Annita

  3. Jyothsna said

    Wow Annita, I didn’t know leftover puttu could be converted. Kollamallo, innimuthal nyannum puttu fry undakum. Goood idea!!

    Try it out Jyotsna…and let me know if u’ve liked it..
    Annita

  4. maheswari said

    That’s great..i didn’t know you can make leftover puttu like this..looks delicious..

    Thanks Maheswari
    Annita

  5. giniann said

    I thought you were kidding when I read the title. It does exist then.

    Yeah gini,It was a sort of regular snack in my home…
    Annita

  6. InjiPennu said

    Oy,Oy how come you come up with such simple and good stuff?

    Glad to hear that u liked it,BTW..how are you,Injipennu?
    Annita

  7. ramya said

    Thanks anita..pass that powder recipe

    Yeah…will do that soon..ramya
    Annita

  8. Rg said

    I’ve never heard of this recipe before. Sounds very interesting. Next time, I make Puttu, I’ll be trying this one out for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    Try it and you are gonna love it for sure
    Annita

  9. Bindu said

    Wow!! I use to wonder what to do with this left over puttu. This is a good idea. Back home Amma used to make something like this with left over idlis.(No eggs. Just onions and green chillis) Thanks for these wonderful recipes.

Leave a Reply

 
