My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Malabar Chicken Biriyani

Posted by Annita on September 19, 2006

Long back I’ve also had Malabar Chicken Biriyani from the famous Sagar Hotel in Kozhikkode,and I still remember how special and different it tasted.Thanks to Shynee,with her recipe ,now I could recreate that special Malabar taste in my kitchen too.Deepu also loved it and according to him,this was the best biriyani i’ve ever made.

Malabar Chicken Biriyani
Malabar Chicken Biriyani

And here goes Shynee’s recipe for Malabar Chicken Biriyani…

Ingredients :-

Basmati Rice – 1 kg
Chicken cut into big pieces – 1 kg
Thinly Sliced Onion- 500 gm
Sliced Tomato – 250 gm
Ghee – as needed
Broken cashew nuts – 1/4 cup
Raisins – 1/4 cup
Curd – 1 cup
Lime – 1 big
Chopped Coriander leaves – 1 bunch
Chopped Mint leaves – 1 small bunch
Curry leaves-2 sprigs
Biriyani Masala Powder – 3 tsp

Rose water – 2 tbsp(optional)
Saffron – 1 gm(optional)
Boiled eggs – 2
Salt – as reqd

For Marinating Chicken

Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
Chilly Powder – 1 tsp
Salt – as needed

For Grinding

Green Chillies – 100 gm
Garlic – 50 gm
Ginger – 50 gm
Poppy seeds soaked in water for 5- 10 mts – 2 tsp

Grind them together to a coarse paste.Keep them aside

Method:-

Mix together the ingredients for marinating chicken.Apply the mixture thoroughly on chicken pieces and allow it to stand for half an hour preferrably in refrigerator.

Wash and drain the rice well.Heat little ghee in a pan,and roast the rice for 4-5 mts.Add necessary water(Usually the measurement is like,for 1 cup rice – 2 cups water) and salt into it,cook rice till soft and all the water is absorbed.Spread the rice in a flat serving dish,and sprinkle 3-4 drops of lime juice, allow it to cool.

Heat a little ghee in a pan and roast cashews and raisins till brown and keep it aside.Now add half of sliced onion and fry them until thay are well browned.Add more ghee /oil if needed.Drain them into a tissue paper and reserve .Now into the same oil,add marinated chicken pieces and shallow fry them for a while.Shynee says this can enhance the taste and also make the chicken pieces more firm.

Now heat another vessel and heat ghee/oil(preferrably ghee for more taste,or you can combine ghee and oil together) ,add rest of the onions and saute them till translucent.Mix in tomatoes,salt and the ground paste and saute them for 2-3 mts.Stir in curd and lemon juice and saute until oil seperates.Now add fried chicken pieces,mix well,cover and cook.

When it is half done,add Coriander leaves,Mint leaves,curry leaves and 2 tsp Biriyani masala powder.Mix and allow the chicken to cook well in medium heat,until all water is absorbed and chicken pieces are coated with gravy.Switch off the stove.

Take a big vessel,spread chicken pieces along with the gravy in the bottom.Now add one layer of cooked rice over chicken.Sprinkle a little biriyani masala powder,fried onions,cashews, raisins and saffron(mixed in rosewater).Repeat the same for 2 more layers with chicken ,rice and fried cashew-raisins-onions etc.Seal the vessel with aluminium foil and bake it for 15 mts(150 degree celsius).Mix thoroughly and serve hot with whole boiled eggs (in the middle),Onion Raita ,Pickle and Pappad.

Malabar Chicken Biriyani
Biriyani served with Raita,Papad and Pickle

Refer Shynee’s blog to see how this is served in Malabar Style.

Thanks again Shynee,for this very special Malabar Biriyani recipe.I can’t wait to prepare it again.

130 Responses to “Malabar Chicken Biriyani”

  1. prema said

    Hi Annita,
    My mom makes chicken biriyani in a completely different way.. Looks very nice and interesting.You have written in a very clear manner so that it would surely be easy for us to try it out. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

  2. Rg said

    I tried Shynee’s Malabar chicken biryani last month for my husband’s b’day and my family loved it too. will be trying it out again and again for sure.
    (annita, first photo-yil aara biryani-yil, korre hair cut cheydhu itte…??? :)) just kidding!!)

    Ayyo..Enne pedippichu kalnjello ,Rg.Njan serikkum vicharichu evideya hair ennu..:))
    Annita

  3. Deepa said

    I am crazy about biryani’s.I will surely give it a try.thanks for sharing

    You’ll love it,Deepa
    Annita

  4. mandira said

    Wow, the biryani looks lip smacking good. Iwill definitely give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

    Thank you Mandira
    Annita

  5. maheswari said

    Annita,
    Biryani looks yummy…thanks a lot for the “biryani masala”.

    Thanks Maheswari
    Annita

  6. Jyothsna said

    Hi Annita,
    This biryani seems mouthwatering, will definitely try it. Please share more biryani recipes if you can…. I’d like a recipe of a good Veg biryani.
    Thanks,
    Jyothsna.

    I’ll try to post it as soon as possible,Jyothsna.
    Annita

  7. wow!does this really taste like the sagar biryani..my husband is so fond of it.if this is it,then am gonna kiss u :)

    Try it out Maya..and pls let me know whether ur hubby liked it..
    Annita

  8. priya santhosh said

    hai anitha
    thanks a lot for all the nice recipies u r sending.really great

    Thanks for dropping by,Priya.And welcome to my blog.
    Annita

  9. jshree menon said

    hey annita
    hey i love ur blog…and thnks 4 this wonderful receipe.. i had a q, may sound silly to u.. but cant help asking..
    Approx. how many glass is 1 kg?

    If you are using a standard measuring cup,its almost 4 cups..Hope this helps.
    Annita

  10. […] For the chicken biryani, I followed Shynee’s recipe. I had seen Anita mention it. Thanks Anita!!! […]

  11. Anisha said

    Hi Annita,
    This sounds great! I am going to try it this weekend. But how much is 50gm ginger/garlic and 100 gm green chillies? And would 500gm of sliced onions be about 2 cups? I haven’t cooked with gm measurements before….

    Thanks!
    Anisha

    100 gms of chillies could be 15 or 16 nos..
    50 gms Ginger – a 1 inch size piece
    50 gms garlic – a whole garlic bulb
    500 gms Onion – 4 or 5..
    Again these are just the approximations only…
    Annita

  12. anjali said

    hi,
    iv just prepared this.
    waiting for my husband to come home and taste and comment. :-)
    shall update later .

    thanks & Regards,
    Anjali

    Thanks Anjali,and dont forget to let me know your husband’s comment too..
    Annita

  13. Ponni said

    Hi Annitha,
    Thanks for the recipe. Do you have the recipe for Kottayam style chicken biriyani with a little pineapple flavour and more bright yellowish color than Malabat biriyani?
    Ponni

    I haven’t tasted that pineapple flavored biriyani,Ponni..Let me ask my mom about it..she hails from kanjirappally and will surely let you know if i get the recipe..
    Annita

  14. divya said

    Thanks! for this mouth watering recepi.

    Thanks Divya
    Annita

  15. prajusha said

    hi
    thanks for the recipe. sagar hotel kozhikodan biriyani is famous and it has different taste:)

    It sure is,Prajusha…I can go on eating biriyani from sagar hotel
    Annita

  16. Sha said

    HiAnita,
    it’s been a while iam browsing ur recipes. all looks sooo homely and tasty. iam going to try ur malabar biriyani for my child’s first b’day. i was wondering if I could make the chicken gravy part the day before the pary and make the rice on on the day aand mix them? do u think it will still taste the same?
    regards,
    sha

    Sure,sha..you can do that..it’ll taste the same..
    Annita

  17. Modha said

    Hi

    I am webmaster of http://www.samasya.com
    I have a section on recipies and would like to seek your permission to add your recipies to my site.

    I will give you a reference to each recipie copied fom your site.

    Please let me know.
    webmaster@samasya.com

  18. Thampi said

    Hello Annita,
    Thanks a lot for your effort in publishing kerala receipes.
    Could you please find out/try the northern kerala dish ‘meen ada’.(steamed rice cake with fish stuffed inside)
    Keep going! All the best.
    Thampi

    Hi Thampi,

    I think you’ve asked for this recipe..
    http://malluspice.blogspot.com/2006/08/chemeen-ada-rice-pancakes-with-shrimp.html
    Pls check it out..
    Annita

  19. Debasish said

    I made it and it was wonderfull. I am going to try it again tommorrow.
    Last time it became less as we ate a lot.

    Thanks for this wonderfull recipe.

  20. Finla said

    Hi Annita
    I made the biriyani this weekend and it was a big hit with my hubby and daughter. Hubby even remarked he’ve never had such a luxrious biriyani in none of the hotels he have been to in India.
    Well i will be making it again.
    Thanks for the recipe.
    Finla

  21. Aysha said

    hi Annita,
    your recipes are juz gorgeous… i juz love even simply reading them and enjoy the pics :-)
    which part of US are in? i wud be ther next month, wish to c u if u r near by(i wud be in newport,NJ)
    me frm trivandrum, ippol bangalore-il

    do u hav recipes for making buger patties? pls post them if u have.

    Aysha

    Aysha,I live in Cincinnati,Ohio..You’re very much welcome to my home…:))
    Annita

  22. sunitha said

    yaaaaa.it was delicious…………..

  23. Girija said

    ഞാനും ഈ ബ്ലോഗിന്റെ സ്ഥിരം സന്ദര്‍ശകയാണ്‌

    എനിക്ക്‌ ഈ ബ്ലോഗ്‌ വളരെ ഇഷ്ടപ്പെട്ടതാണ്‌. വളരെയധികം രുചിയുള്ള പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകല്‍ ഇവിടെയുണ്ട്‌.

    ഞങ്ങള്‍ ഈയിടെ ഒരു “മലയാളം പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകളുടെ” ഒരു വെബ്‌ സൈറ്റ്‌ തുടങ്ങി.

    സൗകര്യം പോലെ അവിടം സന്ദര്‍ശിക്കുക.

    ഞങ്ങളുടെ വിലാസം
    http://www.recipeskerala.com

    നിങ്ങള്‍ക്കിഷ്ടപ്പെട്ട വിഭവങ്ങളുമായി ഞങ്ങള്‍ അവിടെ കാത്തിരിക്കുന്നുണ്ട്‌

    വരുമല്ലോ ??…. ഞങ്ങള്‍ കാത്തിരിക്കും

  24. Jubi said

    Hi Annita,

    I happened to accidently enter into this site. Seems very interesting… Your receipes are too good. Lately I have been having a tough time cooking… Nothing seems to work out well.. Missing the dishes my mom makes… Now its my turn to let my daughter enjoy food.. she is so so cranky about food… does not seems to like any food.. she does not like anything that i make… She would first taste and give her opinion.. am lucky if she like the food or else… and to my bad luck the cooking is not perfect.. Could you tell me some receipes for my daughter.. she likes more of chicken and fish… Of course, i am starting to try your receipes.

    Thanks
    Jubi

    I’ll try to add some more chicken/fish recipes to my kids choice,Jubi…
    Annita

  25. Shee said

    Hi annita!

    Your site is awesome! I also read your malabar parotta and the pictures make it real easy to follow your instructions. I have decided to try the biryani this weekend! As Aysha says just reading them feels great!

    Keep posting!
    Regards
    Shee

    Thanks Shee
    Annita

  26. I have heard about malabar chicken biriyani and so happy to get the method to cook it. Thanks a lot, Annitaaaaaaa :)

  27. shynee said

    Dear Anita

    It has been quite a while now tht I have dropped in here….and I never knew that you had popularised my malabar biriyani so much…oh u r too sweet dear for giving me the credit for an age old recipe that has always been a hit in all our parties and get together…Hmm…it is very true one cant help being an addict to this wonderful biriyani…and thanks a lot for giving me a share of its wonderful popularity…

  28. Malayalee in NJ said

    Annita,
    Thank you for your recipes. I recently made the chicken varattiyathu and it was a great hit with the family. I’m trying to biriyani later on this week and will keep you posted on the feedback!! Keep the recipes coming!!

    Thanks again!
    Tony

  29. ira said

    your biryani looks great..i would like to try it on this weekends..n i’ll let you know later..ok..tried many other recipes before from different websites..but your biryani looks delicious n different..thanks for the recipe.. =)

  30. sherin said

    gr8 recipe.thanks 4 all the effort u put in.i had a doubt this recipe is for how many people .just a rough estimate.

    I think 6-8 people could have it..
    Annita

  31. anamika said

    The biriyani turned out so well….my husband loved it so much.
    Your recipes are awesome.thank u so much
    looking forward to more such recipes

  32. lms said

    hey annita,

    is it ok to add food coloring if needed? and in which step would it be advisable to do so?

  33. Abhi said

    Awesome! I prepared it just now. It’s too good! Thank you. Keep publishing stuff like this…

  34. Anitha Blufin said

    Hi Annita,

    Yesterdy I tried out your Malabar chicken biryani… n trust me it was worth the toil… it came out really welll… my husband who luvs biryani…. just luved it… n it had made my day… Thx a ton for posting such a nice receipe… continue the gud work… n keep posting receipes like this…

    Loads of luv,
    Anitha

  35. Rakhi said

    your recipes seem very interesting..!!

  36. liza said

    hai Anitha-one of my frnd found this site accidently and fwded it to me.. first day of visiting ur blog.. i really liked it and u have decscribed everyhting well mannered.. so that we beginners can understand.. i have already fwded some of ur recipes to my frnd and i m gonna cook for Xmas some of ur items.. will let u know after that.. keep posting..

  37. liza said

    Sorry i misspelled ur name.. ok its Anitta…

  38. Gowri said

    Hi ! Annita

    Thank you so much for this lovely recipe.[Have been on the lookout for a good one for a long time….what i usually make is just average :( ]

    Tonight I made chicken biryani using your recipe and it was lip-smackingly good :D
    ….and the credit is all yours. So thanks again & keep up the gr8 work

    Gowri

  39. Leena said

    hi annita

    ur malabar biriyani receipe is amazing the pic is so tempting.eventhough i am from malappuram dist i was not knowing how to make malabar biriyani nicely. i got the correct receipe from u.as u said in the begining about hotel sagar it is very correct. i wont miss any oppetunity to have biriyani from sagar.

  40. vidhu said

    I am going to try this item.Will tell u the result

  41. nazrina said

    cumin powder about 2 tablespoons
    meat curry poder 2 tablespoons
    ghee 2 tablespoons
    full cream 500ml
    grinded cahews and almonds paste about 5 tablespoons
    instead of saffron is expensive you can put in food colouring and some tumeric powder
    ketumbar leaves chopped finely
    onion and garlic paste about 3 tablespoon

  42. dipali said

    I just tried this recipe…..yummo!!
    I combined ur recipe with shynee’s and added a little bit of my style too

    I’m happy to hear abt it Dipali..
    Annita

  43. […] by emi enikku ithhiri kozhi biryani kittiyal kollamarunnu ithu vaayichhappol nalla vishappu Malabar Chicken Biriyani My Treasure…My Pleasure __________________ I’m trying my best to forget you But my yesterday’s won’t let me go The […]

  44. SAURAV said

    hey dis is saurav (sunny) frm new delhi , thanx dear for dis recipe , actually i love cookin so much so i alwayzzzz keep tryin smthin sm thin new ….. i jus make ”Malabar Chicken Biriyani” my parents loved it so much .. nw i wanna smthin in mutton also so plz help me … u can mail me at sunny_7070@yahoo.com

    THANXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    i’ll be posting mutton dishes very soon,saurav..keep checking..
    Annita

  45. nazrina said

    instead of saffron use yellow colouring
    milk 2 cups of milk
    tomatoes 4 cut into 4 quarters
    marinating the chicken you put 10 tablespoons curds
    cumin powder 3 teaspoon
    garam masala
    grinded garlic 4 tablespoons
    cinnamon stick 3

  46. jeffin said

    Thanks a lot for publishing your recipe for chicken biriyani ,I am still lazy in cooking ,either i depend on friends or my mother to cook for me, but u have turned it around .I tried your recipe for egg roast and it was wonderful and now i have read the recipe for chicken biriyani .I am surely going to give it a try.Thanks a lot for inspiring me as i thought it would be a tedious process but after reading ur instructions it doesnt seem hard at all.

  47. seema said

    Dear anita….
    u r a wonderful lady…..we highly appreciate the way u explained it….i tried it the result was…………………………………………………100/100… you r great dear…..we had a party and every body appreciated me ..i was up in the moon like a star….and the best gift was from my hubby…do u know wht it is…..a wonderful sex…we all love u….
    take care..thnx a million again..

  48. geetha said

    hi anita, i had guests today and hubby asked to prepared chicken biriyani. my only confidence was your blog when i said yes.. and this recipe of yours saved me. it came out well.. thank you so much.. pinne, i referred to your blog only to prepare cheera thoran and vazhakka mezhukkupuratti as well… thanks to you, i am slowly getting a grip in cooking!!
    love your blog!!!

    Thank you very much for your kind words geetha.Pls visit me often..
    Annita

  49. kavitha said

    hi..
    thanks for the recipe……….

    Thank you
    Annita

  50. Deepthy said

    Hi my dear Annita,

    I am a regular reader of your blog.I am in love with your blog.You are really a great inspiration for a “madichi” like me.Annitayude blog vayikkumbol enikku enthokkeyo miss cheyyunna pole.pandu ente amma cook cheyyumbol paranjirunna kaaryangal ellam ormma varum.She was an excellent cook.Cheyyunna ella kaaryangalilum 100% perfection vechirunna person aayirunnu ente amma.Now I am trying vey much to be like my sweet amma

    pinne Annita, I have to ask you one doubt…Can I follow the recipe of malabar chicken biriyani for veg biriyani? Pls reply

    love and regards,
    Deepthy

    Sorry for the late reply,Deepthy…I was soo busy over last 2 weeks…
    I haven’t tried it for veg…but i think it should be good…
    Can u pls let me know abt the results?
    Annita

  51. ligi said

    “Seal the vessel with aluminium foil and bake it for 15 mts(150 degree celsius)’

    i don’t have a facility for baking!!can u give me an alternative way for the above step!!!
    ligi

    Just cover the pan tightly and heat in a stove for 10-15 mts in very low heat.
    Annita

    .

  52. ligi said

    hellooooooooo

  53. Deepthy said

    Sorry for late reply Annita…I made chicken biriyani yesterday.Amazing!!!Next week I will try it using vegetables only.Sure I will let u know the results.

    Annita,do u have any recipe for Thailand eggplants which is also known as Kermit eggplant
    (a variety of eggplant used primarily in Thai cuisine).

    Love and regards,
    Deepthy

    This recipe is usually prepared with thai eggplants…most of the eggplant curries other that required baking/roasting/stuffing can be prepared using thai eggplants…
    Annita

  54. ash said

    annita for president ! Thanks a lot. For the first time in my life an online recipe that actually worked.

  55. tess said

    hi..

    i tried ur recipe fro christmas n it came out well.. i made one change…added 1 sauted onion to the rice before adding boiled water…thanx for the recipe

  56. rajeesh said

    Hello Anita

    This was really good. Especially on the taste boosting steps. One and only thing could you please rethink on the quantity of green chilly mentioned ? 100gm for 1 Kg rice. Or do we need to adjust this on the redchilli ?

  57. sonia philip said

    i tried it out and it came out really nice. tnkz a lot for the recipe.

  58. kumari said

    why don’t you play videos of the recipes? I think it is easy to understand.

    • one pot of cooked rice.fry cinnamon stic and onions bay leaves and cashew nuts in oil transfer the talipu one two the second pot. add in orange and yellow colouring for the rice.add chilly powder tumeric powder and some curd add in some water 250ml put in tomatoes puree let it boil add in one cup of milk let it saute well for 10 mins then you in onion ginger garlic paste finally add grinded almond and cashew nuts paste then you add in the the bought from ntuc ask to cut then trow it in add in potatoes and tomotoes add salt and a pinch of pepper and garam masala then you off the pot.add in rose water and add in one lyer of to the one layer of curry continue for the rest now we are done

  59. fousy rahman said

    23-03-2009
    hai anitta,ur malabar biriyani is yummy taste.my kids&my husband like it verymuch.thanks anitta, thank u very much.

  60. bindu said

    hey…thanks a lot for posting such an amazing recipe…it came out real well….my husband is the one who found this recipe first…n i made it whn his friends came home…they all loved it…now am a regular reader of ur blog….keep up the good work….

  61. semladewi said

    hi anita
    how r u
    thank for recipe i made chicken briyani yesterday is very taste an amazing

    thank you
    anita

  62. koshy aji said

    thanks for good recipe.am not seeingany new recipes any more.

  63. KOLETH said

    HEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY ……COMMON ITS NOT BASMATHI RICE USED FOR MALABAR BIRIYANI …NO DOUT ME BEING A TYPICAL MALABARI

  64. Sony said

    Hi Anita,

    i tried ur chicken biriyani recipie today.. my husband liked it very much. We just finished our Malabar chicken biriyani dinner !!!
    I ve tired ur few other recipies and they all were big success.. i think i m becoming a fan of urs.. :)

    keep posting new recipies ..

  65. karthika said

    Hi Annita,
    I want to try your malabar briyani but I dont know what is shahjeera? if you know the malayalam name please let me know or where can i find it??

  66. Joy said

    Excellent recipe. Reminded me of the great food at restaurants in Calicut.

  67. Gopal said

    Annos,
    super biriyani. Regards to Deepak. Sujit told about this site.

    Gopal

  68. juliet said

    Thanks for the biryani receipe, it is so clearly explained. I’ll try out this coming friday. cheers….

  69. chris said

    no words to say thank you..i have tried so many biriyani recipes,but nothing has come out really well like this. i am a fan of your chicken varattiyatu,plum cake , erissery etc..

  70. ubaideth said

    adipoli. i tried it in the eid ul fithar. super taste

  71. Alloka said

    Hi
    I tried ur recipe…i was fabuluos…..loved it…Thank you so much..

  72. anu said

    Hi,
    Thanks for the lovely recipe.Was wondering if it could be done without an oven.Do lemme know.
    Thanks,
    Anu

  73. shijupulickal said

    You have written in a very clear manner so that it would surely be easy for us to try it out. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
    shiju

  74. […] 3. Annita’s Kerala Chicken Biryani […]

  75. Rey Dee said

    Just want to say your article is as tonishing. The lucidity in your post is simply spectacular and i can take for granted you are an expert on this field. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with incoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the delightful work

  76. Shabs said

    hi annita…this is a great recipe here…..was just browsing thru biriyani pics…i just made malabar chicken biriyani and want to click some pics and was browsing thru the recipes…Pinney,in kannur we prepare the biriyani in different style…..this is thalassery style where they fry the chicken before adding to the masala…This is a Great one….I prepare tellicherry biriyani the same way buit less curd and more tomatoes…..:)

  77. aswathy said

    hello…..i don have an oven at home. could yu tell me what i shud do instead???? i am dying ti try this recipe at home. but them the porb is i don have an oven. please help!

    • Vinu said

      why dont you try using pressure cooker instead of oven .use a vessel which doesnt touch the bottom of the pressure cooker and add content to this vessel and keep it inside this pressure cooker which contain little water close the lid (pressure cooker) without tier and leave it for 5 to 7 minutes.

  78. Vinu said

    Hi,

    First time to this blog.being trying out many biriyani recipe, nothing worked out .this time im going to try yours .i hope atleast this turns out well.i love biriyani.wish me luck :-)

  79. Dana Coe said

    I saw your website when I was searching for something unrelated, but this page was one of the first sites listed in Yahoo, your blog must be incredibly popular! Continue the good work!

  80. Vinu said

    hi i tried out your —
    malabar chicken biriyani,erissery,paavakka and cucumber pachadi,cherupayar stew,kadala curry,ulli theeyal.ellam adipoli ayirunu.im new to cooking and i loved all your recipes.simply superb.thanks a lot.

  81. arathi.v said

    thank u…………You have written in a very clear manner so that it would surely be easy for us to try it out. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

  82. Someone said

    Hi Annita,

    How are you? How is things going? Yes. I agree with you I am going to make Malabar chicken Biriyani. But I think its better to make African biriyani rather than Malabar, but it is fine we can adjust….Anyway I am expecting some more dishes like pingplotter apple pickle,traceroute sasi fry. This is just for fun but i will try this dish. Thanks

    Regards,
    Kitchen Support Department

  83. jessy said

    I m going to try the biryani soon. thanx for the recipe which is written very clearly
    Thanx,
    Jessy.

  84. SULFIKAR said

    today iprepared biriyani like this. my freiends too much satisfied. and the credit given to me. absolutily this is a fablous dish.

  85. ani said

    Super super super all my friends liked the briyani …perfect recipe

  86. sheeba said

    Hi there.,..
    no new updates from you..
    Where are u??

  87. Neethi said

    nice post Annita.. i m sure gonna try one day..u should try Zains fish biriyani! no words to describe! do blog if u can find the recipe!;) i ll die for it! :O

  88. Neethi said

    Forgot to mention..Zains is in Kozhikode, near the beach! famous for zainatha`s malabari biriyani!

  89. sreeja said

    hi anita,
    iam a gr8 fan of urs.i need a big favour from u.iam tempteed to make the malabar chicken biriyani.but i wud like to make for 50 people on the occassion of my daughters bday which is on feb 7.i wud really appreciate if u can tell me the amount of ingredients needed for 50 people.iam sure i will mess it otherwise.i look forward to hear from u.

    • Manju said

      Hi Sreeja,

      So did you try to make this biriyani for 50 people. Can you let me know the ingredients and tips to be followed ?

      Thanks,
      Manju

  90. Shifa said

    This recipe was absolutely yummy!! Everyone who had it loved it.

  91. jishamol said

    hi annita,thank u so much for this recipe.it is very very yummyyyyy…….

  92. Ruby said

    I’ve only been to Calicut once and that too for the infamous Sagar Biryani! Wow I never had anything that tasted better than this one. I’ve have Hyderabadi and THE original Mughlai biryani too. We central travancore people boast about our non-veg dishes, but boy isn’t this something?

    I’ve been searching for the recipe and i got it from here. This was just too good to pass up. Most of my friends are Muslims and they loved it!

    Big thank you.

  93. ushasree said

    thanks for the receipe..looks easy and sounds tasty… i’ll definetely try it out…

  94. farsana jahan said

    i dont understand wt u meant by biriyani masala can u mention it…

  95. pickel said

    pickel…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  96. faleel gafoor said

    i think……thers an add up to this recipe…..!!!…flavour can be enhanced by adding the chicken cooked water…followed by plain water so as to establish the water rice ratio…….!!!!!am sure the rice can itself be tasted without chicken piece or gravy…..

  97. mallu chat corner…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  98. Christmas ideas…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  99. in-ground-pool-prices…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  100. medical assistant schools in michigan…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  101. designing a kitchen…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  102. weekday recipes…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  103. Teena said

    Thanks for the recipe………. yesterday i tried, it was very nice…

  104. programs for windows…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  105. Davis said

    Good Information. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Tandoori Chef which is An authentic North Indian, fine dining restaurant, Tandoori Chef offers Hackensack and the surrounding area a wonderful taste of Indian cuisine.

  106. emilscaria said

    hi
    nice recipe you share
    http://www.idea-uae.com/chef-emil

  107. artiste peintre marocain…

    […]Malabar Chicken Biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  108. Davis said

    Good Information. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Tandoori Chef which is An authentic North Indian, fine dining restaurant, Tandoori Chef offers Hackensack and the surrounding area a wonderful taste of Indian cuisine. Visit us for more information.

  109. Santhosh said

    Annita,
    You could almost replicate the Malabar Biriyani receipie (not bosting myself, even being a Malabari and a person interested in cooking I myself cannot make it 100% right, it is that special, it is divine), but I must tell you two major difference from our original Malabar Biriyani :

    1) We don’t use Basmati Rice for Malabar Biriyani, we use “Jeerakashala” or “Gandhakashala” rice variety, which is very small in size and is very fragrant (than Basmati). This makes our Biriyani lot different and tastier than any other Biriyani variety in the world. It is a much costlier variety I must say.
    2) Biriyani Masala – We prepare our own MAsala (either we use in Powder form or we bundle this in a fine cloth and immerse it while preparing so that all that fragarnts are there but the same time you won’t bite into bitter taste of some spices while eating Biriyani). The Ingrediants are : Grampoo, Patta (Cynamon) , Jaadhikka (NutMeg), Jadhipatri (NutMeg Cover -Dried) , Elakka (Cardamom), Jeerakam (Cumin), Perunjeerakam, Shajeera (a black variety which is of sickle shape), Starini, Bay Leaves

    Hope this helps to improve your recepie all the more better.
    Regards,
    Santhosh. P(NewYork)

  110. rashmi said

    can u plz giv the ingredients in tbls and quantity

  111. Anju said

    Hi Annita,

    Which Biriyani Masala did you use? I have tried a few of them and my biriyani tastes more like Chicken Pulao.

  112. There has never been a better time to dig out your recipe box or whip up a new
    version of an old favorite. The Nu – Wave Oven is a countertop oven that uses infrared technologies to cook
    the meals. Here I shared information of emballage sous vide and machine sous vide.

  113. Simi Deepak said

    Hai,
    I tried this biriyani on last sunday as ramzan special,my husband liked very much..he asked me to make it again,so 2morow i m goin 2 make it for my hus

  114. Lee said

    The biryani was yummy. Just tried it

  115. stacysz11 said

    Provocative depict shots
    http://blowdjob.net.erolove.in/?private soldier-anjali
    erotic flowers erotic chinese massage free xxx pornography erotic animals

  116. sandhya subash said

    hi annita,
    This biriyani is so easy nd tasty. I am not a great cook but after trying this one, I have got appreciation from all.. credit to you and thanks a lot…

    Sandhya

  117. Tommy said

    This recipe looks yummy and I can say that you’ve provided the accurate procedure that surely easy to follow because it presented very clearly to make a delicious one. Thanks for sharing this and were looking for more of your delicious recipes.

  118. Hi there, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s truly good, keep up
    writing.

  119. Hey hi,

    very interesting blog. you cook very good recipes. I love Malabar Chicken biryani recipe a lot. will let my mom know about it.

  120. I’d also like to state that most individuals that find themselves with out health insurance usually are students, self-employed and those that are without a job. More than half of those uninsured are under the age of Thirty-five. They do not really feel they are in need of health insurance since they’re young as well as healthy. The income is generally spent on property, food, in addition to entertainment. Some people that do go to work either full or part time are not presented insurance by means of their jobs so they proceed without due to rising tariff of health insurance in the usa. Thanks for the suggestions you discuss through your blog.

  121. Savnish Sam said

    Hi,
    Your blog is nice and thanks for the wonderful recipe…I know how to make biriyani but i dont know how to make malabar biriyani..i think this blog will help me to make a tasty malabar biriyani…The picture in this blog make me mouth watering..last day i had a tasty malabar biriyani from palakkad.

  122. Anviya Aan said

    Hi,
    Your biriyani in this blog looks like a Homely Biriyani…Thats why i like this very much…Thanks for sharing it with us…

  123. When you do this, you can inform your group that you’re meeting an “old friend” for dinner or drinks and that you will be absent from their activities. You may want to create a story about your “friend” being a long-lost relative or an old college buddy. Regardless, create a plan for getting away from the others in your group, especially if you need to keep your rendezvous quiet for professional or personal reasons.

  124. Helen Jones said

    I love how biryani are made. For me, they are perfect comfort foods. It has protein, carbs that could render a balance nutrition. I had some biryani last night from Kulcha King and they are awesome. We also get some kulcha and kebab. What is more interesting is the offer they gave us for online-orders.

  125. Thanks, this is a great list. you can check this Automatic Idiyappam Making Machine

Leave a comment