My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Saffronhut’s Dahiwala Baingan

Posted by Annita on April 27, 2006

Many of my fellow bloggers have already tried out Saffronhut’s Dahiwala Baingan.Inspired by their write ups and photographs,I too decided to give it a try.And as for all of them,the result was amazing .The flavour of sourcream and the fried eggplants complement each other ,and the end product was rich & delicious . .Thanks Saffronhut,I just followed your recipe blindly.The only change was in the choice of eggplant.I don’t have the japaneese one with me ,so i used the common globe shaped fluffy type.

Eggplant
Eggplant

And the recipe for Dahiwala Baingan…

Ingredients:
Eggplant sliced and cut into 4 equal parts – 1
Chopped onion -1
Ginger-garlic paste -1 tbsp
Chopped green chillis – 4
Sour cream -2 tbsp
(I’ve used curd mixed with 1 tbsp of maida as suggested by Saffronhut)
Mustard seeds – a few
Jeera seeds – 1/4 tsp
Curry leves – a few
Chopped Cilantro -for garnish
Salt – to taste
Oil -as needed

Eggplant Slices
Eggplant cut into small pieces
Method:
Mix together eggplant slices,salt and ginger-garlic paste and marinate it for 2 hrs.I’ve kept it in a colander and collected a bowl full of bitter juices coming out of the egg plant.This was again Saffronhut’s tip which will help the eggplant to fry up well.Heat oil in a pan and shallow fry the marinated eggplant slices till brown and crispy. Reserve it for later use.

Fried Eggplant
Fried Eggplant

In the same pan(add oil if needed), add the mustard seeds and jeera seeds and allow it to splutter. Stir in curry leaves, green chillis ,salt and chopped onion.Saute till onion turn translucent. Add turmeric powder and stir well.Reduce the heat and slowly mix in sour cream and allow it to boil.Switch off the stove.

Finally add the fried eggplants into the gravy and garnish with chopped cilantro.Serve immediately .Goes well with roti/rice.

Dahiwala Baingan

Courtesy:- SaffronHut

Check out Shynee’s Dahi Baingan here

Posted by Annita

11 Responses to “Saffronhut’s Dahiwala Baingan”

  1. RP said

    That looks so good Annita. I think I missed saffronhut’s post about this recipe. Hope you are enjoying your vacation.

  2. Hey Annita, glad that you liked the recipe!! the end product looks yummy :)

    cheers!

  3. LALITHA said

    looks good. have to make some.

  4. L.G. said

    Hi Annita

    First time visiting your blog…wow! you have lot of kerala recipes.I came thru google.Parotta…Gosh! I want to try that one for sure! I thought that is the most complicated thing in this World! Thanks a lot..!! Will let you know

  5. Rekha said

    hi annita

    i tired ur recipe today it turned out very yummy !!! instead of frying i baked eggplant…my hubby liked it very much..thanks for sharing..keep up the good work

  6. aparna said

    Hi, Visiting here first time,through priya’s link. Ari pathri is great! That is first recipe on my blog. We cook same in Karnataka, and call akki rotti, we dont add ground coconut mixture. i want to try this one!

    Thanks for visiting my blog Aparna..As i’m at India now,i’m not that much into the blogging world..
    Will surely go through your blog

    Annita

  7. RP said

    Annita, long time no see? Too busy to post? Hope all is well & you are enjoying your vacation. :)


    I’m still at home,RP.My sisters marriage is fixed and so i’m a bit busy here..:))
    Will be back by mid of June..See you all soon
    Annita

  8. Hi Annita,
    Hope you are having a nice time in Kerala,I visited the koora site,intersting site I must say!

    Thanks for visiting that blog..Its funny,rt?

    Are u too from Kerala?

    Annita

  9. sarah said

    Annita
    hvn’t seen your blog updated for a long time…U ok?
    Sarah

  10. Annita said

    Thanks for enquiring about me Sarah,

    I’m very much ok.I’m still in Kerala,a bit busy with my sisters marriage.Will be back next week and i’ll see you all then.

    Annita

  11. Aparna said

    Congrats for your sister's marriage… Must be enjoying yummy kerala marriage sadhyam..:) miss your posts..

    Aparna

    Thanks Aprana..Now i'm back..Hope to start blogging soon..

    And in btw I've visited your blog..Its really good…Keep up the good work..

    Annita

Leave a Reply

 
