My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Roses on Raita

Posted by Annita on March 16, 2006

When I thought of posting something different other than the usual recipe stuff,these tomato flowers came into my mind.Presenting a dish in an appealing way is also an important aspect of cooking.Rose flowers using tomato skin, is quite easy to make and looks great.You dont need any extra talents for making it..its really that simple.As in the “LA Weight Loss ” commercial ad “If I can do it ,you can do it”.

Raita
All you need is :-
One Tomato
One Sharp Knife &
A Little Patience…
Method:-
1.Just peel off the whole tomato skin like a ribbon ,starting from one end to the other.You have to rotate the tomato for doing it.Its fine if it breaks a little,but try to peel it without any breaks…just like a long ribbon.

Peeling Ribbon

2.When you reach the other end ,cut the skin a little thicker and wider ,almost in a circular shape.This should be the base of the flower on which the petals has to rest.

Ribbon

3.Now just roll the tomato skin till the end,like rolling a ribbon.This is considered to be the rose flower petals.

Flower

4.Allow the petals to rest on the circular base .

Flower Flower

And that’s it..Rose flower is ready …..Now arrange it along with mint leaves stem.

I’ve preapred raita with onion,tomato,green chillies,beaten curd,salt and 1 tsp of Mayonaise(I like the flavour of Mayonaise in the raita).
Sprinkling a pinch of chilly powder along with the flower decoration adds extra beauty to it.What do you think?

Raita with Roses
Posted by Annita
33 Responses to “Roses on Raita”

  1. Sonali said

    Very pretty, Annita.

    Thanks Sonali

    Annita 

  2. Tanuja said

    wow ur raita looks so cool annita:)

    Thanks Tanuja

    Annita 

  3. Manisha said

    What an incredible idea! You go, girl!!

    Thanks Manisha,

     Annita

  4. Puspha said

    Wow!!! U have the soft hands for art. My hands r too stiff for such a task. anyway, I’m gonna give it a try & impress hubby. hehehehe

    No Pushpa,u can do it..Just give it a try and let me know the result.

    Annita 

  5. Shuba said

    Hey annita….as usual very impressive….the raita looks beautiful with the rose on it…I am gonna definitely try this (Lets see if it becomes rose or some other thing !!! with my talents…:-) ) And mayonaise in raita is completely new to me…I dont use mayonaise but really curious how it would taste with curd…Anyway this is an excellent post wrt photography too

    Shuba,i’m happy to hear that  u liked my raita..You should definitely try it out and let me know your comments..:))

     Annita

  6. giniann said

    Nice touch. I used to make these in the early days but somehow stopped doing it. Mow that I am reminded by your post, I will definitely do it again.

    Isn’t it nice and easy?

    Annita 

  7. Arjuna said

    That’s really neat way to make roses!! Thanks for the tip. I always thought it involved some kind of mystery.

    Just give it a try Arjuna.And I’ve visited your blog right now..Its soo cool…

    Can I ad it to my blogroll?

    Annita 

  8. shilpa said

    annita, that looks great.

    Thanks Shilpa

    Annita 

  9. This Looks so very beautiful.. I don’t know how to express.. just too lovely… Speaks a thousand words

    Thanks for all those gentle words,Antony.I ‘m really happy to know that u liked it.

    Annita 

  10. Kay said

    Very very creative and artistic! Annita, you should be proud of yourself to be able to do this. wow! :)

    Wish I had such nimble fingers!

    Ooh God..You are making me bloat with all your nice words..Thanks a lot..!!

    You can also do it Kay..Just give it a try…

    Annita 

  11. very pretty annita! that is one good looking raita.

    Thank you 

    Annita 

  12. reshma said

    lovely! my mother used to do this in almost anything, salads, chciken fries etc for parties.Yours look really good!

    Thanks Reshma,Isn’t it quite easy to make?

    Annita 

  13. Sailaja said

    Annita,you are very creative and that presentation is excellent!

    Thanks Sailaja

    Annita 

  14. hello annita,
    wow,claps to ur hardwork.i
    really rose looks very beautiful.pls send me that plant thru mail to ca and ur raita tooo.iam just kiddin.. waiting for more flowers…
    vineela

    Thanks Vineela..:))More carving will be coming soon..

    Annita 

  15. Annita: I simple love that roses. Gonna give try, both rose and 1 tsp mayo :)

    Thanks Karthi and let me know how well you liked the taste of mayo in raita.

    Annita 

  16. BDSN said

    Very very artistic and very creative…
    Beautiful photos…
    Adding mayonaise to raita is indeed a different touch…

    I love to add Mayonaise in almost anything…it tastes gr8.

    And thanks for adding me to your blogroll.

    Annita 

  17. BDSN said

    Hey one more thing…
    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll…Would lov to add your creative blog to my blog….

  18. santhi said

    I could never ever think of making a rose like this!!!!!!!
    Amazing creativity annita. Can I add you to my blogroll please???

    Yeah sure Santhi and Thanks a lot.

    Annita 

  19. RP said

    Georgeous!!

    I wanted to make a rose using carrot to decorate my carrot cake, but then gave up the idea. Do you think it is possible?

    I haven’t tried it yet,RP…Thanks for sharing the idea..I’ll also try that next time.But i think carrot skin is not that soft as tomato,rt?So it may not be that flexibe…Anyway ,will give it a try..And carrot cake..hmmmmmmm

    When are you starting your food blog? 

    Annita

  20. RP said

    The carrot cake recipe is already posted in my blog.
    http://myworksh0p.blogspot.com/2006/02/marilyns-carrot-cake-with-cream-cheese.html
    Do give it a try. It is a winner. I thought, using a peeler, we can shave a thin layer of carrot and try making a flower? I will try it next time I cut a carrot.

    Do try it out RP,and let me also know about it.And your carrot cake looks wonderful..I’ll be trying it out soon..

    And many many thanks for that carrot flower link..That really looks gorgeous,isn’t it?.

    Annita 

  21. RP said

    Look at this Annita!
    http://www.thecryptmag.com/Online/34/CarrotFlower.html
    They do have a different way of making flower out of carrot. Cool.

  22. shammi said

    I guess I’m coming to your site much after everyone else, and I definitely have to thank Anthony for his Curry Mela to have got here at all! What a gorgeous, gorgeous looking rose! That takes some serious talent, methinks, even though you’ve displayed how it is done.

    Thanks  Shammi..

    I am a frequent vistor of your blog..and i loved it…Keep up your good work..!!

    Annita 

  23. Rose said

    hey.. this is awsome.. it looks great… and i m sure it tastes good also..

    Hi Roshan,

    i’m happy to hear that you like it..Do try it out..and lemme know how it turned out for u..

    Annita 

  24. sage said

    oh this looks awesome! simply beautiful! I shall return.
    to your good health,
    sage

    Thanks Sage..
    Annita

  25. Jyothsna said

    I always thought, carving and decoration were not in my hands….u make this rose look so simple! i’m gonna surprise my hubby wth this one!
    Jyothsna.

    You can really do it,Jyothsna.Try it out and lemme know how it turned out for u.
    Annita

  26. Jyothsna said

    Hey Annita,
    I tried the rose yesterday…. my hubby was absolutely surprised ! It turned out well, but i did not get as many petals as i can see in your photo. When I made the rose, it stood well, but by the time i picked it and put it on the raita, the petals were loose!! I’ll put up the pic on my blog. Let me know how u made the rose stand so well.
    Jyothsna.

    You can tighten the petals after arranging it on the raita too.And try making the base a little more round,which could hold all the petals in position.you’ll surely get it perfect for the next attempt,Jyotsna..I too didnt make it perfect on my first trial.
    Annita

  27. Mimmy said

    Hey anitha,

    am totally new to this onion raitha…could u clearly explain how to make it…

    thanx.. :)

    mimmy

    Its very simple Mimmy
    Just chop onions ,tomatoes and green chilies.
    Add yogurt and salt and mix well.Chill and serve
    Annita

  28. sherin said

    wow annita ur flower looks amazing on raita. am a student and i like experimenting with things. i’ll also give it a try and will impress my parents

  29. babi said

    ohhh my god ..u go girl

  30. […] for 15 mts(150 degree celsius).Mix thoroughly and serve hot with whole boiled eggs (in the middle),Onion Raita ,Pickle and […]

  31. Abhisha Roshan said

    hi annita
    i made roses on raita last friday.. n annita u wont believe it was so good to see the roses n evry1 @ home appreciated that.. i felt so proud.. bowing my head b4 u annita!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  32. Rosetta said

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    writing a blog post or vice-versa? My site goes over a lot of the same topics as
    yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  33. link said

    link

    Roses on Raita « My Treasure…My Pleasure

Leave a Reply

 
