My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Baingan Ka Bartha

Posted by Annita on June 28, 2006

Baingan Ka Bhartha – mashed and roasted Eggplant
Eventhough it is a popular Indian dish,it was not so popular in our small state,Kerala.I wasn’t aware of this dish before coming to U.S.First time I had it in some potluck party ,without realising that it was Eggplant.It was a big..no no at my home..Still I donno the reason.I think my Amma hates Eggplant,and she somehow convinced us ,that this vegetable tastes horrible.

Here’s my version of Baingan Ka Bhartha…

Ingredients:-
Medium Sized Eggplant -1
Medium Sized Onion,finely chopped – 1
Frozen Green Peas – 1/2 cup
Medium Sized Tomato,finely chopped – 2
Ginger Garlic Paste – 1 tbsp
chopped Green chillies – 3
Turmeric Powder – 1/4 tsp
Chilly Powder -1/2 tsp
Coriander POwder -1/2 tsp
Pepper POwder -1/4 tsp
Garam Masala Powder -1/4 tsp
Jeera Seeds -1/2 tsp
Hing (Asafoetida) – a pinch
Tomato Ketchup – 1 tbsp
Chopped Coriander leaves – for garnish
Lime Juice – for garnish
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Ingredients
Ingredients for the gravy
Method:-
Make some slits around the eggplant and bake it in an oven for 30- 35 mts or until it is soft on all sides.(It can also be done by roasting over a gas flame turning continuosly or by microwaving for 5 mts.I remember one of my friends used to pressure cook whole brinjal,for preparing Bhartha).Anyhow ,the eggplant should be cooked soft.Allow it to cool.Now you can easily remove the outer skin .Mash the eggplant well and keep it aside.Put green peas in hot water for 5 mts.Drain it and reserve.Heat oil in a pan and allow jeera seeds to splutter.Add a pinch of hing into it and then stir in onions,green chillies and ginger garlic paste .Saute until onions turn brown.Mix all the powders except garam masala and fry it well.Now add chopped tomatoes and salt ,and cook until tomatoes turn soft and oil starts to seperate.Stir in mashed eggplant and cook for 5-10 mts in medium heat,stirring continuosly.(You can add water for more gravy,at this stage)When it is done,add green peas and cook for few more minutes.Mix in tomato ketchup and garnish with lime juice ,garam masala and coriander leaves.Serve hot with roti/chappathis.

Baingan-Bartha
Baingan Ka Bartha
Posted by Annita

28 Responses to “Baingan Ka Bartha”

  1. I too am not a fan of Brinjals Annita,long since I ate one!The picture though looks tempting!

    Ooh..just like my mom..:)Give it a try Sumi,u’ll start loving brinjal from then..

    Annita

  2. Rg said

    well, good one! I’ll be trying this one also along with okra-cabbage recipe and also your Szechuan vegetable noodles, next week…..Dhaank u :))

    I haven’t tried Chakka aviyal yet because I didn’t find that in my regular Indian grocery store…will try somewhere else next week. thanks for asking Annita….

    BTW, if possible, could u please share some tips for making soft chappathies…???

    Thanks a lot Annita.

    Thanks Rg,You are always so kind to me..Happy to hear the list of recipes you liked..:))

    And about soft chappathis,i’ll share what i know.I’m not sure whether its correct tip or not..But i think my chappathis are soft…The tips are:

    1.Use hot water instead of cold.

    2.The real technique lies in kneading the dough.It should be made very soft..

    3.Adding a little milk to the flour also helps.

    4.Allow the chappthi to rise up well,by pressing it evenly with a cloth dipped in oil . 

    Hope this helps,Sorry again for the delay.

    Annita 

  3. Rg said

    Sorry! I’ve a question which is not regarding food…The question is…Have any of you tried this online surya tv thing? Lemme know if you have tried it out….thanks.

    I’ve tried it out for 2 months..But it was getting stuck in between..Then I went to Kerala and  somehow i forgot about it..But i’ve heard that they’ve made some changes in it… I’m not how it is working now.,Anyway i’m planning to give it a try soon.Its only 10 $/month,so if you are interested you can just try it for 1 month.Hope this helps…

    Sorry for the late reply Rg.I was a bit busy out here.. 

    Annita 

  4. sudha said

    Hi Deepann

    Iam opposite to you. I love eggplants, want to try this recipe from long time. Can’t wait more.

    Even i love eggplants now,Sudha

    Annita 

  5. Archana said

    Annitae,

    I like eggplants, but never tried to make this dish before coming to the US. But after trying this out, i have made it many a times. Tastes sooo good with rotis. Your recipe is a little bit different from the one i use, but i am always looking for variations. Will try this one out, thank you.
    Archana

    Thanks Archana..Try out my version  too and let us know about your version also.. 

    Annita 

  6. Reshmi Menon said

    Hi annita,

    well,annita im in u.s to be precise; va.Hey,This is the first dish i’ve cooked for my dear hubby,3yrs back,and the first dish i’ve ever cooked.never had to make baingan bartha after that,hope u got how my cooking had been.According to me it was suppose to be baingan bartha,;)))))))).anyways now i got the real recipe!

    Even i failed for the first time..But somehow after lots of trials and errors,i managed to get some taste for it :))

    Hey..Has your kid started talking..My guy,is turning 2 this month and only says Amma..Any advise on that?

    Annita 

  7. sunitha said

    this looks kinda easy to make, have to try this ,thanks for posting it .

    Try it out and lemme know about it,Sunitha

    Annita 

  8. Looks yummy Annita, glad to see so many recipes coming out from you and all of them looks delicious:)

    Thanks Karthi.

    Annita 

  9. L.G said

    അതു ശെരി. ഓള്‍ കേരളാ മലയാളീ മങ്ക ഫുഡ് ബ്ലോഗ് യൂണിയന്‍ ഉണ്ടാക്കുവാണെല്ലെ? !! ഉം..ഉം..നടക്കട്ടെ..നടക്കട്ടെ

    Malayalathil vayikkan rasam undalle..I too have to do it soon..Right now i’m a  bit busy with my kid’s birthday celebration..After that definitely i’ll give it a try…

    Annita 

  10. RP said

    ഹായ് അന്നിത(അങ്ങനെയാണോ പേരു മലയാളതിലെഴുതുന്നത്?)
    ഒന്നുമില്ല, ചുമ്മാ ഞാന്‍ മലയാളം ടൈപ്പ് ചെയ്യാ‍ന്‍ പഠിച്ചു എന്നു പവറു കാണിക്കാന്‍ വന്നതാ!
    baingan ka bartha നന്നായിട്ടുണ്ട്. ഇതു ഞാനും പല പ്രാവശ്യം ഉണ്ടാക്കിയിട്ടുണ്ട്.

    angane allello peru malayalathi ezhuthunnathu…Actually i didn’t get the time to learn about it ,Rp..Will be doing it soon..Ennittu venam enikkum malayalam pavarumaayi ranga praveesham cheyyan..Jaagrathai..!!!Just remember that..!!(Suresh gopi Style)…:))

    Annita 

  11. Reshmi Menon said

    Annita,well my boy is sayin in li’l words but he hasn’t started makin it in sentence.Whenever i put him to bed for a nap,i’ll give him some funbooks.(i started with reading out to him but he’s not interested in listeningg that,so i give him some boardbooks to look thru by himself):).And also there is a website called starfall.com ,its really a superb site,i bet milan will love it!!well,today i heard him sayin his first sentence,”amma paappam illaa,nono..!!” meaning [[ammae choru mathi..:))]].Thats the one we moms usually dont want to hear isnt it?

  12. Deepa said

    Namaskaaram!
    nyaan “Bhaigan” kari thappunnathinidayil aanu ivide ethi pettathu. aa garam masala eppozhaannu cherkkendathu ennu vyakthamalla.

    Thanks alot Deepa.I had missed to mention about garam masala in the recipe..Now i’ve updated it..Just check it..And thanks again for ur comment.

    Annita 

  13. Lekshmy said

    Hai Annita,
    Thanks for the baingan bartha recipe.I use to search for different sites for veggie recipes and reached here. i am a vegetarian and eggplant is my favourite.so i tried ur eggplant recipes and came out well.thanks a lot.waiting for more…

    Lekshmy

  14. Jyothsna said

    Hi Annita,
    My husband simply loves bharta while i just abhor it!! Still, i make it just for him. Your recipe for Baingan ka Bharta is different from mine- the typical Punjabi recipe does not have peas, lime juice and tomato ketchup in it- nevertheless it seems interesting. The tip about micowaving or baking the eggplant is helpful. Will surely give it a try. I cook a lot of Punjabi food and love experimenting recipes.

  15. Jyothsna said

    Hi Annita,
    My husband simply loves bharta while i just abhor it!! Still, i make it just for him. Your recipe for Baingan ka Bharta is different from mine- the typical Punjabi recipe does not have peas, lime juice and tomato ketchup in it- nevertheless it seems interesting. The tip about micowaving or baking the eggplant is helpful. Will surely give it a try. I cook a lot of Punjabi food and love experimenting recipes.
    Jyothsna.

    Thanks for informing about real Punjabi recipe Jyothsna.I just followed a recipe I got from my friend.In fact I haven’t even tasted an original Punjabi Bhartha..:)
    Annita

  16. sajna said

    Hi Annita
    I would like to try the baigan bartha though i havent cooked any curry with baigan . Can u pls mention the temp. at which the egg plant has to be baked. I tried ur chiken korma it came out really well Thanks alot

    I always bake it in a temp of 450F for 25-35 mts..
    Thanks
    Annita

  17. Pavithra said

    Hi Anitha,
    Well thanks a lot for this receipe,as i wanted to learn it for quite some time,but didnt get good receipe.
    Let me try it and let u know how was it..

    Thanks again…

    Pavithra

    Thanks Pavitra,Pls let me know how it turned out for u.
    Annita

  18. Ambily said

    Hey Anita,

    I tried the Baingan Ka Bhartha recipe. Came out great. Personally I like the slightly burnt roasted flavor of the baingan..so roasted it on fire before cooking first!

  19. pankaja said

    hey,
    gud tasted well.
    tnxs

  20. roopa said

    hi annita, u knpow what? today I tried this recipe of yours and its just wonderful:) this is the first time i made a successful baingan bartha for my husband who loves the curry:)

    I’m soo hapy to hear that roopa…And many thanks for letting me know abt it..
    Annita

  21. Nithya said

    Hi Anita,

    Tried this recipe.It is awesome :-)You are a great cook.

    Nithya

  22. raaji said

    vow i would like to try that…….

    Try it out raji and pls lemme too know the results,ok
    Annita

  23. Deepa said

    Hey Annita, I just tried your recipe.. and it was really yummy !!! I’m still licking my fingers :)
    Thanks a lot for sharing it along…

    Thankyou Deepa for letting me know abt it..
    Annita

  24. Raji said

    thanks. came out awesome:)

  25. jj said

    yummy………came out very well

  26. Ritu said

    Hello,
    Came across your site. while most of the dishes look good this one in particular is not an authentic recipe for baingan bharta [ I am a punjabi :-) ]! but yea could be tried as a variation for sure :-)

  27. Carolin said

    I really wanted to send a simple remark to say thanks to you for the remarkable strategies you are sharing on this site. My rather long internet research has finally been recognized with really good know-how to talk about with my great friends. I would repeat that most of us visitors are undoubtedly fortunate to exist in a really good site with so many perfect people with useful strategies. I feel somewhat happy to have seen your webpage and look forward to so many more exciting moments reading here. Thanks once again for all the details.

  28. […] is one of my favourite Punjabi dishes. I followed this recipe & it came out lip smackingly good. Share this:TwitterFacebookMorePrintLike this:LikeBe […]

Leave a comment