My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Tomato In Curd Gravy

Posted by Annita on June 22, 2006

As we all know rice is the staple food of Kerala.A Malayalee can never find an alternative for rice.Along with the steamed rice a ‘Chaaru curry'(a curry which has more gravy,that can be poured over rice) is also a must in my home.And i always waste endless time thinking what to prepare for ‘Chaaru curry’ ,other than the usual Sambar,Rasam & Pulissery.I was in the search of such ‘Chaaru curry’ recipes for quite a while and i’ve found one recently which goes very well with rice.Everybody here liked it and so i thought of sharing it with you.

Tomato curry
Tomato Curry with Potato

The recipe source is Ginu Joyce from Pachakam.com.

It goes like..

Ingredients:-
Tomatoes cut into small pieces- 5
Sliced Onions – 2
Chopped Green chillies – 4
Drumsticks(Muringakkai) cut into 5 or 6 pieces – 2
(You can substitute Drumsticks with Potatoes also.When Potatoes are used cut it into thin long stripes and cook it along with tomatoes)
Chilly powder – 1 tbsp
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tbsp
Curry leaves – A few
Salt – As needed
Curd – 1 cup

For Grinding:-
Grated coconut – 1 cup
Garlic pods – 2
Cumin seeds(Jeerakam) – 1/2 tbspFor seasoning:-
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Chopped Shallots(Kunjulli) – 1
Curry leaves – A few
Dried red chillies -2

Method:-
Grind together coconut,cumin seeds and garlic.In a vessel add drumsticks,tomatoes,green chillies and onions along with salt,turmeric powder,chilly powder,few curry leaves and necessary water.The vegetables should be completely immersed in water.Cook till vegetables are well done.Now the ground mixture is added and simmer till the gravy thickens.Switch off the stove and allow it to cool for a while.Add curd and stir well.Heat it on a low flame for few more minutes.Do not boil it.Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Stir in red chillies,curry leaves and shallots and fry for a while.Add this seasoning to the curry.Mix well and serve hot with steamed rice.Here I’ve used potatoes as there was no drumsticks in my refrigerator.Courtesy :- Ginu Joyce from Pachakam.com
Posted by Annita

19 Responses to “Tomato In Curd Gravy”

  1. Reshmi Menon said

    hi annita,
    well i did mine at st.teresas.and im from edapally.hey,in my last post i mentioned my 21 mnth old as 21 year old..thatz quite a difference..:).Really enjoying your posts.

    I did my P.D.C in ST.Teresas too..Me from Palarivattom..

    That was indeed a huge difference Reshmi.I was wondering how can a mother of 21 yr old know me from the school info..:))

    Annita

  2. sudha said

    Hi deepann

    Yummy dish..My husband likes tomato dishes and i will try this one. Seeing your blog reminds me of my malayali friend. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Thanks for your gentle words Sudha.

    Annita

  3. shilpa said

    Hi Annita,
    Good to see you back. Nice recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    Glad to hear that u liked it,Shilpa

    Annita

  4. RP said

    That is a good one. My husband always looks for a "chaaru curry", but I can manage without one. :)

    My husband is very particular about it.During the early days of marriage,he used to manage with curd..but now…no way…:))

    Annita

  5. Ashwini said

    Hey you are back! I love yogurt based dishes so I would love to try this one

    Try it and lemme also know abt the result,Ashwini..

    Annita

  6. vineela said

    Hi Annita,
    I like this tomato in curd.its new .
    Let me try this one and let you know.
    thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

    You are gonna like it Vineela.

    Annita

  7. Priya said

    Hi Annita,
    Nice to see u back. Hoping to see some pictures of your visit. During your break I started a blog too. Do visit me and let me know how it is :-)
    I have never eaten tomato cooked this way. The recipe looks interesting, will try it soon.

    Hi Priya,

    Sorry I don't have much scenic pictures with me..i was quite busy with my sis' marriage there..

    And i've visited your blog..Good one…Happy to see a food blog in my vicinity..:))Keep up the good work..

    Annita

  8. Aparna said

    Welcome back annita …. lots of new bloggers around you. :)

    Yeah.Aparna..Its really good to see soo many new bloggers..:))

    Annita

  9. Archana said

    Nice recipe. I have tasted tomato -drumstick curry without yogurt. Will try this one out, thank you for the recipe

    Thanks Archana..I'm sure u'll like it.BTW u from Kerala,rt?

    Annita

  10. sowjanya said

    Hi Anita,

    Nice to see your recipes. Its gr8 to know people and their various cultures thru blogging really.

    U said it!!Thanks for stopping by my blog Sowjanya.

    Annita

  11. dipali said

    hi,
    the pics what u have putted was very good.looking at them I feel eating them…nice work
    http://indian-food.blogspot.com/

    Thanks for dropping by Dipali.

    Annita

  12. Ambika Menon said

    Hi
    I went through your site and your recipes r really good. i just wanted to know if the curd for the ‘Tomato in curd gravy’ be as sour as in ‘Kaalan’ curry where we use sour curds.

    Thanks Ambika.If you like sour curd,you can use that one..I normally use curd which is not so sour..

    Annita

  13. Anita said

    Hi namesakes!!
    Since we share the same name and same passion..it will be fun in bloggermania
    Luv the curries….

    Anita

    Thanks Anita…When will u be starting ur blog?
    Annita

  14. Rose said

    I tried this curry and it came out very well. My husband too liked it so much that he finished off half of the curry that I made for 5 days in a single meal itself. Thanks a lot. This weekend I will be trying the malabar biryani.

    Now since I have little work at office, I am making full use of your blog my dear… :-)Have taken lots of printouts.

    Ooh..good…Which all printouts did u take?.Try them all & let me also know the results
    Annita

  15. Anita said

    Hi namesakes!

    Did I say that I will start my blog…no..no…actually i was referring to ur blog…but the curries remind me of me mums..but no traditional veggies in Melbourne

    Ooh..ok..i made a mistake..sorry,Anita
    Annita

  16. Anita said

    Hello namsakes,

    Could you please send me the recipe for Chemeen and Manga curry with coconut? It is so yummy….like how my mom used to make…

    i’ve posted a chakkakuru -manga curry sometime back..You can just replace chakka kuru with chemmen ..Here’s the link :

    Chakka kuru-Manga curry(Jackfruit seeds & Mango)


    hope this helps Anita
    Annita

  17. Vanita said

    Hi

    I tried this curry today as i finally got my hands on Green tomatoes here ,It came out really good ..my hubby a kerlaite is always suprised when i can come up with ethinic kerela recipies… secret to this is all the bloggers, i do visit ur site almost everday and find that most of the recipies are easy , simple and always a keepsake !!

  18. Vanita said

    Hi

    I tried this curry today as i finally got my hands on Green tomatoes here ,It came out really good ..my hubby a kerlaite is always surprised when i can come up with ethinic kerela recipes… secret to this is all the bloggers, i do visit ur site almost everday and find that most of the recipes are easy , simple and always a keepsake

  19. […] recipe is from Annita. This gravy goes well with rice. I have modified the quantity of ingredients to suit our taste […]

Leave a comment