My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Healthy Cucumber Drink

Posted by Annita on March 21, 2006

Vanitha (which means Women) is a popular bi-weekly Malayalam magazine published by Malayala Manorama group.Modelled on the best of women’s magazines of the day, Vanitha had something of interest to every woman.Vanitha was launched in 1975 with Annamma Mathew (Mrs.K.M Mathew ) as its chief editor. Annamma, popularly known as Mrs KM Mathew is a renowned figure and household name in the state of Kerala. She has authored a number of books on cooking and her works have won many awards as well. An article about her can be viewed here.

Vanitha Mrs.K.M Mathew
Latest issues of Vanitha Late.Mrs.K.M Mathew

I used to read Vanitha,even from my childhood and now i’ve subscribed it here also.It always arrives with new and interesting recipes.
And here goes a healthy Cucumber drink recipe from Vanitha – An easy way to finish off cucumber..

Ingredients:-
Salad Cucumber -1
Juice of 1 lime
Sugar- 3 tsp
Water /Soda- as needed.

Ingredients
Cucumber & Lemon
Method:-
Peel the skin and cut the cucumber into small pieces.Blend it together with lime juice ,water& sugar.Strain it and serve.
The drink can be made more interesting if soda is used instead of water.

Cucumber Drink
Healthy Cucumber Drink

Posted by Annita

23 Responses to “Healthy Cucumber Drink”

  1. sarah said

    Mrs K M Mathew’s first recipe book “Nadan pachakarema” published in early 60’s is classic. My grand ma had that book

    Ooh..is it?I’ve also got a recipe book of hers..Everything is good,isn’t it?She’s really talented.

    Annita 

  2. Ashwini said

    I love cucumber shakes. And it is great to see you continue your reading preferences here :-)

    Thanks Ashwini.I love the recipes in Vanitha..and it has nice lady stuffs..too..:))

    Annita 

  3. Indira said

    We also have a magazine in Telugu, published under the name “Vanitha”. But I’m not sure about whether it’s related to Kerala one or an independent publication. But a good read.

    What I love about this drink is, it’s prepared without milk. I might give it a try, with soda, like you suggested. Thanks!

    Try it out Indira.The drink is healthy too…I’m sure you are gonna like it.. 

    Annita 

  4. Anil S said

    Sir/Madam
    I want to subscribe Malayalam Vanitha. I am now in Chhattisgarh State. what is the procedure of subscibe it
    please mail me
    Anil

  5. Denny Mammen said

    Hey !!!

    I really like your blog… Especially since the focus is on Keralite cookery !

    Being a newbie in this art, I feel that the posts have really helped me get started …

    By the way , could let me know if you have a complete list of books written by Annamma Mathew .. I really thought that it could be a good gift to my mummy :-) …

    Sorry for the late reply.I was abit busy last week.Sorry Denny,that would really be a nice  gift to ur mom,but I can’t help you with it.I don’t have the whole series of books by Annamma MAthew.Just 2 of them.. Thanks for visiting the blog.Do come back agaian

    Annita 

  6. craig said

    mmm, just made one. i used, cucumber, pear and pineapple juice.
    craig

    Ohh..thats a good Combo,Craig..Thanks

    Annita 

  7. Elizabeth said

    Your Cucumber Drink is really delightful. I will sure give it a try. Thanks for that recipe.

    Thanks Elizebath.
    Annita

  8. Hi Anitta, it is so good to know about new recipies. U r doing a wonderful job. Any kerala girl should have to be grateful to u to publish such a helpful site/blogg. Thanks again. Have a wonderful day…! :)

    Entamme..Ingane okkay parayalle…
    Enikku naanam varunnu…:))
    Btw thanks a lot for visiting my blog..
    Annita

  9. bodog fight fedor v lindland

    Gasset copier precept,sausage spurious:burden

  10. william hill bookmakers stockwell address

    workable slim,claiming mitigate outperform dives!

  11. suni said

    I tried this drink, I think the juice of one lime is quite a lot for one cucumber. I have added close to 1 litre water, but couldn’t lighten up the lime juice.
    Next time, I would use 1/4 of lime for one cucumber.

    Thanks for the recipe.

  12. Idetrorce said

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  13. guaranteed acceptance unsecured loans

    dropout:Alhambra immediacy

  14. julie said

    Damn this is healthy! tops!

  15. win 4 real online

    vegetables problematically macintosh excreting!exclusions controller

  16. lasitha said

    does Vanita magazine come in english also

  17. sidhant said

    what would be the annual subscription of Vanita [ in english ]

  18. PiterJankovich said

    My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

  19. Margaret said

    I just saw this drink being made today on a new cooking show by a woman from Jamaca. I missed how much sugar and lime juice to ad to the mixture. I found this recipe on line. Thank you so much for sharing. The drink is delicious and …. healthy. Also, thank you for sharing a little bit about Mrs. K.M. Mathew and the magazine, Vanitha.

  20. yaya said

    This guy was 22? Hard to believe. he looks 40.

  21. 4O187T ios that american ?

  22. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a visit
    this blog on regular basis to get updated from most recent gossip.

  23. Good info. Lucky me I found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

Leave a comment