My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Teddy Bear cake

Posted by Annita on February 2, 2007

Teddy bear Cake

Teddy bear Cake

Teddy bear Cake

Here’s my first character cake which i made for our friends’ kids’ birthday celebration.
The cake is prepared in a teddy bear cake pan and piped with stars using buttercream icing(Wilton recipe).

38 Responses to “Teddy Bear cake”

  1. ammoos said

    very cute! :)

    Thanks ammoos
    Annita

  2. RP said

    Awww….looks like a stuffed doll. A perfect one with no flaws!

    Thanku RP kutty…
    Annita

  3. vani said

    Annita,

    Super cool…. looks very professional..

    thanks Vani
    Annita

  4. Archana said

    Super cool !!! A job very well done Annita.

    Thank you dear..You are always my inspiration…
    Annita

  5. giniann said

    Looks quite professional. Your are doing exceptional things in your role as a baker.

    Thank you Gini…
    Annita

  6. swapna said

    wow u are doing a very great job annita..keep it up..

    Thank you swapna…
    Annita

  7. rashmi said

    Annita…..cake looks amazing ….hmmmmmm…..so cute….

    thanks dear
    Annita

  8. Sri said

    Awww!!! Beautiful.

    Thank u Sri
    Annita

  9. Wow!!Really amazing…doesn’t look like a first try…very professional…

    Thank you very much KF
    Annita

  10. Mythreyee said

    That is Cool!!

    I love it. Good job dear.

    Thanks Mythreyee
    Annita

  11. Priya said

    Gosh !! He looks sooo cuddly and cute!! The cake is a beauty Annita, you surely can’t call yourself a beginner any longer !!

    Thank you dear
    Annita

  12. Jyothsna said

    Annita, you are brilliant!! The teddy bear looks so prefessionally done!! Its fantastic!!

    Thanks Jo
    Annita

  13. sumitha said

    Wow the teddy cake looks choo chweet and cute Annita!

    Thanks a lot,Sumi
    Annita

  14. Mishmash ! said

    Annita, It looks quite perfect and professional. I watched the same on “Bake Decorate Celebrate’ last month …How long it took for u, I mean the piping? Way to Go !

    Shn

    Thank you.Piping took around 1-2 hrs,Shn..
    Annita

  15. Vanitha said

    The cake looks really cool and professional..keep up the gr8 work.

    Thanks a lot,vanitha
    Annita

  16. I agree with all the comments… The cakes is really looking very beautiful…. I wish i could also bake such a lovely cake & present it to my parents on their 25th wedding anniversary…

    Anita can u just tell me how to bake it…. I am a pure vegetarian & would love to bake it for my parents…..

    Good Job… Keep Posting Anita…

    Hi,
    I’ve used ready made cake mix here and it is baked in a teddy bear cake pan.You can buy it from walmart, any Michaels store etc.See the link here
    Then i’ve covered the cake with a light coating of buttercream icing (see Wilton recipe here).
    And then piped stars all over with white and chocolate buttercream icing..you can learn to pipe stars here..
    Hope this helps,and let me know if you need any more help with it..Happy baking..

    Annita

  17. Jacob said

    that’s the cutest cke i’ve ever seen. and looks delicious too. congrats!

    Thanks a lot,jacob
    Annita

  18. Coffee said

    That looks like its made by a pro!!!!! Great work on it Anita!!! :)

    Thanks Coffee..
    Annita

  19. Roshan said

    Hi Anita & family. This is a really good site with very tasty looking content, I must say. I really enjoyed reading some of your entries. I wish you and ur family all the best.

    Thanks roshan..
    Annita

  20. bee said

    way cool.

    Thanks bee
    Annita

  21. InjiPennu said

    Thats so cute Anitha! Loved it!

    Thanks Inji..
    Annita

  22. Rg said

    Wow! Annita, it’s so wonderful. It’s very tempting. Now you too have become a baking expert like Archana, eh? Nicely done. Very good, Annita. I don’t have much patience like you do but I’ll have to definitely try this one out this month. I’m sure my son would love it too. Thanks Annita.

    Oh..pls don’t compare me with Archana,Rg…I’m far behind from her…I dont think i’ll ever be able to make cakes as perfect as hers…
    Anyway really happy to see the comment,rg…Thank you very much..Try this out,only thing you need is patience here.
    Annita

  23. What an adorable cake, Annita! Really lovely :)

    Thanks a lot.
    Annita

  24. Rg said

    annita, my hubby bought me this cute teddy pan from Michaels. Are the pastry bags and star shaped tips etc available there too or at any other place? One more question…. can this be made with your buttercream/chocolate cake recipes instead of store bought ones? I wanna try from scratch.

    Thanks a lot annita.

    Yes Rg,you’ll get those in michaels itself.And you can use that buttercream/chocolate cake recipe…If you are making chocolate cake from scratch,be careful while taking it out from the pan..Don’t break the cake.Also I suggest you to use Wilton cake release instead of lining the pan with butter and flour..this will help you to get neat edges without any crumbs..This is also available in Michaels..Happy baking…and don’t forget to let us know about it.

    Annita

  25. Thank you Anita for the recipe….

    Just few question…. I heard that cake can be made without microwave oven… I tried to cook it but most of the time it turns to be hard…. Why….

    Secondly, the pipes u discussed, are they easily available in the market….

    Also, can you please post a icing recipe means which require less things…. There are many things which will be difficult to find in a market….

    Please reply….

    Thanks in advance….

    Yeah..i always make cakes in my electric oven only,but you can make cakes in microwave too..but look out for microwave cake recipes,that ‘ll be better.
    I think the cake is getting hard bcoz of the baking powder/baking soda..

    Too much baking powder can cause the batter to be bitter tasting. It can also cause the batter to rise rapidly and then collapse. (i.e. The air bubbles in the batter grow too large and break causing the batter to fall.) Cakes will have a coarse, fragile crumb with a fallen center. Too little baking powder results in a tough cake that has poor volume and a compact crumb.-Quoting from JoyOfBaking.com

    Yeah you can get the piping tubes from Walmart..Otherwise check Michaels,Hobby lobby etc..they’ll carry almost all the baking accessories..
    And for the icing recipe i’ve already posted a buttercream recipe.(https://deepann.wordpress.com/2006/11/20/buttercream-icing/) ,it has only less ingredients.

    Thanks
    Annita

  26. kelly said

    the cake looks great and ive hired a teddy bear tin for next week and i am going to try pipe the same as you did, any tips to point out for me ? also the sponge, did you cut it in half and having a layer of buttercream in the centre ?
    well done for a first time try too.

    kelly .

    Nothing kelly..Its so simple..you just have to be a little patient,thats it…Actually i’ve prepared 2 cakes,levelled them..and applied buttercream between the layers.
    Annita

  27. annu said

    It’s great. It’s lovely and cute.Keep it up Annita.

    Thank you,Annu
    Annita

  28. Minouchkah said

    Super cool! well done!!

  29. Savitha Ajith said

    Annita,
    came across your blog 3 weeks ago and was totally mesmerised by your cakes.since then ive baked 2-3 times and am trying frosting.unfortunately, we dont have cake decorating classes in Oman and am learning new decorating techniques online from wilton.com.ive been searching for wilton cake decorating tips here and couldnt find it anywhere.one of my cousins are visiting US and she has agreed to buy me wilton master tip set.she wants to know in which stores it will be available.she will be visiting chicago,seattle and north carolina.Also,do u have any advise for a beginner like me..like wat kind of decorating items should i get etc…Please advice.
    Savitha Ajith
    Muscat

  30. Savitha Ajith said

    Annita,
    came across your blog 3 weeks ago and was totally mesmerised by your cakes.since then ive baked 2-3 times and am trying frosting.unfortunately, we dont have cake decorating classes in Oman and am learning new decorating techniques online from wilton.com.ive been searching for wilton cake decorating tips here and couldnt find it anywhere.one of my cousins are visiting US and she has agreed to buy me wilton master tip set.she wants to know in which stores it will be available.she will be visiting chicago,seattle and north carolina.Also,do u have any advise for a beginner like me..like wat kind of decorating items should i get etc…Please advice.
    Savitha Ajith
    Muscat

    I’ve replied for this in the Gobi Manchurian comment section,Savitha..
    Check it out..
    Annita

  31. Leena said

    What an inspiration! The cake is beyond beautiful and so, so cute. I’m going to make a similar one when my son turns two in July.

    Just wondering how did you make the eyes, nose and mouth?

    I’m amazed by your skills!

    Leena.

  32. stcroixis land connection…

    […]Teddy Bear cake « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  33. Theatre Cinema Listings…

    […]Teddy Bear cake « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  34. benefit of cherry…

    […]Teddy Bear cake « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  35. pat said

    got a great job here pro! but can’t I use royal icing in decorating a teddy bear cake

  36. That is really fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to looking for more
    of your excellent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  37. Howdy I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was
    browsing on Google for something else, Regardless I am
    here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the
    minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up
    the superb work.

Leave a comment