My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Ginger Fish

Posted by Annita on January 24, 2007

You might’ve guessed by now what this post is for..yes its for JFI-Ginger only.Thanks Rosie for choosing such a lovely theme.Ginger is an essential ingredient in an Indian kitchen,without which many of our authentic deliccacies would have never been born.I was planning to post Kerala’s favorite ginger flavored recipe ‘Pulinji’ for this JFI,but while browsing through Bawarchi.com last week,this Ginger fish recipe immediately caught my attention,mainly because it was a baked dish.I’m very fond of baked dishes,so thought this would be the best time to try it out and it came out very good.

Ginger Fish

So here goes my entry to JFI-Ginger…

Ingredients:-

Fish fillets cleaned and cut into serving size pieces- 1/2 kg
(I’ve used king fish here)
Finely chopped Spring onions – 1 sprig
Oil – 2 tbsp

For the sauce :-
Ginger grated – 3 tsp
Garlic flakes – 2
Red Chilly powder – 1 tsp
Lemon juice – 2 tsp
Soy sauce – 2 tsp
Vinegar – 1 tbsp
Sugar – 1 tsp
Salt – 1/4 tsp
Water – 2 tbsp

Method:-

Grind together all the ingredients for the sauce and make a thin paste of it.Preheat the oven to 350 F.Arrange the fish pieces in a baking dish and keep it aside.Heat oil in a pan and add the sauce paste into it.Simmer it for 5 minutes,and when the sauce starts to get thick pour it over the fish fillets.Sprinkle spring onions over it and bake for 30 mins.Garnish with grated ginger and spring onion greens and serve.

Recipe Source :- Malini Bisen(bawarchi.com)

23 Responses to “Ginger Fish”

  1. Rosie said

    It looks delicious. I’m a big fish eater and will definately be trying this dish. Thanks for your contribution to JFI-Ginger.

    Thanks Rosie..looking forward for the ginger round up
    Annita

  2. Asha said

    Looks delicious and a great entry Annita!:))

    Thanks Asha
    Annita

  3. venu said

    Hi Annita :)

    The Ginger Fish looks so yummy and delicious, it should be really tasty.

    Will it be as good as kingfish, if I try out with cod or salmon ?

    I want to really try this dish, most probably this weekend.
    Fish is my all time favourite dish:)

    Hey thanks so much.

    Regards

    Yeah..you can try with any fish of your choice,venu..
    Annita

  4. shaheen said

    if this is similar to the ginger fish we get back home in restaurants, i would be so thrilled!

    I haven’t had any ginger fish from restaurants,Shaheen..but this surely tastes good..You’re gonna like it..
    Annita

  5. Jyothsna said

    I just want to munch up that picture!!! It sounds soooooo good. I luv baking though I only bake occassionally. I’m off to buy kingfish – its my favourite! Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

    Thanks Jyotsna
    Annita

  6. akshata said

    hi
    i am new to wordpress
    will you be able to help me out i am doing a lot of trail and error but no!!!
    i would like to have the pictures in the middle like you do and i would like to have them smaller there seems to be only two sizes thumbnail and full size pls help you can send me a mail at shama_2100@yahoo.com.

    Yeah..I’ve sent you a mail about this,Akshata
    Annita

  7. Rg said

    Looks wonderful. Thanks for this lovely baking recipe. I definitely wanna try this one out but I don’t get King fish here. I wonder if this could be made with thinner fillets like Tilapia or Salmon or cat fish….?????

    yeah you can try with any fish fillets of your choice
    Annita

  8. Jacob said

    simply awesome. sounds healthy too.

    Thanks jacob
    Annita

  9. maheswari said

    Fish looks delicious annita…I made your Kallappam yesterday..came out very well and everyone liked it…Thanks..

    Thanks for letting me know about it,Maheswari..
    Annita

  10. rp said

    Aha! I am taking pulinji then. ;)
    Ginger fish looks good.

    Yeah..looking forward for ur pulinji recipe…
    Annita

  11. Hai
    I am new in this blog world and u have wonderful recipes in here also lovely pictures.I will try some of ur recipes soon…
    Thanks

    Thanks a lot..and welcome to the blogging world..
    Annita

  12. vidhya v govind said

    dear annita,
    ur site was introduced to me by my sis in law who lives in b’lore.i live in Fujairah,UAE.i tried ginger fish..the tempting pic prompted me to try…i followed ur recipe blindly…& i must say..its superb !!thanks ….
    i love baking..will update u my experience.ur site inspires people to cook.ive told my best friend here to visit ur blog.good going..keep it up..with love & every good wish..

    vidhya.

    Thanks a lot Vidhya.And i’m very happy to know that ginger fish turned out good for u…Welcome to my blog and do visit me often.
    Annita

  13. Rg said

    Annita, I tried this with Tuna fillets. It was slightly spicy for my family but it tasted real good. King-fish and mackerel would definitely taste even more good, I guess. Thanks again for this recipe, Annita.

    Was this too much spicy for u??oooh..i’m sorry abt it dear..I forgot to mention that my family is always on the spicy side..
    Annita

  14. Aussie_Tony said

    I used tuna steak also and it was fabulous. My wife told me not to lose the recipe :-)

    Will be trying with other fish types. ‘THANK YOU’ for a simple fabulously tasting dish

  15. Ami said

    Hi Anitha
    I accidentally came across your site while browsing for some good recipes. I was planning to cook fish today and tried out this recipe. It was delicious. My husband and his friends loved it. I am definitely going to recommend this site to my friends and family.

    Thank you for sharing all these tasty recipes. Keep up the good work.:-)

  16. […] Fish from My Treasure…My Pleasure   Ginger Salmon Sesame Cakes from […]

  17. This really is such a fantastic resource that youre providing and you give it absent for free. I love seeing web sites that comprehend the worth of offering a top quality resource free of charge. It?s the outdated what goes about comes around routine.

  18. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks However I am experiencing problem with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss downside? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  19. It looks very simple and colorful. You have mentioned “Preheat the oven to 350 F” but now a days all microwave ovens are coming different. Can you tell us in terms of watts. When i tried to make “grilled fish” it was showing me to select the temperature like 750w, 250w. I am little bit confused about it.

  20. […] Fish from My Treasure…My Pleasure Ginger Salmon Sesame Cakes from […]

  21. what is the mean of something

  22. zajrzyj said

    Świetny tekst, przedmiotowy i łatwy do czytania

  23. calories burned standing up for an hour

Leave a Reply

 
