My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Sweet & Sour Chilli Potatoes

Posted by Annita on February 5, 2007

This recipe is taken from Smitha Chandra’s cookbook ‘Cuisine of India‘.The book is filled with wonderful recipes along with multi spiced history and stories of India.According to the author,this dish is invented by Hakka Chinese,who form most of Calcutta’s Chinese population.Quoting Smitha Chandra’s words here:- “Cooks in Hakka Chinese were extremely inventive in adapting their menus to suit Indian tastes by spicing up their foods.Hakka cuisine,in its Indian incarnation,is now the most popular of Chinese cooking styles in India.”

Here fresh potatoes are smothered in a tamarind-red-chilli-garlic sauce, which gives out an irresistable combination that goes very well with fried rice or pulao.

Sweet & Sour Chilly Potatoes

The recipe follows..

Ingredients:-

To roast Potatoes :
Fresh potatoes peeled and cut into wedges – 5 medium sized
Ground black pepper – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste
Sesame Oil – 1 tbsp
Vegetable Oil – 1 tbsp

For the sauce :

Seedless Tamarind – a walnut size piece
water – 1 cup
Corn starch – 1 tsp
Sesame Oil – 1 tsp
Ketchup – 1 tbsp
Soy Sauce – 2 tbsp
Sugar – 2 tsp
Red Chilli sauce/Chilli paste – 1 tbsp

Vegetable Oil – 2 tbsp
Ginger grated – 1/4 inch piece
Garlic grated – 2 cloves
Dried Red Chillies – 2
Finely chopped Onion – 2 small sized

Method:-

Preheat oven to 400 F.Combine potatoes,salt,pepper,sesame oil and 1 tbsp vegetable oil ,toss it to coat well and bake in a single layer for 30 minutes.

Sweet & Sour Chilly Potatoes

Shake the tray occasionally for the potatoes to roast evenly.Turn off the heat and let the potatoes roast for another 10 minutes in the fading heat of the oven.

Sweet & Sour Chilly Potatoes

Microwave tamarind and 1/2 cup water for few minutes.Mash well using a fork and set aside to cool. Mash it well with your fingers again, pour it through a sieve set over a bowl,and discard the fibrous residue.Dissolve the cornstarch in the collected tamarind water and add sesame oil,ketchup,soy sauce,sugar,and red chilli sauce.Mix in the remaining 1/2 cup of water.Stir well and set aside.Warm oil in a non stick wok over high heat,add dried red chillies,grated garlic and ginger.Saute for 30 seconds until crisp,then add chopped onions and saute for 3-4 minutes until lightly browned.Now add the roasted potatoes and stir-fry for 1 minute.Turn off the heat,mix in tamarind-cornstarch sauce,and stir well to caot the potatoes.Let it thicken over the stove for a minute.Transfer to the serving bowl.

Sweet & Sour Chilly Potatoes

This is my entry for Vaishali‘s JFI-Potato.

17 Responses to “Sweet & Sour Chilli Potatoes”

  1. giniann said

    Your fried rice looks delicious. So hakka noodles must have derived from this same line of chefs. I love that stuff. Is there a recipe for hakka noodles that you know of?

    I’ve a Szechuan noodle recipe,which i’ve already post about..i dont know whether they’re both same,gini..
    Annita

  2. Jyothsna said

    I’m licking my fingers!! It looks sooo tempting!

    Thanks Jo
    Annita

  3. Coffee said

    That looks tempting!!!! Lovely presentation :)

    Thanks coffee..
    Annita

  4. prema said

    sweet and sour chilli potatoes looks yummmmy Anita. I have bookmarked it . Thanks for the wonderful recipe

    Thanks Prema
    Annita

  5. RP said

    Great! I think this is the first time I’m seeing such a good looking dish with potatoes. “Cuisine of India” sounds like a nice book. Will look for it in the library.

    Yeah..its a good book,RP…
    Annita

  6. Bindu said

    hey Annita!

    This sure looks yum:)i remember while working in Delhi, i went to a famous chinese eat out and they had a dish called “fried potatoes in chilli-garlic sauce” and that was my fav. i have never found anything like it anywhere yet. but this recipe of yours sure sounds close enough! will def try. thanks for sharing dear.

    Try it out and let me also know abt it,Bindu..
    Annita

  7. The only sound escapes my lips is “Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm”
    will try this soon..

    Thanks KF
    Annita

  8. Nora said

    Hello from Singapore!

    This looks good and yum yum, love Indian food. I know where to look for ideas now.
    And if you want free recipes from my site, come drop by, I have free Chicken recipe
    Cookbook and Valentine recipe Cookbook to give away right now. Cheers.

    Nora
    http://mycookery.com/blog

    Thanks Nora..I’ll surely visit ur blog and get those cookbooks.
    Annita

  9. swapna said

    wow vwry tempting …

    Thanks,Swapna
    Annita

  10. Priya said

    That is a very interesting recipe Annita, I am surely going to try this one soon. I will have to stop myself from finishing off the crisp potato wedges first though !!
    And hey, did u read abt the JFI-Potato at Vaishali’s Happy Burp, this interesting recipe should not miss a round-up !!

    Yeah..I’ve heard abt that,Priya..And thanks for reminding me..I’ll surely be sending this to her..
    Annita

  11. Vaishali said

    Hey Annita,
    Thanks for that piece of info on ‘Hakka’. Never knew about it. And your dish sounds great. Now that you have published your entry so early in February, maybe you could come up with one more at the beginning of March? What say? :-)

    Yeah..i would love to,vaishali..Let me see whether i can come up with another one..
    Annita

  12. bee said

    that looks outrageously good.

    Thanks bee
    Annita

  13. Sunita said

    This really looks very tempting.

    I had seen this earlier and had made a note of it mentally. Today when i started looking for it I was totally lost as too where did I see it. I am gonna try it over the weekend, provided I get all the ingredients (all the oils)

    -Sunita

    try it out,Sunita..I’m sure u’ll like it..
    Annita

  14. piya said

    The recipe was simply good. I tried it out and my son cannot stop praising it all day. Thanks

    I’m soo happy to hear that,Piya..
    Thanks
    Annita

  15. sh said

    This sounds very interesting.. i was looking for the receipe of honey chilly potatos………

    Wonder if you can help with that……..

    haven’t heard of that recipe,Sh..I’m so sorry…:((
    Annita

  16. Niti said

    Hi Annita,
    I tried out the potato recipe. It was delicious!
    Thanks.

    Thanks Niti
    Annita

  17. sh said

    No probs…Annita…….

    I need to ask another stupid question…….it goes here…. While making a cake we use the micro mode or convention mode for baking……. Lately all the cakes I have tried to make are getting spoiled…….

    I have never tried making cakes earlier…….

    I must say…. I have gone to quite a few receipes of yours…..all of them are real yyuuummmsssss….

    Thanks !!!!

Leave a Reply

 
