My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru

Posted by Annita on February 28, 2007

Traditional Malabar cuisine is very popular for its generous use of spices,ghee,eggs,dry fruits etc,which in turn makes their dishes rich and festive.This ghee rice/Neychoru is another Malabar deliccacy, its a semi version of a biriyani,and is usually taken along with spicy non-veg dishes.

Neychoru

The recipe follows..

Ingredients:-

Basmati Rice – 2 cups
Ghee – 5-6 tbsp
Cashewnuts – 1/2 cup
Raisins – 1/4 cup
Sliced Onions – 2
Crushed ginger – 1 tsp
Crushed Garlic – 1 tsp
Cinnamon (karuvapatta)-2 pieces of 1 inch stick
Cardamom (elakka)– 4
Bay leaves(Vazhana Ila) -2
Crushed pepper corns (Kurumulagu)– 4-5
Chopped coriander leaves (Malli Ila)– 4-5 sprigs
Water – 3 and 1/2 cups
Salt – as needed

Method:-

Wash and drain the rice and keep it aside.Heat 3 tbsp of ghee in a big pan and fry half of the sliced onions until golden brown,drain and reserve.In the remaining ghee,fry cashews and raisins seperately,drain and reserve them too.Add the rest of the ghee to the pan,saute all the spices,ginger and garlic for a while and add remaining onions,fry till translucent.Now add rice and fry for 5-7 mts in medium heat,stirring continuosly.Pour water ,increase the heat to high and add salt into it.When the water starts to boil,simmer it and add the coriander leaves,cover the pan with a tight lid and cook until the rice is done and all the water is absorbed.If you feel the rice is not cooked enough ,add 1/4 cup of hot water and again simmer for 4-5 mts.Garnish with fried onions,cashewnuts and raisins.

Neychoru with Mutton
Neychoru served with Chettinad Mutton curry

Recipe Source : Pachakam.com(Sulakshana.R)Check out :

Shynee’s Microwave Neychoru

Sarah’s Neychoru

Shaheen’s Neychoru

50 Responses to “Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru”

  1. Jyothsna said

    Neychoru is perfect by itself, you don’t need anything else with it! Liked the mutton recipe too. Btw, I tried your vazha poov cutlets, they were a hit! Check my blog.:)

  2. sumitha said

    Annita the neichor looks adipoli!

  3. Mishmash! said

    Neychoru looks very nice..whenever i get lazy to prepare a full meal, i usually resort to ghee rice and chkn curry ;)Next time I will try ur recipe. Btw, tried achari paneer, different from the regular paneer recipes and perhaps i will reduce the dry ginger next time. Thanks :)

    Shn

  4. Neychoru looks delicious!!I will try ur mutton recipe after easter..In between I have to try some of ur veg recipes.I made ur Unda and Chammanthi..All in our home enjoyed!My kids had that with ghee and sugarlike ur Milan..

  5. Bindu said

    Hi Dear!
    I had a very unique flavoured rice at a party last year. The family is from Hyderabad. I couldnt ask the recipe at that time. But now looking at the way Malabar neychoru looks and ingredients, enikku tonnunnu athu neychoru aayirunnu ennu. So,I will def try it this weekend. My husband loves different rice dishes. Thankyou for the post Annita. Also hoping you and your family are doing well.

  6. Mythreyee said

    Ghee rice is very easy to make. thanks for sharing.

  7. Jacob said

    haven’t had this in years. nice!

  8. shaheen said

    gosh i have been yearning for a good mutton stew and neichoru and i come to ur blog!my local halal shop closed down so have to find a good source for mutton.:(

  9. Trupti said

    wow..this rice would be great on its own….! nice recipe.

  10. Ash Thomas said

    Dear Anita, I dont know u but the thing I appreciate in u is that u find the time to cook good food even though u have a kid . Though I have a 5 yr old son, I feel so lazy to cook and just wish i had all the time to sleep.
    Happy Blogging anyway.
    Congrats on ur 1st bday (blog)

    Thanks Ash for dropping by..Do visit me often..
    Annita

  11. bee said

    6 tablespoons of ghee….very naughty. and very tasty.

    hehe…(winks)
    Annita

  12. shynee said

    Dear Anita, it has bn quite long that I have trotted around the ‘blobe’ and God! what a wonderful collection u have built up over a small period…mutton um neichorum ellam kazhichu kazhichu oru muttan aadayi mariyittundu njan already!…inganey kothippikkalley…blogging intey pace kurachathintey oru main reason temptation kurakkanayirunnu!!hmm..rakshayilla…

    hmm..mathi madi pidichirunnathu..ini payye blogging okkay start cheyyu..njangalellam shynee yude kayyinnu kuree nalla traditional recipes padikkatte…
    still waiting for u to be back dear…:))
    Annita

  13. Anupama said

    Hi Annita,

    I desperately need Rice Recipes because my husband and son eat more rice if I ccok it in different way rather than plain Dal Chawal. So Thanx for the Ghee Rice and Zucchini and coconut Rice. I am sure thy will love it.

    Thanks Anu,let me know if u’ve liked it or not..
    Annita

  14. Rg said

    YUMMMM! nei choru and biryani are all time favorite of non veg malayalis….mmmmmmmm….mmmmmm…..good! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Oh BTW, I tried your easy chocolate cake in the teddy bear cake pan….it turned out good. My son loved it. Thanks for that… will be trying out your other cakes too. Thanks a lot.

    Good..good..good Rg..way to go…I want you to be a baker too..:))
    Annita

  15. Rg said

    Hey Annita, BTW, where do you buy mutton… do you buy it from Halal shop too or do you get it somewhere else? I’ve never bought lamb, so what part of it, do I buy, to try out this chettinad curry?

    Thanks again.

    I too buy it from halal shop only,RP..There’s not any part preference for this dish,..just ask the shop wala to chop the mutton into small pieces..
    Annita

  16. Gurupreet said

    Scientists at the National Dairy Research Institute (NDRI) have recently developed Herbal Ghee. The new products have the taste, flavor, color and consistency of traditional ghee. But, instead of being hazardous ghee, this form of ghee boosts the immune system and guards against cholesterol related problems and is beneficial for people suffering from cardio-vascular diseases and blood pressure. It also strengthens the arteries.

    The younger generation is crazy about their fitness throughout and even elderly people are also not ready to accept their ageing realities, all want to look young and vibrant forever without taking medicine. The solution lies in functional foods that provide medication rejuvenating vital component through foods.

    People have now accepted the philosophy ā€œPrevention is better than cureā€ well in their day-to-day life.

    Hereā€™s the best news. The new healthy herbal ghee launched by Punjab Sind will not only retain the taste, flavor, color and consistency of traditional ghee but also boost the immune system, guard against cholesterol-related problems. So get ready to dig into ghee ā€“ and not feel guilty about it!

    Punjab Sind Pvt Ltd is the first company to launch this Herbal Ghee in market and is now available at its retail outlets at various malls, shopping centers and its own shops all over Mumbai.

    Punjab Sind lines of products were specifically launched to provide consumers with a wide choice of natural food supplements, vitamins and herbal products. The site http://www.punjabsind.com offers a range of product information etc for the health conscious consumer.

    If you’d like more information about this topic email gurupreet@gmail.com, call +91-9867004477, or visit http://www.punjabsind.com

  17. Billo said

    Annita,

    I come from palakkad and our friends/neighbors muslims cook Neychoru very differently. They use Jeeraka Sala rice (here we get it as Jeera Samba Rice). Also after cooking, the rice will be extremely white and very flavorful. The smell of Neychoru will reach 10 miles away, at the same time, you wont be able to find a single spice anywhere in the rice. I crave for that rice. I felt Sarah’s recipe comes very close to this.
    Just my 2 paisa.

    • lak said

      yes true billo and am searching for that exact reciepe anitha’s reciepe is also yummy but it is not the original neychoru .

    • radha said

      Is jeeraka sala and jeeraga samba the same rice. How to cook it? Can we cook it soft with more water to make pongal?

  18. Bini said

    Hi,

    I’m very new to all kind of cooking stuff, and as I’m staying in U.S for 6 months, I had to make something. I tried this, and this is my first ghee rice and to my surprise it was very very nice and it looked exactly as in the picture.

    Thanks a lot.

  19. raj said

    its nice thank u ,,,,,,

  20. Jay said

    Lived in Kerala for 4 years. Came across 2 kind of ghee rice. one was a little like biryani (kera
    la style). Could never figure the recipe, though simple. After reading yours, I strongly feel this is it, perfect :). Haven’t prepared this; will get back again. Mouth already watering and feeling nostalgic about the 4 years in REC Calicut.

  21. resh said

    good one really delicious

  22. binu said

    hai,
    i tried this recipe and and came out very well.thanku for posting it

  23. veg biryani…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  24. I used to be suggested this website by means of my cousin. I am not certain whether this submit is written by way of him as no one else recognise such specified approximately my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thank you!

  25. supplement shop…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  26. San Francisco…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  27. Gaya Hidup Sehat…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  28. MaxGXL said

    MaxGXL…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  29. Island Kitchen Remodel…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  30. outlet de marcas…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  31. kitchen sinks,franke sinks,blanco sinks,sinks,kitchen taps,franke taps,fitting kitchen sink taps…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  32. vidhya said

    hi am gonna try your dish

  33. [admission requirements|associate degree nursing program|bridge program|content bridge|educational mobility|nurse program|physical therapist assistant|practical nurse|registered nurse]…

    […]Malabar style Ghee rice/Neychoru « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  34. shree said

    We tried this neychoru……it was a great hit….thanks……

  35. Suman kr. Roy said

    what a nice neychoru i.e, ghee-rice ! will definitely give a run for money to the very best of biriyani.

  36. flyjogopinath said

    very nice & testy

  37. kannan said

    The wonder full taste. i didnt eat before like this.

  38. Scotty Ciotta said

    Kitchen sinks that are made from stainless steel are top notch since they last for a very long time and they can resist corrosion and acid attacks. .:*`”

    Our very own web site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/chlorophyll-benefits/

  39. This post provides clear idea in support of
    the new visitors of blogging, that really how to do running a blog.

  40. Anurag C said

    What you mean by a cup any specific diamention? If u can tell me how to cook neychor in induction cooker it will be very helpful to me.thank you

  41. spices said

    Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your website by
    accident, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  42. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Cheers
    sosdatenrettung http://www.sos-datenrettung.com/

  43. One of the hottest names in the world of sexual medicines right
    now is none other than the famous Vig – RX Plus.

    ED has several aspects, and the kind of treatment depends on the objective of the ED.
    The results vary in every person, as the length
    has increased up to 2 to three.

  44. lekhafoods said

    Hello

    Today i am have read your business blog it is very impressive and different for a successful business, career. I really very impressed with it & we are also offering service like Best Chicken Recipes, Speciality bakery recipes, Indian Holi festival recipes etc. For more information Visit on us :- http://lekhafoods.com/

  45. karthika said

    This was the best ghee rice i ever had.Today i’m going to make this again.<3 :)

  46. you are actually a excellent webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing.
    It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick. Also,
    The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a wonderful process in this matter!

Leave a comment