My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Idiyappam

Posted by Annita on November 16, 2006

Here goes another breakfast dish from the Land of Coconut Trees, which features the same rice flour and coconut .The soft and thin Idiappams,in its charming white color,when garnished with fresh grated coconut is a real beauty.Idiappam is said to be the best,when served with sweet coconut milk.Somehow I don’t like it,I always prefer some spicy curries to go with it.

Idiappam

Idiappam with Potato Stew

The recipe follows…

Ingredients:-

Fine Rice Flour – 2 cups
(I normally use Swad brand,if you can get Idiappam podi that’ll be the best.Also you can prepare the rice flour at home.Wash and soak raw rice(Pachari) for few hours. Drain well and allow it to dry completely.Grind it to a fine powder and dry roast it.)

Water – approx 2 cups
Salt – as needed
Grated Coconut – 1/2 cup
Thick Coconut milk – 1 tsp (Optional)
Oil – as needed

Accessories Needed:-

Idiappom Press
Idli Mould

Idiappam

Idiappam Press

Method:-

Boil water in a pan,adding required amount of salt into it.Pour the boiled water little by little to the rice flour,stirring in between,until it is ready to make into a smooth dough.

Idiappam

Allow it to cool for a while.When it is half cooled,knead it with your hand into a smooth dough,adding coconut milk also if you’re using it.Lightly grease the idiappom press and the idli mould to prevent sticking.Add 1/2 a spoon of grated coconut into each idli plate.Spoon some dough into the idiappom press,close the lid and squeeze the dough onto the idli plates in a circular motion.

Idiappam

Garnish each idiappam with a little more grated coconut.You can mix little sugar with the coconut(if you like it to be sweet),again that’s also optional.

Idiappam

Now place the idli plates in a steamer and steam it until done.Allow it to cool for a while and carefully remove the idiappams to a serving bowl.

34 Responses to “Idiyappam”

  1. Hi Annita! It’s a great recipe. My son loves to it idiappam from his friend’s lunch box. Thanks for including my blog in your blog list.

  2. Asha said

    LOVE the pics and all those rice noodles.I made once and for a long time I didn’t try again. Looks so yummy, Annita! Thanks and I will do this again.

  3. Rema said

    Hi Anita,

    Have been enjoying your blog for a while now. Thanks for all the interesting recipes. I had a quick question. If you are using store bought rice flour, in that case also do you dry roast it or do you need to dry roast it only if you make the rice powder at home?

    Apologies if the message gets posted twice.
    TIA,
    -Rema.

  4. mandira said

    Anita – I had it at a friend’s aunts home and loved it. Looks delicious.

  5. RP said

    Do you believe I just had idiyappam and fish curry? I too like spicy curries with it. How did you make that potato stew? Do you like idiyappam made with brown rice flour? That is what we had today. :)

  6. supriya said

    oh anita, ur recipe just reminded me of my amma cooking this in her kitchen…:) she usually makes it with banana rasayana(made with coonut milk) and it tastes heaven…
    cheers
    supriya

  7. Susan said

    Hi Annita,
    My daughter love idiyappam.I usually add ghee or oil with the flour and its more soft. Nice work

    Thanks for the tip,susan..I’ll also be trying out that..
    Annita

  8. Radhika said

    Hi Anita
    My 2yr old daughter loves idiyappam & i prepare it every weekend,but my method is quite different from yours.This time i’ll try ur method.

  9. shaheen said

    I love idiappam.I have the same press.:) Do u move the press in circular motion or to and fro?what happened to ur cakes?

  10. giniann said

    My father always used to have it with sugar and milk. Made me go crazy. I could only have it with spicy stuff like eggcurry or kadala curry.

  11. Rashmi said

    My favourite.Thanks for reminding.

  12. Rg said

    I love Idiappams too with spicy curry. I’ve the same press too. To make the dough soft, I usually add oil to the boiling water that’s used to knead the dough, along with salt but adding coconut milk to the dough is new to me… will try that out next time. Thanks annita.

  13. Priya said

    I soooo want to have some rite NOW :-(( ….The last time I ate this wonderful idiappams was during at a resort in Sri Lanka when I was on my way to India :( Will try making them over the weekend.

  14. Dhanya said

    Hi Annita,
    Woww…That was really nice to know that we can add coconut milk …it would taste more good.
    Instead of greasing the whole idiappam press, i add half tsp of pure ghee to the boiling water which makes the dough more smooth and makes less sticky to the press.I just love idiappam with chicken curry….
    Do you have any recipes with avocado.I wanted to make some a side dish with parathas…a chutney sort. If you have some ideas do publish.

  15. jayshree said

    Oh my favorite… idiyapam. been long since I did.U tempt me to do now !

  16. Hi Annita,
    I love the idea of adding coconut milk and sprinkling some cocnut on the mold. I should try this way.Thanks for the recipe.

  17. Arul said

    Hi Annita,

    Ur recipe Looks too Nice…Thanks for the wonderful recipe…
    Annita plz post kerala shrimp podi…I had at my friend home..

  18. pol said

    annoos,
    your site is getting better by the day. shilpa is already a serious fan of yours..
    paul

    Thanks Pol
    Annita

  19. lane said

    my idiappam looks little light brown??????????????? in pic it looks white. can u help me
    i used packet iddipppam powder and dry roasted it..

    That might be bcoz of the idiappom powder you are using,lane..I’m using plain rice flour from swad..which is pure white in color…

    Annita

  20. Anu said

    Hai Annita,
    ur idiappam looks too nice.Can u just tell me whether we have to dry roast the Swad’s Rice flour that we get from Indian Grocery store?Plse give me a reply

    No Anu,i don’t roast it .The Swad rice flour will work without the roasting also.But i’ve a friend who always roast the flour.
    Anyways roasting doesn’t do any harm,it can only help in making nice Idiappams.Just be careful not to over roast it..
    Hope this helps

    Annita

  21. gowri said

    Idiappm is my favoutite. fresh coconut grating, sugar with idiappam is my favourite combination.

  22. […] probably should have anyway. The Masala Dosa and Idiappam were tasty but stone cold. I was told I couldn’t have sambhar with the rice noodle cakes. And […]

  23. Siddharth said

    Can we make it of Semolina rather den rice

  24. sangitha said

    i tried with store bought flour without coconut milk.it came out flat.do u know the mistake i made?

  25. Gloria said

    Hello,

    I tried making Idiappm but it keeps coming out soggy? what am I doing wrong? is the dough to soft? what would be the ideal time for steaming? Kindly let me know.

  26. smokeless image coupon…

    […]Idiyappam « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  27. Clinton said

    Hello there I am so glad I found your web site, I really
    found you by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  28. Idiappm is my favoutite and thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

  29. The spores that are not filtered are then disbursed outdoors
    so that 100% of the live and dead spores left cannot grow inside
    the home or business. Any leak in the plumbing or problems in the ventilation need
    to be addressed in order to stop the mold from growing further.
    Whether coverage is available or not, fitting black mold removal costs into the budget is key to protecting the most valuable of investments.

  30. Add 4 ounces of tri-sodium phosphate which is commonly known. Detailed list of all goods utilised for the
    duration of our function. Chlorine is a powerful whitener and disinfectant, but can cause negative
    health effects in people, plants, and animals.

  31. There’s the oar to the left, which is in the corner.
    Majority of projects we perform are due to the fact that.
    Chlorine is a powerful whitener and disinfectant, but
    can cause negative health effects in people, plants, and
    animals.

  32. Can I simply say what a relief to find an individual who truly understands
    what they’re discussing online. You definitely realize how to bring an issue
    to light and make it important. More and more people should read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you’re not more popular given that you
    certainly have the gift.

  33. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or
    if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  34. Sonia said

    Hello Anita,
    I wanted to know for 4 plates of idiappam what would be the approximate time for cooking.

Leave a comment