My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Pineapple Pachadi

Posted by Annita on July 20, 2006

Pineapple is one of the world’s favorite tropical fruit,and when you taste this delicious fruit once,you’ll know why it is called so.Pineapples are available fresh and canned.I always go for the fresh ones,as I don’t like the heavy syrup in which it is dipped.Also I have heard that ,during canning process it lose most of its Vitamin C.Pineapple is high in fiber and contains modest amounts of vitamin C, potassium and a unique digestive enzyme called bromelain.

Eventhough pineapple as a whole is handsome ,the cleaning part is quite difficult and time consuming.When the tough exterior is removed,there will be small black seed like things all over which has to be pierced out.This is a tedious job,which i always hate to do.But those sweet, juicy, healthy and delicious pineapples always pays off for the entitre hardwork.

Kerala Cuisine is blessed with many Pineapple dishes,and this Pineapple Pachadi is one of my favorite.And in southern Kerala,this sweet dish is used as an accompaniment for Sadyas.

Here’s my version of Pinepple Pachadi…

Ingredients:-

Well ripened Pineapple chopped fine – 1 cup
Turmeric Powder – a pinch
Mustard seeds crushed- 1 tsp
Water – 1/4 cup
Salt – to taste
Well beaten Yogurt – 2 cupsFor grinding:-
Shallots – 5
Jeera – 1/2 tsp
Grated coconut -1/2 cup
Green chillies – 3For popping:-
Mustard Seeds – 1/2 tsp
Dried Whole Red Chillies cut into two – 2
Curry leaves – a sprig
Oil -as needed

Method:-

Mix together chopped pineapple,turmeric powder,crushed mustard seeds,salt and water in a pan and cook till pinepple are soft and well done.Grind together shallots,jeera seeds,coconut and green chillies.Now add the ground mixture into the cooked pineapple and simmer for a few minutes.As I like my pachadi to be very thick,I always cook it till dry.So it is upto you ,water can be added accordingly.


Ground mixture added to cooked pinepple

Stir in yogurt and switch off the stove.Be careful,not to boil it after adding yogurt.
Heat oil in another pan and pop the mustard seeds.Add red chillies and curry leaves and fry well.Pour this into the cooked pineapple mixture.


Pineapple Pachadi

Serve hot with rice.

18 Responses to “Pineapple Pachadi”

  1. Archana said

    This is extacly how a pineapple pachadi must look like, rich, creamy !!!
    Job well done Annita.

    Thanks,Thanks many many thanks Archana

    Annita

  2. Annita you cant believe from how long I have been wanting to make pineapple pachadi!I was just waiting for the right recipe!I have also asked for the recipe from a fellow blogger,who just today sent me a comment on how to make it and here you are…..Thanks a lot,I have to try it today or tomorrow itself!

    I’m happy that i could help you with it,Sumi..Try it out and lemme know if u liked it or not

    Annita

  3. ArSu said

    Unda chammanthi..Boli..Pineapple pachadi….delicious and quite new names to me..great going Annita!

    Thanks Arsu!!

    Annita 

  4. Reshmi Menon said

    Pineapple pennee..

    :)

    Annita 

  5. vineela said

    Hi Annita,
    Looks yummy.I have one doubt how this pachadi tastes ?
    Vineela

    Its indeed sweet,Vineela.

    Annita 

  6. LALITHA said

    Anita never had Pineapple Pachadi before. looks good.

  7. Priya said

    Hi Annita,
    Wonderful recipe. I have never had pineapple in the form of a pachadi. Really curious to know how it would taste as a savoury. And the Boli-Payasam recipe looks yumm…a day that begins with such a breakfast is surely gonna be great ..!!

    Boli is not a breakfast dish,Priya..It is served as a dessert.And many thanks for dropping by.

    Annita 

  8. Priya said

    As arsu said lovely new recipes Anita. I have never heard of pineapple pachadi before. Shall give it a try soon !

    Thanks Priya.Try and out and lemme also know about it.

    Annita 

  9. Rg said

    Nice pictures. Looks yummy! I’ve heard abt Pineapple pachadi but have never tasted it….I always wondered how does a sweet pineapple and a sour curd combination work….I couldn’t even think of mixing it both….but I think I’ll give it a try atleast once ,probably sometime next week, as our great chef Annita has posted this recipe as one of her favorite dish :-))….thanks.

    Its a kinda sweet dish,Rg..If you like sweet taste with rice,u’ll love it.ZYeah,u should give it a try for once,Rg

    Annita 

  10. krishna said

    Hi there,

    I just discovered your site…..very interesting.
    I was wondering if you have any recipes for sharkara puratti.I am having a vishu sadhya this weekend and cant find any in the Indian stores.

    Krish

    i haven’t posted it yet,Krishna..will be doing that soon..
    Annita

  11. Roy said

    Hi Annita,

    Whenever I feel like trying out something new, I come to your site and could always find a dish interesting and easy for me to make. Thank you a lot for all these recipes. Sorry that it took a while for me to put you a thank you note.
    Last weekend tried pachadi(with canned pineapple) and it turned out good.

    I’m so happy to hear this from you,Roy…Pls sdo try out more recipes from the blog…
    Annita

  12. Narayanan Kutty said

    my daughter in US ( Student) She makes her food from this site . She is very happy and we too happy to read this site . We appriciate all of your efforts and spirit of helping others. Thank you
    Narayanan kutty
    enkay54@yahoo.com

  13. krishna sudha said

    annita
    i prefer 2 this recipe from the many i got 4m the net this is superb
    k s

  14. […] My Treasure… My Pleasure’s Pineapple Pachadi […]

  15. saju said

    Hi,
    I made it too…. so good.

  16. You should be a part of a contest for one oof thee greatest sites on the web.

    I aam going to highly recommend this web site!

  17. Films et telefilms gratuits en streaming en integralite (legal) Lundi 2 avril 2012 1 02 /04 /Avr /2012 19:15
    Les movies suivant sont diffuses gratuitement et legalement level les chaines de television durant 7 jours (tf1,m6,w9,d8,6ter etc) – Les chaines
    de television francaises proposent de revoir gratuitement des films et telefilms PS: De
    nombreux pictures se trouvent sur Youtube depuis des mois :
    Youtube aurait il passe un accord avec les ayants droits?

  18. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a weblog website? The account aided me a applicable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided bright transparent idea

Leave a comment