My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Fish Packets

Posted by Annita on July 5, 2006

Keralites are mostly seafood lovers.In my home,everyday there will be some or other seafood item. This Fish Packet is an amazing snack,that i would rather die for.Believe me,it won’t disappoint your taste buds.

Fish Packets ready to be served

A not- to- be missed recipe from my Amma’s treasured recipe collection..

Ingredients :-
For the rolls :
Maida – 2 cup
Eggs – 2
Pepper Powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste
Water – as needed
For the filling :
Fish cut into small pieces-1/2 kg
(Use fish which has less bones.If you can use any fillets ,that’ll be well and fine.I’ve used Tilapia fillets for this one)
Grated ginger – 2 tsp
Chopped Garlic – 2 tsp
Chopped Green Chillies – 4
(Use it according to the spice level)
Chopped Curry leaves – a few
Chopped Onion – 1 medium sized
Chopped Tomato – 1 medium sized
Red Chilly Powder – 1 tsp
Pepper Powder – 1 tsp
Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
Chopped coriander leaves – 1tsp.
Salt – As needed
Other Ingredients :
Bread Crumbs – As needed
Oil – For Deep Frying
Method:-
To Prepare Filling:
Take a pan with 1/4 cup of water in it.Add fish pieces along with salt,1/2 tsp of ginger,1/2 tsp of garlic and 1 chopped green chilly.Cover it and cook till done in medium heat.If necessary ,add water little by little.Drain it and allow it to cool.
When it is cooled well,seperate the bones from the fish pieces.Now the boneless fish pieces has to be chopped fine.(This step can be made easier if you use boneless fish fillets)Keep aside.Heat oil in a pan,and add chopped onion,chopped curry leaves,rest of ginger, garlic,and green chillies into it.Saute it till onions turn translucent.Stir in turmeric powder,pepper powder and red chilly powder into it.Now add chopped tomato and salt and saute it till dry.Mix in the cooked fish and coriander leaves into the prepared masala.Simmer it for 2-3 mts stirring continuously.Note that the filling should be made dry.

Fish Filling
To Prepare Rolls:
Beat the eggs well and add maida,salt and pepper powder into it.Mix it well by adding necessary water.The batter should be made in thin consistency.(It should be made thinner than the dosa batter and if you pour it on a tawa,it should spread by itself.You are not supposed to use a ladle to spread it on the tawa).

Maida Batter used to prepare rolls

Heat a non stick pan and apply little oil on it evenly just like you do to prepare dosas.Now pour a ladle of batter into the pan and allow it to spread by itself by rotating the pan.The rolls should be made thin,otherwise it can break while rolling.Again no need to use the ladle to spread the batter.Cook it for few minutes and then turn the pan over and let the roll fall into a plate or a newspaper.No need to turn and cook the other side of the roll.

Roll is being cooked

Just like this,prepare as many rolls as you wish.Reserve 1/2 cup of batter .

To Fry:
Spread a little maida on a flat surface and place each roll on it,such that well browned side is facing down.Put one tablespoonfull of filling near an end.

Place some filling on one end

Fold adjacent ends inwards.

Folding the sides inwards

Then roll it over as shown in the picture.

Rolling the fish packet

The ends can be sticked together using the maida batter reserved earlier.Now dip each roll in the left over maida batter and then in the bread crumbs.Now the fish packets are reday to be fried.

Fish packets ready to be fried
Deep fry them in the oil and serve with Onion-Tomato Salad or with Ketchup.

And this my entry to Tony’s Weekend Curry Mela

Posted by Annita

30 Responses to “Fish Packets”

  1. RP said

    That is a wonderful recipe! Looks time cosuming though. I am sure this will work great with meat filling as well. Your plated fish packets are so beautiful…I feel like to grab one.

    Thanks Rp,It’ll definitely work with meat & veggies too..And i’ve asked u a doubt regarding the heavy cream to add in your tikka masala..I couldn’t find milk cream anywhere in grocery stores here.Can u pls tell me whether it is available here ?

    Annita

  2. Rg said

    Fish packets? It’s new to me….I’ve n’t read the complete recipe yet…but I’m sure going to try this even if it’s time consuming….I love fish too. I’ve just bought tuna packets today to try your meen peera pattichathu recipe… will sure get back to you with the results…:-)) Thanks again Annita….

    It’s not that much time consuming.RG.you are definitely gonna love it.
    Annita

  3. Reshmi Menon said

    Annita, You really rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks again & again reshmi

    Annita

  4. Omar Barsawad said

    My wife will love this! I can now give her some good recipes to work on!

    Thanks Omar.I’m happy to hear that u liked it.And welcome to my blog..

    Annita

  5. Annita,that was a perfect plate for the fish packets:)I too make spring rolls,never tried with a fish filling and have never coated it with bread crumbs,thanks for the recipe.As you have rightly said it is a not to be missed recipe!Shall try it soon:)

    Thanks for ur tip without breadcrumbs.I’ll be trying out that too..Sumi
    Annita

  6. Puspha said

    I too am a fish lover. Those packets look amazingly delicious.

    Thanks Pushpa.

    Annita

  7. Surya said

    Hi Anitha,
    Ur dish is amazing.It is in ‘must try’list.I am a frequent visitor of ur blog.
    I am also from kerala.i like fish very much.

    Hi Surya,

    Thanks a lot..Where are u in Kerala?I’ve gone through your blog..Nice work..And that fish curry looks great

    Annita

  8. neelu said

    Great recipe, I am a sea food lover and Made fish tikka yesterday, your recipe is very different and I am sure I will like it, will surely try next time i buy fish. Thanks for the post ~!

    You are gonna love it,Neelu..Thanks

    Annita

  9. Archana said

    A perfect appetizer for a seafood lovers party, looks so yummy. I make chicken rolls this way, never tried fish before, but soon will. Thank you.

    Yeah..Seafood lovers will surely fall for this.And chicken rolls sound great..i have to try that soon..

    Thanks Archana

    Annita

  10. L.G said

    Wow! I like these kind of recipes. Must try! Must try!

    Thanks L.G

    Annita

  11. sudha said

    I like fish and i like snacks..Perfect dish for me. Thanks deepann.

    Thanks a lot Sudha..And hmmmm..its Annita..not deepann ..:))

    Deep for Deepak(my husband) + Ann for Annita(myself)…I think i’ve confused many of u,rt..?

    Annita

  12. RP said

    Annita, that was the first curry recipe I tried with whipping cream in it. I too was intimidated to add it in curries. I have a biriyani recipe that has whipping cream in it! Never tried it though. You are right; it is mainly used in sweets. I usually make whipped cream frosting with it for cakes. Just mix it with powdered sugar and vanilla, and beat it with an electric mixer until it reaches a spreadable consistency. I also use it to make a white pasta sauce with garlic.

    Thanks a lot L.G.I’ve already bought some whipped cream..Will be trying it soon 

    Annita 

  13. shaheen said

    Annita,
    This is interesting..a mix of east and west. I have to try it but I am sure it will appeal to all fish lovers.
    How much time did it take you, from start to finish?

    It won’t take much shaheen..Probably half an hr..

    Annita 

  14. shynee said

    Absolutely brilliant!…something like springrolls, right?…very creative indeed and for fish lovers like me…one more in the to do list,but sounds like I need to be more patient!

    Thanks Shynee..But its not that time consuming..I think you all got the idea from so many photos displayed over there..:)

    Annita 

  15. LALITHA said

    something new, heard of hot pockets but not fish packets, have to try this one,It sounds delicious.

    Thanks Lalitha.Try it out and lemme know about it

    Annita 

  16. Bhaswati said

    Wicked gorgeous! The fish packets look irresistible, Annita. Got to try this sometime soon.

    Thanks Bhaswati.You are gonna love it.And welcome to my blog

    Annita 

  17. Ricky said

    I am already drooling. The recipe looks awesome. I will be trying this very soon. Thanks!! :)

    Thanks for  the comment Ricky.Try it out and let me too know about it. 

    Annita 

  18. Sangeeta said

    Hi Annita,

    The picture looks so appetizing! And I am going to try it out today. I have been trying to make fish curry as u make in Kerela. (The red gravy) Would you have a recipe for that?

    Thanks a lot.

    Sangeeta

    I’ve already posted a recipe for fish curry Sangeetha..Here’s the link..

    https://deepann.wordpress.com/2006/06/20/meen-pattichathu/ 

    Annita 

  19. Rg said

    annita, I made these fish rolls last friday. Mine turned out slightly bigger than what you have shown in the picture above… but that didn’t matter at all, it was so…sooooooo…good. The filling was by itself very very tasty. I even reserved some of the filling to be used as upperi for saturday’s lunch. We all enjoyed the fish rolls and that includes my 3 yr old picky eater. Thanks to you annita, it’s in my appetizer list for my next party. i just couldn’t wait to show that off. Thanks again.

    I’m really so happy for you,Rg…Size doesn’t matter at all..If you want you can make it small next time..

    Annita

  20. Recipes said

    Recipes

    can you provide more info ?

  21. viji said

    Hi,
    I tried this recipe,simply great!!!Thanks and Keep it up.

  22. fireplace said

    Interesting. I’ll have to throw down a bookmark and check back.

    -EJ

    Thanks fireplace and welcome to my blog
    Annita

  23. Julie Lee said

    I simply wont cook one more meal until my kids visit. I have tried these nice things but in the time it takes me i would rather have some family over to enjoy it with now. I am getting older and the time it takes me to prepare I dont like eating by myself

  24. jisha said

    thanks for this super snack.this is the best snack i have ever made.thank u very much

    Thanks Jisha
    Annita

  25. reurtusly said

    If you have pinworms, the tannins in pomegranate juice will help you get rid of them. friendly flora, and unfriendly bacteria. Soaking and removing cuticles: Your cuticle is like a fore skin. If, at any time during a pose, you find that you cannot breathe deeply, either ease up or come out of the pose. When your joints have bone-to-bone contact and grind against each other that area becomes swollen and inflamed. The most popular reasoning is that the bodys immune system tends to react abnormally in those with Crohns disease. * Listen to your favourite music. These patches often develop gradually over time. Alexander once met with a group of anatomists and later commented that their studies had done nothing useful to enhance their own posture and movement patterns. Early detection and treatment of common diseases can often prevent further complications and help you get back on a healthy track. During the therapy she was made to realize that there is a big difference between the past and present and that her p
    ast should not have any effect on her present life; and her fear vanished. The herniation’s size may vary depending on your position – It is bigger when you stand and smaller when you lie down. If the symptoms of strep throat persist for more than a few days and appear to intensify, physicians may prescribe a treatment with penicillin or amoxicillin. Green Tea! Exercise is a powerful tool for ADD management. Treatment itself depends on the type of stroke. Pharmaceuticals block calcium and encourage osteoporosis Pharmaceuticals of various kinds, especially acid blocker, can also prevent you from properly absorbing Vitamin B12. Most of us believe, especially who are suffering from mental illness, that Depression and other mental disorders are not curable. Reports have appeared in the media linking the use of mobile telephones with, among other things, headaches, hot spots in the brain and brain cancer.com Vitamin E is a fat soluble antioxidant that the body uses to snatch up free radicals. Those of us with part
    icularly significant sinusitis may need to supplement this with medications, and I use Flonase before going to bed each night as well. These bracelets have been designed to provide you with the largest possible quantity of benefits in a variety of different areas. Even many companies offer discounts if you buy cheap pet insurance online. The importance of an Insurance Plan. This is taken every morning for ten continuous days. Without proper medical and medical investigations, the common sore throat can be easily mistaken for strep throat and vice versa. The so-called Bird Flu or Avian Influenza had indeed spread its wings. If this is the case, call the dentist so that he can easily fix this problem. Immune enhancing nutrients combined with an increased intake of water have been shown in recent studies to be one of the best defenses against most infections.

  26. naisioxerloro said

    Hi.
    Good design, who make it?

  27. [color=#3993ff]
    The interesting concept about the possibility of gambling online is that it reunites players from all the countries on every continent. [/color]

  28. subj
    ?

  29. asia dispensary – asia dispensary

  30. j said

    Hi there..
    reached this recipe while searching for fish appetizer ideas!! this looks too good and yummy. i cant belive this was not time consuming to make.. you must be super fast in doing stuff!!
    anyways would be great if you could give some additional info –
    how many packets did you get from the amount given here?
    to get that size of packets, do you remeber what sized pan you used?

    Thanks!!!!

Leave a comment