My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Meen Peera Pattichathu

Posted by Annita on March 13, 2006

Meen Peera Pattichathu is yet another traditional Keralite delish.This is more popular in Kottayam,a district in Kerala.This is usually made with small fish like Kozhuva.In some parts it is also known as Natholi.(Anchovies is its English Name.Thanks RP for informing me about this).But sometimes I prepare this with Tuna chunks and small sardines,which is available in every grocery stores here.
Ingredients:-
Cleaned Kozhuva or Tuna Chunks -1 small packet
Kokum (Kudam Puli)- 3 (You can also use Tamarind)
Grated Coconut – 1 cup
Ginger-Garlic paste -1 tsp
Green chillies – 3 or 4
Sliced Shallots -3
Turmeric powder -a pinch
salt – to taste
Mustard Seeds -a few
Curry leaves – a few
Oil – as needed
Method:-
Dip kokum in warm water and keep aside.Mix together grated coconut,ginger-garlic paste,shallots,green chillies,turmeric powder,kokum pieces and salt with hand.
Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds into it.Allow it to splutter.Add the grated coconut mixture and curry leaves into it.Saute well for a while.Finally add the fish pieces and mix it together.

Anchovies Ingredients

Close the lid and simmer for 10 minutes or until the fish is cooked well.Be sure to stir it in between.Enjoy with rice.

This semi dry dish can be preapred with prawns as well.But you have to first cook the prawns adding kokum and salt in little water.Everything else is same as the above procedure.

Meen Peera Pattichathu

Posted by Annita

25 Responses to “Meen Peera Pattichathu”

  1. Puspha said

    Annita, may I ask what kokum is?

    Kokum otherwise known as KudamPuli is mainly used for fish curries..Some people who doesn’t like its taste replace it with tamaraind itself..Its a dry fruit something like tamarind..You can see the picture here..http://www.worldspice.com/product_pages/spice_pages/0678kokum.htm

    Annita

  2. Ashwini said

    Pretty good. I have never had this dish. I also want to try out the egg roast recipe below. sounds delicious

    Ashwini,Try it out and let me know whether you liked it or not.

    Annita 

  3. RP said

    I think Natholis are Anchovies (English name).

    Thanks.. RP.

    I’ll surely add it in site.

    Annita 

  4. giniann said

    My God..Annita you are making me hungry and homesick. Too bad you live in Kentucky or else I would have invited myself over.

    Hi Giniann,

    You’ve got a nice name..Very unique..!!!I guess your homeland is also Kerala,rt? In which part are you from?

    I belong to Kochi. 

    Thanks for visiting my blog and i’m really happy to hear that you liked my blog.

    Annita 

  5. Anju said

    annita, this website made me really homesick, especially meen peera…reminds me of my ammas cooking. by the way, i am from kottayam….and where do you get natholi in us? i tried with frozen natholi once which i got from an international grocery store, it was okay…never tried with tuna..have tried with canned sardines….

    Anju

    Thanks Anju..My mother is also from Kanjirappally,Kottayam..

    Natholi is not available quite often here.I bought it on my Chicago trip ,from a South Indian grocery store..

    And haven’t tried it with sardines..Have to do that also..I love meen peera !!!

    Annita 

  6. Anju said

    Thanks for replying Anitha…i check ur blog quite often now..and i am also an ardent fan of vanitha…i too subscribe vanitha, grihalakshmi and mahilarathnam :-)

    Ooh..thats gr8!!Are you also in U.S?

    Annita 

  7. Anju said

    yes anitha, in atlanta

    ooh.i’ve some friends in Atlanta ..:)

    Annita 

  8. Rg said

    Hey! this recipe was new to me…my mom doesn't make this…but my MIL does… I got this recipe from her few months back but guess what, I messed up the whole dish….it became too sour(I added more than required coccum I guess)…I tried with fresh Smelt fish which I believe is Natholi….I don't know if anchovies are natholi…I'll have to check that out….anyways… I'll try this particular meen peera recipe again… thanks for sharing this recipe with us all.

    Thanks
    Rg.

    Try it out and lemme know how it turned out for u..

    Annita

  9. Rg said

    Annita, y/day I made this meen peera pattichathu recipe with Tuna packets… and it was very very good…my husband also loved it….thanks a lot…this recipe is going to stay forever in my routine dinner list. thanks again.

    Wow..great..I’m really really happy for u,Rg..:)

    Annita

  10. Jose said

    Hi anita
    I forgot this fish for al most 8 months now.

    Thanks for the wonderful recollection ,
    I cant wait to go back home,
    I am an amateur in cooking , so if u wud give me a more detailed recipe , IT WUD BE GREAT
    Thanks once again

    Hi Jose,

    Thanks for the comment,Jose.I thought the recipe is quite detailed.Can u pls tell me ,which part is not clear to you?I’ll try to explain that again..

    Annita 

  11. Ajay Sasidharan said

    Thanks. It was really simple and delicious too.

    Happy to hear that u like it,Ajay..And many thanks for dropping by..

    Annita 

  12. hari said

    hi!!
    many thanx..madam!!
    tis being long since i cooked something like this, all ma english friends here just loved it..they are after me for the receipe…thanx alot for making me a hero…
    i tried it with kingfish..tis just wonderful…
    though the ingredients were hard to find…!
    mam ..do u have the receipe for “kanava thoran”??
    my mom used to make it..i miss alot..
    hoping that u would put that here..!
    regards
    HARI

    Yeah Hari..I’ll try to add that too here
    Annita

  13. Nita said

    Easy n Tasty! Thanks

  14. Nisha said

    hi anitha,

    thanks for the recipie.. i used whole ginger and garlic instead of paste..

    can u pls post a recipie for ulli (shallots) pachadi and shallot theeyal.. plssssssssssssssssssss

    Regards,
    Nisha

  15. Nini said

    What tuna is better – solid white, chunk light or any other type?
    Plz clarify
    Thank you for all your recipes
    Nini

  16. ajoji said

    Hi Annita,
    Thanks for the recipe..I am in toronto.. My hus liked ‘Mathi peera’very much and he used to say why cant you prepare that…But I was not knowing how to prepare it.. so we used to buy the redimade meen peera from a kerala store here..So hope that the same process willdo for sardine also..Please do post more varity of fish peeras.

    Angela

  17. sarina alexander said

    Hello,

    thats something i’m going to try, had almost forgot about this dish.

    Will you please post the recepie for our normal fish fry also. please.

    Regards,
    Sarina

    I’ll sure post a recipe for fish fry,Sarina..I know that a kerala blog must have a fish fry..Somehow i missed it…Sorry abt it..
    Annita

  18. Elizabeth Tharakan said

    How about slicing the ginger, garlic, small onions and chillies into thin long strips instead of crushing them all into a paste. They look very attractive in the meen peera. Also when cooked and hot, if you sprinke a little paprika or bright red chilli powder and a teaspoonful of hot coconut oil, it enhances the color and flavour.

    Also substitute the kokum for raw mango slices (bigger long pieces than the ginger, etc)with the skin. It is a change.

    Thank you for sharing the recipe, Annitha. I am going to make it tomorrow for a potluck. I have all the ingredients except the fish and now I know what to do – BUY CANNED SARDINES!! Whoever thought of that.

  19. Virginia said

    Hi,

    I was looking for this recipe since a very long time.
    Thanks for posting it on ur blog…..

    Mouthwatering n amazing… !!!!!!

  20. seema sijo said

    I made this dish and was so tasty.. Thank you Anita

  21. ndinamoni said

    I tried it out and going to eat the result. :) Thank you for the recipe. It is written in very simple manner. So it is easy to follow.

  22. NRD said

    NRD…

    […]Meen Peera Pattichathu « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  23. Philip T. Samuel said

    Hi Annita,
    You normally don’t stir the fish if it is used with bones. Just lift the dish with both hands and twist it quickly a couple of times otherwise the flesh will be separated from the bones and you know it gets pretty messy. This is what my mother used to do.

Leave a comment