My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Cherupayar Stew

Posted by Annita on June 18, 2008

Finally … here i’m with my posts after a long break..thank you guys again for not losing the patience.

I’m almost settled in my new place,but haven’t started much cooking.Anyways I’ve found some recipes in my draft which i dont want to miss.These are the recipes which i’ve tried from my dear fellow bloggers.

This cherupayar stew is adapted from RP’s workshop and i must say it tasted great with puttu.Thanks RP.

Ingredients :-

Whole Moong Dal(Cherupayar) – 1/2 cup
Grated coconut -3/4 cup (You can use unsweetened coconut powder available in Indian stores)
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Cumin seeds (Jeerakam) – 1/2 tsp
Green chillies – 4 (Use it according to your spice level)
Shallots(Ulli) – 2 or 3
Oil – as needed
Salt – to taste

For popping :
Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
Curry leaves – 1 sprig
Red Chillies – 2 or 3

Method:-

Cook moong dal in a pressure cooker adding salt and just enough water, until it turns soft.Now grind together coconut,cumin seeds,green chillies and shallotsto a smooth paste.Add one cup of water and grind it again.Now extract the coconut milk using a sieve.Add this extracted coconut milk into the cooked moong dal and let it boil in a medium flame.Simmer for 2 more minutes and switch off the stove.

Now heat oil in another pan and pop mustard seeds,curry leaves and red chillies.Pour the seasonings into the curry.Mix and serve hot.

16 Responses to “Cherupayar Stew”

  1. Asha said

    Welcome back Annita, good choice of dish to make, yummy!:)

    Thank u Asha..Hope u r doing good..
    Annita

  2. Reena said

    Hi Annita,

    I want to tell you that yours is the first food blog I read through google search a couple of months back and I discovered a whole lot of wonderful kerala and non-kerala and kid recipes (which i need the most) and I discovered a whole lot of wonderful blogs from your blog roll..Lovely site you have. I have also been waiting for you to come back from vacation:). Please keep it going..U have a very nice way of writing. Lovely pics too..I am a hooked visitor of your blog for sure.

    Reena (Kuwait)

    Thank u for ur kind words Reena…Keep checking the blog often..
    Annita

  3. just like in the above msg, urs was the most constant/reliable source of recipes for me when I came to US. You isnpired me with ur creations and now I too have a blog to show-off, as a result of that!! Thanks Annita!

    You’ve got a nice blog out there..Keep it going,buddy
    Annita

  4. Lovely authentic Kerala recipe!

    Thank u and welcome to my blog
    Annita

  5. Cynthia said

    It is so good to have you back!

    Thank you Cynthia,How r u doing?
    Annita

  6. pintoo said

    Wow looks yummy. i have made this before too, but a lil diff manner. I am goin to make this way next time

    Try it out and lemme know if u’ve liked it,Pintoo
    Annita

  7. WoW, our dear Annita is back…! Welcome back sister, we all really missed you…!!! :) Let us enjoy the new delicious dishes…!!!

    Thank u,Dhanya..How r u doing?Happy to see u here now…:))
    Annita

  8. Aparna said

    This is my daughter’s favourite with puttu. She likes the kadala curry too.
    My first comment here, but have been reading your blog for sometime. Love your cakes.

    Thank u,Aparna
    Annita

  9. Neville said

    Pleased to have you back.I would be grateful if you could guide me as to how to contact Nabeela of trialsnerror as I am unable to access it as it is only by invitation. The reason I ask is that I really miss her recipes.
    Thanks in advance
    Neville
    Toronto

    I don’t have her contact id with me ,Neville..even i’m not able to access her site..
    Sorry
    Annita

  10. Jyothsna said

    Good to see you back, Annita!

    Thank u Jyotsna,How r u?
    Annita

  11. christina said

    Hi Annita,
    Just tried your recipe for dinner. Husband was wondering “what?? Puttu for dinner?” But he gobbled up two “koottis”!!! Have kept the leftover in fridge to eat with rice tomorrow.

    Thank you for trying out recipes from my blog,Christina..And do let me know your comments in future too..
    Annita

  12. saifispops said

    Very nice!!

  13. leena said

    hey nice pic. is it cherattaputtu or made in idli thattu? And you get red arippodi in your indian store? lucky you.

    It is chirattaputtu only…yes…leena..we get that here…Where do u live?
    Annita

  14. Leena said

    I live in Madison, Wisconsin. I couldnt even find vazhayila on onam here.

  15. Jamaal Behanan said

    blog here

  16. Percaya atau tidak, dimulai dengan pekerjaan yang paling sulit
    akan sangat meningkatkan efektivitas sesi belajar dan prestasi akademis Anda.

Leave a Reply

 
