My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Naadan Egg Masala

Posted by Annita on March 9, 2006

Indian Coffee House alias ICH is a restaurant chain in India founded by Kerala’s legendary communist leader AKG .ICH which was known for its strong flavoured coffee,now has 52 shops all around Kerala.There was an ICH restaurant in my college campus also,where we used to go in groups….had lotsa fun,chatting and cracking jokes…u know unforgettable campus fun.I’ve always been a great fan of ICH Egg Roast.Sometimes it’s good to get nostalgic..rt?

Egg Roast

Egg Masala goes with almost anything ,but Appam-Egg Masala combo and Porotta-Egg Masala combo are most popular ones.And now the recipe….

Ingredients:-

Boiled Eggs -2
Sliced Onions -1
Ginger-Garlic paste -1 tsp
Curry leaves -a few
Tomato sliced -1/2
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

For the Masala:-
Chilly Powder -1/2 tsp
Coriander powder -1 tbsp
Egg Masala – 2 tsp(You can use Meat masala,Vegetable masala or even Garam masala..I normally use Eastern Meat Masala which i brought from Kerala

Method:-

Heat oil in the pan and add Onion,Curry leaves and salt.Saute for few minutes and add ginger garlic paste.Saute till onions turn brown.Add the masalas and saute it again for few minutes.Add tomatoes and mix well.Heat it for 5 minutes,stirring in between.The gravy should be sauteed very well,until it is almost black in color.Add 1 cup of water and simmer for 5 more minutes.Just before switching off add boiled eggs into it and stir well.Garnish with coriander leaves and serve.

Last Sunday we had Palappam & this Egg Masala for breakfast.

27 Responses to “Naadan Egg Masala”

  1. sarah said

    gosh.. I have been looking for this recipe for zeons. I had it at a KSRTC bus station canteen with appam in 1980.. and have been serching for it since then..
    Problem is I don’t get eastern or any masala powder where I stay.. What should I add?

    I donno i somehow miss this comment…You can add a coimbination of chilly powder,coriander powder,pepper powder and garam masala powder according to ur taste Sarah..Be careful to fry it well..I mean fry fry and fry till it is quite dark in color..Sorry for the delay
    Annita

  2. renju said

    hi annita,
    i tried your egg roast recipe from your valiamma and liked it very much.i have Q for you?how do you store your store brought parsley?i tried paper towel and ziploc bag idea. it didn’t work for me.any ideas… greatly appreciated..bye

    It wont last for long renju,I usually keep it wrapped in a cloth for sometime and when it start to decay,chop it and put it in freezer in an air tight container.It will stay for long in freezer,but it’ll lose that freshness..I don’t know any other methods..Sorry about it

    Annita

    • souldipper said

      Hi from Canada – five years later! :D I keep parsley simply by leaving it whole, and sticking the whole bouquet in a short,fat container of water – in the fridge.

      You may already know this and not do it for some reason I would never think of! – Amy

  3. rashmi said

    Hi Annita,

    Well, i tried both of the egg recipes and it just is “yummy”.Thanks a ton to u.

    Wishes
    rashmi

    Thanks dear
    Annita

  4. Dani said

    Where did u study?????????

    Did my B’tech from CUSAT..Wr r u from?
    Annita

  5. Molly Mathew said

    Hi Annita
    Thank you for posting this recipe. My mom makes mutta roast in a different way and I was actually looking for something like that…Though I didnt find that, this did the needful. Thank you.
    Does your name really have 2 n’s? Which year did u pass out of Cusat?
    Brgds
    Molly

    Yeah..it has 2 ‘n’s molly..i passed out in 2000…Did u study in CUSAT too?
    Annita

  6. sony sreejith said

    realy thanks
    i was looking for a good egg curry reciepe

    Thanks Sony
    Annita

  7. LLP said

    Hi Annita,
    I am a big fan of your blog…I try to see if u’ve posted anything new, everyday…i tried this recipe…made a couple of changes in the measure of ingrediants coz I didn’t have everything the recipe required(its a saturday morning, and im outta onions!)…Inspite of that, it turned out superb….i think the trick is in ‘sauteeing the mixture till its almost black’. While I was cooking, this is wat went on in my mind like a mantra! :)
    Thanks for the tip, annita….u rock! :)

  8. leeba said

    hi anitha,

    i am having a doubt.
    can we use perumjeerakam.
    becoz recently i went 2 kerala and had egg roast, in that i got perumjeerakam?

    You can use perumjeerakam..if you wish…Its completely your choice,leeba
    Annita

  9. Anu said

    hai Annita I tried ur naadan egg roast and it was too good.Thank u for this recipe.I really like ur recipes
    Thanks

  10. Ranjeev Menon said

    I tried this recipe tonight and it has come out ok. Your recipe is good. Its just me. Somehow (as always) I manage to overboil the eggs and add chilly powder so much that the egg roast looks like a torture curry. Anyways, there is always a next time. Would you have a recipe for chicken biriyani (which ofcourse is not complicated). Thanks.

  11. gomes sunny said

    hi

    i dont make egg roast like this at all. mine is totally dry and it is polished off like anything before it comes on to the table.

  12. Deepthy said

    Thanks very much for ur recipe…my husband liked it very much

  13. ajoji said

    Hi Anitha,

    I am Angela from Adoor, Kerala.
    I found this site while searching for cooking recipes. Its a great work that you have provided such nice dishes with photos here.. I like to cook varity kerala dishes and it is very healpful for me(I have just started to do cooking as I did not like this before my marriage) I am wondering how you studied all these? took help from any cook books…? You are basucally from which place in Kerala? Thank you once again..

  14. […] i followed the recipe at https://deepann.wordpress.com/2006/03/09/naadan-egg-roast/ to make the main course – egg […]

  15. nidhi said

    lovely recipe and came out excellent! thanks a lot! but hey one doubt – why have you named the dish as egg roast when its actually egg masala??

    Actually i donno,Nidhi..My amma refers this curry by that name,so it got into my brain like that..:)) . Now i also feel it has to be called Egg Masala only…Nice suggestion…will correct that for sure…
    Annita

  16. deepam84 said

    hai annita,
    iam a big fan of u!!!:-)where r u staying??me now staying with my husband at chicago!!!ur site helped me very well in cooking!!!ur site is now like a good friend !!!thanks dear for such a site

    You can get so many malayali stuff in chicago,rt?I live in Pittsburgh..
    Thank you very much for your kind words ,do visit my blog often..:)
    Annita

  17. deepam84 said

    haiiiiiiiii,njanum oru malayali aanu!!

  18. Nisha pillai said

    Hi,

    Nice recepie, actually i was going through the blog , and someone was asking about how to preserve parsley, cilantro? well this is what i do, u can just put it in a plastic container with lid and keep it in the refrigerator or can even use used yougurt tins, pour a little water in the tin,( so that the cilantro steams absorb water and stay fresh longer, )keep the cilantro steams diped in water,(very little water) cover with its lid and keep refrigerated, u can use same method for preserving mint leaves, they stay fresh for more then 10 days.

    One more thing what i do is , if u have small pots at home , u can keep it in kitchen or where u like, and can just plant the mint steam right into the mud after u use the leaves,in 3 to 4 days new leaves start growing,this way slowly slowly u will have a pot full of your own fresh mint plant at home,and can use from there when u need just few mint leaves.

    Thank you very much Nisha..I really appreciate your effort to share this info with us..This surely is a greata help..
    Annita

  19. Priya said

    Hi, I found ur blog while i was searching for some recipes which my mom used to cook for us…and ur egg roast was perfect… i completely bowled over my sis and dad with it…the recipe brought back so many good memories for us…
    Thanx a lot…

  20. anu said

    hi Annitha
    All your recipies are awesome.Keep posting new recipies

  21. ayisha said

    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood recipes

  22. ayisha said

    annita i 2 did my btech from cusat year 2004
    could u publish the recipe for varutharacha meen curry plz

  23. sumu said

    yes annita chechi….this does BRING bck lots of memories of ICH… esp the beetroot filled masala dosas….
    hope you,deepak and mon are fine
    btw i was ur IT jr in cusat….wonderful blog… never knew that u were such a fab cook… r u working?

  24. Teena said

    Hi Annita,
    Thanks for egg roast recipe…it was so yummy and my husband loved it a lot..
    Best Wishes
    Teena
    Australia..

  25. A large percentage of of the things you assert is astonishingly legitimate and it makes me wonder why I hadn’t looked at this with this light before. This article truly did switch the light on for me personally as far as this particular issue goes. Nonetheless there is one point I am not too cozy with so whilst I make an effort to reconcile that with the actual core theme of the issue, allow me see what all the rest of your readers have to say.Very well done.

  26. This won’t be listed in a directory, need to friends and family could have a bring success a professional. This is actually the cost you’ll pay each year excluding the tip.

Leave a comment