My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Swiss Chard Thoran

Posted by Annita on February 16, 2006

Swiss chard otherwise known as chards is a close relative to beets which has big green leaves and red stems.Both the leaves and the central leaf ribs are consumed.It is rich source of vitamins and fiber.You can use it as an alternative for spinach(but it will give a bright red color.)

A bunch of SwissChard

Once I happened to buy it from Meijer ,and prepared Thoran with it.Then i noticed it tastes exactly like our Kerala Cheera(Red Spinach) thoran.And now its one of our favourite dish..infact we are not even missing the red cheera which we get in Kerala. You can find it in any grocery stores in vegetable section ,it’ll be kept near spinach.

Just try it and let me know how it is….

Ingredients:-

Chopped Swiss chard

1 bunch of Swiss Chard chopped finely
Grated Coconut – 1/2 cup
Chopped Garlic – 2 flakes
Chopped Green Chillies -2 or 3
Chopped Pearl Onion(Kunjulli) -4(You can also use onions ..eventhough Kunjulli tastes better)
Turmeric Powder -1/2 tsp
Mustard Seeds -1 tsp
Urad dal -1/2 tsp
Jeera -1/2 tsp
Curry leaves -1/2 tsp

Method:-

Mix together grated coconut,green chillies,turmeric powder,chopped onions & salt.Add chopped swiss chard into the mixture and mix well with hand.
Heat oil in a pan ,add mustard seeds to splutter.Then add Jeera,curry leaves and urad dal.When urad dal turns light brown add swiss chad into it and mix well.Simmer for 10 minutes.Cover it with lid and remember not to add water.But be sure to check in between ,otherwise it may stick to the bottom.Cooking without adding water is one way of healthy cooking.My amma used to cover the cooking pan with a plate or lid which contains some water.While cooking ,due to the moisture water droplets will form under the lid and will drip into the pan .This way you can prevent food from sticking to the bottom.Not only healthy,this type of cooking increases the taste tooo….:))You can use beetroot leaves also to cook this recipe.

Swiss Chard Thoran

P.S:-Instead of coconut powder i’ve used coconut flakes here.

9 Responses to “Swiss Chard Thoran”

  1. Rg said

    Hey! Wonderful presentation. Nice work!

    I'ven't tried swiss chard for thoran…I'll sure try it out and then comment further…When is the chopped garlic added….is it along with chopped onions or is it sauted after urad dal turns brown….no big deal but still could u lemme know…

    thanks
    Rg.

    You can add it just after popping urad dal..And if you like the raw garlic flavour,don't fry it too much…

    Try it out Rg,it gives almost same taste as our Naadan Cheera Thoran.

    Annita

  2. SA said

    Annita,

    I tried your Swiss Chard Thoran. The only changes I made was to use some boiled black eyed beans to it at the end. Turned out really yummy and was an amazing combination to KaraKozhumbu.

    You have a great collection of recipes!! I am also planning to try out your vegetable stew to go with appam.

    -SA

    Really happy to know that it turned out well for u,SA.Let me know how the stew turned out for u.

    Thanks for dropping by

    Annita 

  3. jisha said

    i tried this one.it turned out very good.now everyweek i buy a bunch of it.thanks

  4. shahanas said

    hi anita
    nice job.i tried this recipe and it is really good.i have a question which rice r u using to prepare rice like egg mushroom rice.pls let me know

    I use sona masoori or basmati rice
    Annita

  5. adiya said

    HI,
    i CANT FIND WORDS FOR U??I READ THRU UR RECIPIES N REALLY AM AMAZED AT UR SKILLS AS A COOK N ARTIST..???U R RICH BY TALENT…
    I AM NOT A BLOGGER..I DONT KNOW HOW TO DO IT EITHER… BUT AFTER SEEIN U ALL FEEL I CAN TRY.. BUT RIGHT KNOW AM BUSY WITH MY 10 MONTH OLD TWINS.. BUT ANNI… AMOG ALL THE SITES I WENT TRUST..U R THE BEST… I MEAN IT.. ANYWAY ALL COMMENTS SAY SO…..
    BE BLESSED
    THANKS N KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK… WHT U HAVE STARTED LET NEVER END….ITS TAKES HEART TO SHARE.

  6. liz said

    Hi Annita,

    I tried this today. You are right – it tastes so much like red cheera. This is going to be a regular item on my grocery list now..

    It helps that it is easier to wash and clean than spinach ;)

    Yeah…its a regular at my home too..:)
    Annita

  7. This blog is awesome. I’ve encouraged my wife to do something similar. Thank you for sharing all these recipes. God bless you.

  8. sherry said

    Thank you dear for this marvellous recipe. You’re right.. we will never miss red cheera. :) My hubby enjoyed it a lot also. Do you have any 5pm snacks like w/chicken i can make , like in a tortilla wrap or something:) ? Thank you.. :)

  9. Ritu said

    Amazing recipe Annita, tried it today and the aroma, the flavor has totally caught us on. Above all, so easy to make, 15 min and a healthy green veggie dish is there!! Thank you very much for sharing…

    Ritu

Leave a comment