My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Chilly Fish

Posted by Annita on September 26, 2006

Last weekend some of our friends came over all the way from Colombus.I knew how they all loved fish and so prepared this chilly fish and shrimp fried rice to go along with it.The recipe is from Mrs.K.M Mathew’s Malayala Pachakam.

Chilly Fish
Chilly Fish

I’ve used King fish here,but you can use any fish of your choice.

Here’s the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Fish pieces – 1 kg
(If you are using whole fish,clean it and make some slits over it.This will help the masalas to penetrate inside)

Red Chillies – 6
Chopped Onion – 2 cup
Chopped Garlic – 1/2 cup
Grated Ginger – 1 tsp
Chilly powder – 1 tsp
Finely chopped Tomato – 1/2 cup
Tomato Ketchup – 1/4 cup

1 cup of Fish Broth(Soup prepared by cooking some fish pieces adding salt and water)
(I ‘ve just used water instead of fish broth)
Vinegar – 1 tsp
Ajinomotto – 1/4 tsp(Optional-not recommended for regular use)
Corn flour – 1/2 tsp

Capsicum diced – 1/2 cup
Chopped Celery – 2 tsp
Chopped Spring Onion Greens – for garnishing
Salt – to taste
Peanut Oil- as needed

For Marinate:-

Soya Sauce – 3 tsp
Chilly POwder – 2 tsp
Pepper powder – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste

Prepare a marinate by mixing all these together.

Method:-

Apply the marinate on the fish pieces and allow it to stand for 2 hrs preferrably in a refrigerator.Then deep fry it in Peanut oil.( I didn’t have peanut oil,and so i used vegetable oil itself).
Heat little oil in another pan and fry the red chillies till brown.Remove them from pan,and pound them to a coarse powder. Keep it aside.In the remaining oil,add onion,ginger and garlic and saute them until onion turn translucent.Now add chilly powder,chopped tomato and ketchup and saute them till oil starts to seperate.Mix fish broth,vineger,corn flour, ajinomotto and salt together and pour the mixture into the sauteed masala.Allow it to boil for a while,and when the gravy starts to thicken throw in capsicum and celery.Simmer for 2-3 minutes.Now add the reserved red chilly powder ,and mix it well.

Arrange the fish pieces neatly in a serving powl.Pour the prepared sauce over it.Garnish with spring onion greens and serve hot.

Chilly Fish served with Fried Rice
Chilly Fish served with Fried Rice

23 Responses to “Chilly Fish”

  1. Priya S&S said

    Nice recipe for chilli fish Anita ! Would this make a good accompaniment for chinese fried rice ?

    Thanks Priya.And it does make a good accompaniment with fried rice.I love the combo anyway…:)
    Annita

  2. Asha said

    Loove fried rice!! Chilli Fish looks perfect!! Good pics!! Thanks Annita!!

    Many thanks Asha.And I’ve tried your Masala Baingan.It was soo good and i’ll be posting the photos soon..
    Annita

  3. Jyothsna said

    Good recipe…… but how do you make the fried rice? Like Chinese fried rice? Do you have to saute the shrimps before adding it to the rice? Is it ok to use cleaned, frozen shrimps for this?
    Jyothsna.

    Yes..Jyotsna..I prepared it like Chineese fried rice only..As you said,saute onion first ,then add cooked shrimps , saute it for a while,then veggies ,sauces and finally the rice.I’ve used frozen cooked shrimp for this.Hope this helps..
    Annita

  4. RP said

    Sounds like a chinese dish.
    I have never tried fish with fried rice. This chilli fish seems to be a great combo for fried rice.

    Yes RP..It goes well with fried rice..Do try this combo sometime..
    Annita

  5. sarah said

    I was a bit miserable today and I needed to eat..something that I am familiar..( my only way to cope with stress is to eat, something I like.).. I have so far visited all my regular food blogs searching for something too cook and when i saw the title in your blog.. All I could say was bingo… U hv no idea..how much u hv helped me. Thanks
    Sarah

    Many many thanks Sarah.I’m also really happy to see your comment in my blog.Pls let me know whether you’ve liked it or not.
    Annita

  6. Anupama said

    Delicious Recipe and tantalising Pictures.

    Thanks dear.
    Annita

  7. Jasu said

    Last week we went out for fishing and we caught some nice king fishes. See My Fishing. I tried your fish pickle and chilly fish recipe. It came out great. Your recipe is highly recommeded.

    Really happy to knew that it turned out well for you Jasu.And many thanks for letting me know about it.
    Annita

  8. Annita,
    Did you happen to buy the book when you visited India? Where do you typically find Mrs.K.M. Mathew’s cookbooks back home? Thanks.

    Yeah Rajalekshmy.I got it from Kerala only.I don’t remember the exact place from wher i bought it.But I think you can get it in any book stores.
    Annita

  9. shaheen said

    chili fish is so good. thanks. i normally orderthis when i go indo chinese.does the king fish turn hard in the dish later?

    No Shaheen,it won’t turn hard.It actually turns soft,when the hot gravy is poured over it.
    Annita

  10. Ananth said

    We were the lucky guests who she made this for. :) We all loved it. Thanks Annoose. Now aunty is a fan of your website too.

  11. Suni said

    Are you getting this deep brown colour only by using 3 tsp. soya sauce. (when ever i tried i get only very light brown colour. i.e not attractive).

    Your works are appreciatable

    I just followed the recipe,Suni.I din’t add anything other than that..the color may be bcoz of my chilli powder only.

    And many thanks for letting me know how it turned out for u..

    Annita 

  12. reshmi said

    hi annitha,
    it looks so good.i will try this and let you know the outcome.by the way can we make chilly chicken by just replacing fish with chicken?

  13. Ayrin said

    Hey annita
    I had tried this recipe of yours it turned out really good.. thank u for such a good recipe..
    ayrin

  14. sandrar said

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  15. Sign: gfndc Hello!!! wgeku and 9079xstsfthcgt and 8060 : Sorry, what did you mean?? A??

  16. mithu said

    The recipe was was really good and the got disappeared very quickly

  17. mithu said

    The recipe was was really good and the dish got disappeared very quickly

  18. Marko said

    Just wanted to thank you for posting this recipe. My wife and I tried this the other day, and it came out really well. For the most part, we followed your instructions, but we made the following changes:
    1. We didn’t use ajinomotto and corn flour
    2. Like you, we used vegetable oil instead of peanut oil
    2. We made the fish broth by boiling a couple of fish pieces in water and salt, and then mincing the boiled pieces into bits with a spoon. I don’t know if this step is necessary since you were successful despite skipping this step.

    We’re planning to try the same recipe with shrimp instead of fish, and will post our results here.

  19. Deepa Sudhir said

    Hi Anita,
    Not sure whether u remember me… I was there with u in CUSAT(CS). Hope ur family is doing great!
    Went through the recipe… Have a doubt… For the marination, i have seen people adding conflour, maida and soya sauce… Do u think this would give a new look to the recipe?

  20. Hello, this is really a actually fascinating Internet weblog and ive loved reading various in the content articles and posts contained upon the site, maintain the good operate and hope to examine a whole lot more thrilling articles or blog posts within the time to arrive.

  21. Jen Das said

    I’ve used this recipe at least 4 times. It’s a keeper and we do not have it with fried rice but I am going to try that next time. We usually just have basmati (and I know jasmine would be better but dh loves basmati!). Thanks so much. I am going to check out other recipes as well. Can always use new ideas!
    Jen Das

  22. Lakshmy Ranjith said

    Hi Anitha,

    From one of my friends I came to know about your blog. I tried your chilli fish recipe. It came well. It is a very tastey recipe, suits with plain rice too….I am planning to try this recipe with fried rice.Thank you Anitha for the recipe.

    I am sure that while searching for new recipes I will hit your blog first……

    Lakshmy

  23. Pooja said

    hi anita
    am pooja instead of viniger can we use lemmon? and cerely chopped if i cudnt get cn i use cerely powder?

Leave a comment