My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Fish biriyani

Posted by Annita on March 22, 2007

No,I’m not done with blogging and am very much alive here.I’ve been a little busy as my amma is also here with us now,i’m not doing much of cooking nowadays other than just helping her and taking the photos of the dishes that she cooks.
But i prepared this Fish Biriyani from Rp’S workshop on my amma’s birthday,and she was very much impressed by my cullinary skills.This was something which she hasn’t made yet,thanks dear RP for this simple and tasty dish.All the credit goes to you only.I didn’t get King Fish this time and so i used Perch Fillets,and I must say it tasted great.I can’t wait to try this with King fish again.

Fish Biriyani

Here’s the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Fish fillets cut into small pieces – 1 and 1/2 pounds
Basmati Rice – 2 cups
Cinnamon (Karuva patta)- 1 inch piece
Cloves (Grambu)- 6
Cardamom (Elakka)- 4
Bay leaves (Karuva Ila) – 2

Chopped Onions – 3
Tomatoes chopped – 2
Grated Ginger – 4 tsp
Grated Gralic – 4 tsp
Green Chillies chopped – 6
Poppy seeds(Khus Khus) – 1 tbsp
Fennel seeds (Perumjeerakam)- 1/2 tsp
Cashewnuts – one handful
Raisins(Unakka munthiri) – 2 tbsp
Coriander powder – 3 tsp
Kashmiri Chilly powder/Paprika(Piriyan Mulaku podi) – 1 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Yogurt – 3/4 cup
Garam Masala powder- 1 tsp
Cilantro chopped(Malli Ila)– 1/2 cup
Mint leaves chopped(Pothina Ila)- 1/3 cup
Salt – to taste
Oil/ghee – as needed

For the marinade :

Kasmiri Chilly powder/Paprika – 1 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Pepper powder – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste

Make a smooth paste with all the ingredients for the marinade adding little water and keep it aside.

Method:-

Add 1 tbsp lime juice to 2 cups of water and immerse the fish pieces in it for about 10 minutes,to reduce that fishy smell.Then take it out of the water and pat dry with tissue.Gently marinate the fish pieces in the prepared marinade for 30 minutes.

Powder the poppy seeds and fennel seeds in a coffee grinder or in a mortar-pestle.

Clean and soak the rice for 20 minutes and drain.Heat little ghee in a pan and lightly fry the rice ,cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and bay leaves for few minutes.Then add 3 and 3/4 cup of water,salt and 1 tbsp lime juice and allow it to cook on a medium heat.When it is cooked well,spread it on a flat surface.

Heat oil/ghee in a big pan and fry the cashewnuts and raisins,remove it and keep it aside.Now add the marinated fish pieces and shallow fry it until they turn brown and crispy.Add more oil if needed and fry the chopped onion until translucent,then add ginger,garlic and green chillies and saute it for 5-6 minutes.Add in coriander powder,turmeric powder, kashmiri chilly powder and the ground poppy seed-fennel seed mixture and fry for a while.Mix in yogurt and saute it until oil seperates.Add garam masala powder and salt,stir and add chopped tomatoes.Cook until tomatoes turn soft,and add fried fish pieces.Mix well and cook for 20-30 minutes in low heat,stirring in between.Finally add chopped coriander and mint leaves ,cook for 5 more minutes and remove from heat.

Preheat the oven to 300 degree.In a big flat oven proof container,spread half of the fish masala.Now add a layer of the rice.Again make a second layer with fish masala,and then rice.Top it with the fried cashews and raisins.Cover it with aluminium foil and bake for 20 minutes.Switch off the heat after 20 minutes and allow the biriyani to rest in the oven for another 30 minutes.Serve it with raita,pappadam and pickle.

Fish Biriyani

Note :-If you have a pizza stone,you can keep the container on it,which is kept in the center of the oven.

Recipe courtesy : RP’s Workshop

32 Responses to “Fish biriyani”

  1. RP said

    Hi Annita! Can you see me? Look up, I’m right here in the sky! You are so sweet. But I envy you for that uppumanga. :) Regards to your amma.

    Thanks for that lovely recipe,RP..Amma athu kandu wonder adichu poyi..”Ival ithokkey evidennu padichennu vicharichu kaanum…” hehe…
    Annita

  2. jisha said

    annita..

    regards to ur amma.u must be enjoying her dishes now..alle.U are lucky to have her here.

    Yeah definitely..i’m just sitting and enjoying her dishes…
    Annita

  3. Rg said

    I tried Rp’s wonderful recipe of fish biryani also few months back but I messed up somewhere…. Beautiful and clear recipe from start to finish undengilum, kai-punyavum vennam…. ennikyu adhilla. I guess you’ve that kai punyam. Good for you. I’m gonna give it a try again….probably it might work for me the second time… I loooovvvve biryanis too.

    Lucky you! Amma is with you and you’re enjoying her recipes…..hmmm… I wish my mom was here too….Anyways, do convey my regards to her. Enjoy Annita!

    But she’ll be going back in April,Rg…She was with us for only 2 months…:((
    Annita

  4. newbie said

    Hi ,

    i was worried for cooking a dinner to my clients . Now probably after seeing this web page, im not. :)

    thanks a lot

    Many thanks to u too,Newbie…Welcoem to my blog..and do visit me often
    Annita

  5. padma said

    woh!!!! its very good. thanks a lot for this information

  6. suja said

    Hi,
    This recipe seems yummy :-).I have made salmon biriyani from pachakam.com..It was good.will try yours too…Pinne when I made biriyani, I cut the salmon into small pieces and baked it (400 F 20 mins).I try to avoid frying because of health reasons.And it turned really good…Later I baked mathi and it was also good..Naatil mathi porikkunna pole ..But no oil.. :-D.Thought of sharing this with you.

    Anyways I will try your biryani too..You are really gr8 annita .. You presentations are really a feast for me.

  7. shahanas said

    hi how r u?pls let me know how much time it will take to cook the basmati rice,because i used to prepare this biriyani but always the rice gets over cooked.pls help

    Hi Shahnas,

    I dont remember the exact time,but i think it’ll be done within 10 mts.Just switch off the heat before rice get cooked completely,Drain the excess water and spread it on a plate.Or else you can use the left over rice kept in refrigerator for a night.Hope this helps.
    Annita

  8. shazeeya said

    realy it was very tasty..i tryd it several time in several ways,,thaNKS ALOT FOR THIS RECIPE,,

    SHAZEEYA.

  9. Riya said

    Hi…..
    I came acrs ur site while searching for fish biriyani,my 1st attempt & evry1 liked it.I only had doubt either 2 add coconut milk or not.. Nwadays I used 2 visit ur site bcz Im sitting n hom.Thanx alot.,

  10. roopa said

    Hi Annita, just one question, I want to try making it with shrimp, do you know whether shrimp and prawns taste the same? I havent tried shrimp yet and I am almost finding it impossible to find prawns in my area here in US :( I loved those tiger prawns pickle we get in Kerala , yumm,…missing that, can you post a prawns or shrimp pickle like the ones we get in india?? plss

  11. nazrina said

    briyani fish powder bought from the market
    ghee about 4 tablespoons
    curd about 4 tablespoons
    grinded onion paste and garlic paste about 4 tablespoon

  12. Mnkomal said

    I tried this recipe for dinner tonite and it came out yummy. It’s kind of spicy because of the green chillies but I lovr it….it’s perfect. Thank you so much for sharing it :-)

  13. Sarina said

    Hi Annita,

    i’m a regular visitor of your webpage and all of your receipes have come our really well. i’m so grateful to you for putting up such a useful blog.

    i wanted to make prawn biriyani for a long time. do you think i substitute the fish with prawns?

    Regards,
    Sarina

    I haven’t tried it that way…It should work i think…
    Or else you can try RP’s biriyani ..Here’s the link
    http://myworksh0p.blogspot.com/2008/01/chemmeenprawn-biriyani.html
    Annita

  14. sarina alexander said

    Annita,

    thank you so much.

    I have always loved fish molle. but have no clue how to make it. would you please post the recepie for the same. i have tried most of your dishes and its come out really great so i have full confidence and thus did not take it from any other weblinks :)

    Regards,
    Sarina

    Will try to post that too,Sarina..
    Annita

  15. Zeb said

    Hi annita, tried this out ystrdy and it turned out to b one of the best fish biryanis i’ve ever had…thanx for a keeper recipe.

  16. Mahima said

    Hi Annitta..

    Couple of questions..

    How much fish masala is required for spreading while baking ? and do you use fish masala while cooking the fish too , or its used just while baking ?

    And can i use Salmon ? (I see king fish in every recipe, but its not available here I think..)

    Really looking forward to try out this recipe :)

    Thanks,
    mahima

  17. Meena said

    Hi Annitta,

    Tried this today with Tilapia filet and it came out A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I couldn’t help keeping my hands off this biriyani. The best recipe for Fish Biriyani in the internet ever. Thank u…thank u…thank u. You made my (and my husband’s) day today!!!

    Meena

  18. Devi Padikkal said

    Hi Annitta ,
    I am a fan of this recipie…,my hubby and even my 4yr old freaks out this …!Had been to india and made it for my mom and amma was suprised ,ninekku innekane okke undakan ariyo..,thanks to you and RP for this.
    Devi

  19. bimil said

    hey anita loved it it really came out delicious. my hubby loved it, will be making it dis weekend to with prawn

    thanks bimi

  20. sangeetha said

    hi annitta,

    great recipe. came out so very well. thank u so much for posting.
    very light on the stomach too and so healthy.

    thank u very much
    lots of luv
    sangeetha

  21. Mahendra said

    Really good receipe… Thanks a lot of your information :)

  22. Jo said

    Thank u so much for your recipe. It turned out so well when tried….All credit goes to u:-)

  23. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting .

  24. vegetarian stuffed mushrooms recipe…

    […]Fish biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  25. recipes free…

    […]Fish biriyani « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  26. CP said

    Hi Annita,

    I love your fish pickle recipe. I’ve got great reviews about it, Thanks to you! I am going to try your Fish Biriyani recipe in two days. We are having guests for Dinner on Thanksgiving day. I have one question though, How many servings would your recipe give us? We are 6 adults and 3 kids ( 4-6 year old). Just trying to plan my menu. :-))
    Thanks…
    CP

  27. I never had a fish biryani before…this looks very delicious….I am sure it tastes yummy! nice job!

  28. Truly no matter if someone doesn’t understand after that its
    up to other people that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  29. I think everything posted made a great deal of sense. But, think about this, what if you added a
    little content? I am not saying your information is not good., but suppose you added something that
    makes people want more? I mean Fish biriyani ź My TreasureůMy Pleasure is a little plain. You might glance at Yahoo’s front page
    and see how they create article titles to grab people interested.
    You might try adding a video or a pic or two to get readers excited about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could make your website a little livelier.

  30. Buy Xanax bars online no prescription

    Fish biriyani ┬ź My Treasure┬ůMy Pleasure

  31. Hey I am so thrilled I found your website, I
    really found you by error, while I was searching on Bing for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I donÔÇÖt have time to read through it all at the minute but I
    have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up
    the great jo.

  32. Birka├ž site ara┼čt─▒rd─▒ktan sonra bu konuyu buldum ├žok te┼čekk├╝rler

Leave a Reply

 
