My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Spicy Liver Fry

Posted by Annita on July 10, 2008

This is a very simple,yet spicy preparation that goes well with plain rice.

Here goes my recipe….

Ingredients :-

Chicken/Mutton/Calf Liver – 1 pound
Shallots sliced (Ulli)- 10
Ginger chopped – 1 inch piece
Garlic chopped – 2 big cloves
Curry leaves – a sprig
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Red Chilly powder – 1 tbsp
Coriander powder – 2 tbsp
Cumin powder – 1/4 tsp
Garam Masala powder – 1 tsp
Crushed pepper – 1 tsp
Vinegar – 1 tsp or to taste
Salt – to taste
Coconut Oil /Ghee- as needed

Method :-

Prepare a marinade by mixing together turmeric powder,chilly powder,coriander powder,garam masala powder,cumin powder,salt and vinegar.Marinate the liver pieces using this for 1/2 an hr preferrably in a refrigerator.Then add little water(may be less than 1/4 cup) into it and cook in a medium heat keeping the lid closed.You’ve to be very careful while adding water,as too much water can make the liver hard.

Now heat oil in a pan,add shallots and fry for a while.Then add ginger,garlic and curry leaves and stir for few minutes.Add cooked liver into it and fry until dry.Finally add crushed pepper,simmer for 2-3 minutes and switch off the stove.Serve hot with plain rice.


24 Responses to “Spicy Liver Fry”

  1. reena said

    Hi Anitha,

    I have tried appam, Kerala chicken curry, chicken biriyani and chicken varattiyathu. All of them came out really well and everyone in my family liked them very much. Next I am going to try Liver fry.

    Thank you Reena…
    Waiting to hear from you..
    Annita

    • Nithin said

      Ok,I dont think this is the right way to cook liver, gharam masala powder and red chilli powder is not required while preparing mutton liver varattiyath.

      I have better recipe.

      500 grams mutton, 1 cup curd, 1 teaspoon ginger paste, 1 teaspoon coriander powder, ½ teaspoon black pepper powder, 6 cloves, 2 teaspoon red chilly powder, ½ cup ghee(clarified butter) and salt to taste.
      How to prepare:
      Take a blender and add the coriander powder, pepper powder, red chilly powder, cloves, ginger paste and make a fine paste. If required add a teaspoon of water. Now wash the meat well and then cut it into small pieces. Take a big bowl and put the mutton pieces in it. Then pour the curd over it. Next add the freshly ground masala and mix it all up together. Now let it marinate for five hours at least. Take a baking tray and smear a little ghee all over it. Put the mutton pieces along with the marinade in the tray. Now bake the mutton in a pre-heated oven for an hour at 200 degrees C. Remove from the tray and serve hot.

  2. Hi Anitta,

    We are going to make spicy liver fry today, and i am sure it will be another tasty dish with rice. Thanks a lot.

    Don’t forget to let me know abt it,ok…:))
    Annita

  3. it looks delicious, annita. liver is not my thing, but I am sure my husband would like it a lot!! :-)

    Try it out once for ur hubby…:))
    Annita

  4. teena said

    Hey Annita,

    The liver fry looks delicious…
    My mother was surprised at my improved enthusiasm at cooking on her visit here.I tried so many of your recipes and I am enjoying cooking.I am very fussy when it comes to eating and cooking.I like to get the right taste….somehow I got what I needed from your site..

    Thank you Teena…I’m excited to hear this…:))
    Do visit me often…
    Annita

  5. Cynthia said

    Oh yes, this is great with rice and some pickle.

  6. Meena said

    Hi Annita,
    today ‘m going to try this spicy liver fry.. me already tried vattayappam. And on demand i’d to made it 3 days continuosly. Thnx
    I am sure next ‘m going to surprise amma by making this spicy item..

    wow…very nice to hear that…Meena..
    Try out the liver fry too and pls let me know your comments…
    Annita

  7. asha mathew said

    hi anitha chechi

    when to add the cumin powder?

    Thank you for pointing this out,Asha..It has to be added while preparing the marinade.I’ve corrected that in the post.Sorry for the confusion.
    Annita

  8. nazreena said

    one kg of liver boiled it in a pot with ginger and onion and garlic paste with some lime juice and a pinch of salt and chopped down pandan. rub pepper powder and chilly powder and chilly flakes and tumeric powder and garam masala and ginger paste .lit the pot with some oil and green chillly pste and chopped onions stir fry for 15 mins and drain off the water from the pot and marinate the liver with all the above masalas and let it soak for 30min then add in chilly powder 5 tablespoons and mx it well usin two laddls after that add in a pinch of saltand turn off stove

  9. Ivar said

    I tried the Spice liver Fry last night. It was good. A simple and tasty recipe indeed!

  10. harland checks

  11. Im going nuts this evening.

  12. Thanks for that blog,nice article.

  13. VavAbV Good post.

  14. shan said

    Chicken liver fry….hmmm going to try today..hope my wife(vichu)will love it…

  15. Best Streaming Performance…

    […]Spicy Liver Fry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  16. mobile recipes…

    […]Spicy Liver Fry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  17. anna rivas said

    anna rivas…

    […]Spicy Liver Fry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  18. Joyce said

    Tried and tested, came out well! Very tasty.

    Thanks,

    Joe

  19. mexican rice…

    […]Spicy Liver Fry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  20. Thanks for the procedure Anita. I gonna try this today. But I have a question. Vinegar is a mandatory or it’s an optional coz I just hate vinegar. donno why..

  21. trader joes gluten free bread

  22. whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your articles. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are hunting around for this info, you can help them greatly.

  23. I will try to get the dangle of it!

Leave a comment