My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Thick Coconut Chutney

Posted by Annita on October 23, 2006

Uzhunnu Vada

Here’s the recipe for thick coconut chutney ,which is usually served with UzhunnuVada.

Ingredients:-

Peanuts – 5
Grated Coconut – 1 cup
Chopped Ginger – 1/2 tsp
Green chillies – 3
Salt – to taste

For popping:-
Oil – as needed
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Red chillies – 3
Curry leaves – a few
Chopped shallots – 1

Method:-

Grind together peanuts,grated coconut,chillies,ginger and salt adding little water into a smooth thick paste.Transfer it into a serving bowl and keep it aside.Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Now add red chillies,curry leaves and shallots until brown.Pour the seasoning over the ground mixture .Mix`well and serve.

2 Responses to “Thick Coconut Chutney”

  1. Geena said

    yummy vada and chutney. nice pictures too. I Have to try the chutney.
    Annita, I like your blog and I am a frequent visitor.

    Thanks a lot,geena.Do visit me often
    Annita

  2. priya santhosh said

    anitha
    one doubt is it raw or roasted peanuts u used for the chutney.pl send some easy recipies of cookies nd one more recipie of the famous vattayappam.

    I use raw peanuts only,Priya…I’ll try to post a Vattayappam recipe as soon as possible..
    Annita

Leave a comment