My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Eggplant Curry

Posted by Annita on October 18, 2006

Here’s another Eggplant deliccacy created by dear RP ,its a variation from Saffronhut’s Dahiwala Baingan.I had it with Shaheen’s Triangular Paratha,and it tasted great.My husband too loved it and so i’ll be trying it out again for sure..Thanks RP,for sharing this recipe with us.

Triangular Paratha

And now the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Eggplant sliced – 1 big
Ginger-Garlic paste – 2 tbsp
Chopped Onion – 1
Sliced Green chillies – 3
Chopped Tomato – 1
Chilly POwder – 1/2 tsp
Turmeric Powder – 1/4 tsp
Oil – as needed
Salt – to taste

For Popping:-

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Curry leaves – 1 sprig
Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp

Method:-
Marinate eggplant slices in ginger-garlic paste and salt mixture,for around 30 minutes.Gently squeeze the water from the eggplant slices and shallow fry or broil it until light brown.

Fried Eggplant
Shallow fried Eggplant slices

Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds and cumin seeds to splutter.Add in curry leaves,onion and green chillies and saute until onion turns brown.Now add chilly powder and turmeric powder and stir well.Throw in tomatoes and fry it well for few minutes.Add 1/2 a cup of water and allow it to boil.Now add broiled eggplant slices,mix it well and boil again.

Brinjal curry
Eggplant Curry

Switch off the heat and serve it with roti/rice.

8 Responses to “Eggplant Curry”

  1. RP said

    Wow! Annita, I am delighted to see that you have made it and liked it. Thanks you for letting me know. I have tried shaheen’s layered roti too. I was thinking to include it in my next cooking from the blogs series.

    My husband liked the dish a lot,RP..Thanks for the recipe.

    Annita 

  2. Raji said

    Hello-
    I tried out the egg plant dish and it came out excellent! Thanks for such a wonderful dish!

    BTW Annita- I have to admit, I really really admire your enthusiasm and cooking skills!
    I find it difficult to cook, leave alone blogging about cooking!
    Thanks for sharing great recipes. I will have to try out more of these.
    Thanks again,
    Raji

    Thanks a lot for these kind word,Raji.And happy to hear that the dish vame good for u.

    Annita 

  3. aparna said

    This egg plant dish is very excellent!
    I am so much happy to do this.

    Thank you

    Thank you Aparna

    Annita 

  4. Neenu said

    hi annita,

    yesterday i tried ur Eggplant curry and it was nice. My hubby liked it very much. Thanks for such a wonderful dish.

    Thanks Neenu
    Annita

  5. Lavina said

    Waaw look at the color of curry it is so tempting.. i am planning to prepare this dish today.. good work Annita

  6. Air your thoughts at Vibe X…

    […]Eggplant Curry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  7. […] Recipe taken from the Annita´s website. […]

  8. urmi said

    subhanAllah! I searched for eggplant curry on net today…everything is coming ‘bengan ki vorta’ type..i just wanted something spicy curry type, find yours, tried…it was so tasteful alhamdulillah….:)

Leave a comment