My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Pazham Pori(Plantain Fry)

Posted by Annita on March 2, 2006

Plantains(Ethakka) are very common in South India.Plantains when ripened (almost black in color)are very sweet and can be eaten raw.Steam cooked ripened plantain can be given to infants.Green plantains are often used as a vegetable and are used in cooking.Plantain chips which is a popular Keralite snack is made from green unripened plantains.The plantain is normally eaten as a starchy staple food.It is rich in carbohydrate and potasium.
Plantain fry is made using well ripened plantain.It is very hard for us to find such sweet plantains in U.S.So I normally buy the most ripened(almost yellow in color) ones and keep it in a warm place,preferably inside oven for 3-4 days.When the color has turned almost black,you can use it for any sweet dishes or you can eat raw.
The plantains what we are getting here are not that sweet as we get in Kerala.So i used to add more sugar to the dough to compensate the natural sweetness of the plantain.
Plantain fry or Pazham Pori or Ethakka Appam is a very very popular snack in Kerala.Thinking about the Pazham Pori (especially the ones you get in train )itself is mouth watering.
Here goes Lil’ Milan’ Choice of Pazham Pori recipe….

Ingredients:-
Ripened Plantain -1
Maida(All Purpose Flour) – 1 cup
Sugar -2 tsp(Depends on the sweetness of plantain)
Egg -1 (Optional)I used to add egg when i prepare this for my kid.
Milk- 2 tsp
Baking powder -a pinch(Optional)
Salt -a pinch(just to adjust the sweetness)
Oil- for deep frying

Method:-
Prepare a dough with all the ingredients except the plantain.The consistency should be like Idli batter. Cut the plantain into 3 equal portions and slice each portion again into 3.

Ingredients
Plantain slices

Dip the plantain slices in the batter and deep fry till light brown.
Serve hot .

Pazham pori ready to serve

14 Responses to “Pazham Pori(Plantain Fry)”

  1. Hey I am visiting your blog for the first time. Good to see kerala recipes. I am fond of kerala recipes and my fav is pazham pori. Thanks for sharing this recipe:)

  2. Bindu said

    Hey Annita..

    when you mentioned the Train Pazham Poris, my mouth watered too. I love those:) Nice to hear someone else shares my kinda interests too:)) I never tried making them because I always thought it would taste only good with Nendrappazham of kerala. But I will try it with the ones you get here in U.S. Thanks a bunch for sharing this recipe.

    It wont be as good as we get in our home,Bindu..but its ok..Where are u in kerala?

    Annita 

  3. bindu said

    thankyou for responding to my queries Annita. Well, I was born in Calicut but my parents are from Thrissur. So basically our family is from Thrissur. But my upbringing was in Delhi mostly. Schooling and everything. But every year during summer vacations we all used to go to Thrissur to be with our grandparents. So am attached to that place as well. After marriage I moved to California. Been here for 6 years now.

    Ooh..its been a long time u’ve been in States,huh? I hails from Kochi ,somewhat close to Thrissur.And I love that Thrissur accent

    Annita 

  4. lakshmy said

    Hi Anitta,
    Did you use the banana that we get in US grocery stores?
    lakshmy

    Yes lakshmi,I use locally available bananas only..No other choice for us…
    Annita

  5. MK said

    Hi Annita,
    I stumbled across your site tody from one of the other blogs. You have a good collection of recipes here.
    I just made Pazham Pori following your recipe . It came out really well. Thanks for the recipe!

    Thank you very much for letting me know about it,MK.Do visit my blog again ..
    Annita

  6. […] then, when your wife needs oil to make Pazham-Pori (Banana-Fry) or to fry Pappadams for Lunch, ask her to take some oil from the can. Later, when your […]

  7. lj said

    You forgot to add enough water.

  8. priya said

    can i use atta/wheat flour for this banana fry?

    I donno how it’ll work.it’ll surely alters the taste..may be you can just try and see…
    Annita

  9. phalampharanth antu izhe-izhe iyyarkallai vadillEy. Kanchiyarvillam endu amlaa-puraa kaNttavari thambillam bhainchu. Sooriyar-vadi kentvareeman intaari opoaru maaduh-muddali. Mazhakkariyal inGkus
    boarupinGkkal ayyazhithazh-ithezhikallam. Thiramburam, nadilla-kaadilla ghay’n rammippirru
    pirruchithaaram, nadilla. Azhzha-vaachuthiranul- nEnirranub.

  10. phalampharanth antu izhe-izhe iyyarkallai vadillEy. Kanchiyarvillam endu amlaa-puraa kaNttavari thambillam bhainchu. Sooriyar-vadi kentvareeman intaari opoaru maaduh-muddali. Mazhakkariyal inGkus
    boarupinGkkal ayyazhithazh-ithezhikallam. Thiramburam, nadilla-kaadilla ghay’n rammippirru
    pirruchithaaram, nadilla. Azhzha-vaachuthiranul- nEnirranub. Theyyriyyathoothinkkal-keyya

  11. PJ said

    Hi Anita.I came here when I googled for pazham pori recipe.The first time I tasted this was in Kochi at my uncles place and since then i am really fond of it.Thanks for the nice recipe..

  12. abraham said

    thanks for the recipe:-)
    got it nicely:-)

  13. The spores that are not filtered are then disbursed
    outdoors so that 100% of the live and dead spores left
    cannot grow inside the home or business. If you want to completely
    remove black mold from your home and make it safe for your family, there are some steps that you need to
    take. While many can live with small stains in the carpeting, and cover
    them with pieces of furniture, remember that any growth beneath or within the padding will be far more expensive the longer it
    spreads.

Leave a comment