My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Kappa Kuzhachathu

Posted by Annita on June 20, 2006

Kappa Kuzhachathu (Steamed Tapioca) and Meen Pattichathu(Red Hot and Sour Fish Curry) – is a legendary combo which brings out the prolific and authentic taste of Kerala .This is also considered as common man’s diet and the toddy shop favourite.

Tapioca is widely available and inexepensive in Kerala.It is a flavourless root starch which is rich in dietery fiber and carbohydrates.Deep Fried Tapioca slices alias Tapioca Chips is a popular snack too.

yuca

Peeled Yuca

This Kappa Kuzhachathu was the first thing i prepared after my vaccation.And of course its my Amma’s recipe .

Here it goes…

Ingredients:

Peeled and Diced Tapioca/Yuca root – 1 kg
Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
Salt – as needed

Diced Kappa

For Grinding:-
Grated Coconut – 1/2 cup
Cumin Seeds – 1/2 tsp
Green Chillies – 4
Garlic pods – 4
Curry leaves – a few

For Spluttering:-
Coconut oil – 2 tsp
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Curry leaves – a sprig
Chopped Shallots – 2
Dried red Chillies – 3

Method:

Cook the tapioca in a pressure cooker adding salt and a little water.Strain the water well.Grind together coconut,cumin seeds,green chillies,garlic and few curry leaves into a smooth paste.Now add turmeric powder and the ground mixture to the tapioca and mix well.Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Add shallots,red chillies and curry leaves into it.Fry it for sometime and pour the mixture into tapioca.Again mix it well for sometime.

This can be served with Meen Pattichathu.

20 Responses to “Kappa Kuzhachathu”

  1. ShyneeNair said

    Stumbled upon u'r blog…quite a good one…shall come back soon…kappa…hmm…very welcome…with fish…bingo!

    Thanks Shynee..

    Annita

  2. sarah said

    Annita: We add a bit of fried coconut along with the ground masala.. It taste yummy..
    Sarah

    Thats a new tip to me ,Sarah..Will try it out next time.

    Thanks

    Annita

  3. Archana said

    Hi Annita,
    Got your name right this time, well i should have read the other comments!!!! Kappa + fish, u r making me hungry. Thanks for posting the recipe

    Thanks Archana..
    Annita

  4. Annita,I too had posted a kappa curry recipe few days back in my blog!Isnt it a dish that all Malayalis love?!

    I've gone through your post Sumitha.good Work..!!

    Yep…i'd die for Kappa-Meen combo.

    Annita

  5. RP said

    Both kappa & fish curry look sooooo delicious Annita. It was a wonderful decision to cook this right after vacation while u still feel homesick. I have made this red fish curry too, using LG's recipe. I have posted a picture.

    You are right ,RP.I really miss home cooking..:(

    Thanks

    Annita

  6. L.G said

    Hi Annita,
    You wrote Kokum in your fish curry? Did you mean kudampuli? If you meant kudampuli, kokum and kudampuli are not the same. Just FYI. Kokum is something from Goa,with which they make juice and jellies. If you meant kokum, never mind.

    Thanks L.G..I meant KudamPuli only..I thought its also called Kokum…WIll correct it soon..

    Thanks again..

    Annita

  7. shammi said

    Welcome BACK, Annita! :) Missed your posts! I have only really eaten tapioca as chips, so I'll be trying out this recipe :)

    Thanks Shammi..Try it out and i'm sure u r gonna like it.

    Annita

  8. Nav said

    Hi Annita,

    I have been to your site before, but this is the first time I am managing to comment as you were on a short break from blogging. You have great recipes here, esp. very useful ones for people like me who would like to start experimenting Kerala food :) Have had this kind of Kappa dish just once recently, and your post stirs more interest in me now. Oh! I have got to add you to my blogroll :)

    Cheers,
    Nav

    Thanks for your kind words,Nav.i'm really happy to hear that u liked the blog..Do visit it and lemme know your comments too

    Annita

  9. padmini said

    hi
    i would like to know how to make tapioca chips at home
    if you know the procedure can you please let me know through the mail
    thanku

    I’m not sure of it,Padmini..Haven’t tried it though…
    Annita

  10. […] Annita’sTreasure […]

  11. […] of deliccacies can be prepared from fresh Kappa,and the most popular one is Kappa kuzhachathu with meen curry.Unakka Kappa/dry Cassava is not much appreciated when compared to the fresh ones.It […]

  12. georgev said

    Annita, grinding the curry leaves with the coconut is a neat idea. My mum’s recipe did not have this – she just added it to the oil mix. You method really brings out the taste. Thanks!

  13. […] DeepAnn – Kappa Kuhzachathu […]

  14. meena said

    hi annita, long time, no news? what happened? shifting or something? missing ur new recipes. i have tried out almost everything and my hubby and parents are a huge fan of yours…keep up the good work and love to your son.

  15. Vandana said

    This kappa recipe came out very well. It has that authentic “naadan” taste!!Great recipe!!

  16. Akhilesh said

    Thank You

  17. […] If you want to see properly mashed Tapioca with fish curry check out my favourite blogger Annita’s version. […]

  18. am impressed by the way you embraced the following topic. It just isn’t often I find a website with winning articles just like yours. I will bookmark your feed to stay updated with your future updates. Like that and do maintain up the sound work.

  19. rossama chacko said

    kappa potti is a very gud combination in kerala roadside thatukkadas….try it….u’ll never 4get it!!!

  20. Achusammas said

    awesome recipe

Leave a comment