My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Rava Idly

Posted by Annita on August 26, 2008

Its been a long time since i’ve posted any kids special dishes.So here it goes, my little guy loves this for breakfast.


Rava Idly is not a popular dish in Kerala,but this is a much easier and healthier version compared to plain iddlis.Rava or semolina lightly sauteed in oil is mixed with chopped veggies,grated coconut and curd ,allow to sit for 30 mins and then cook in steam.Serve it with any type of chutneys.

Ingredients :-

Rava/Semolina – 2 cups
Finely chopped or grated veggies – 1 cup
(I use carrots,tomatoes,beans,potatoes,spinach etc)
Turmeric Powder (Optional) – 1/4 tsp
Curd/Yoghurt – 1 cup
Grated coconut – 1/4 cup
Coriander leaves chopped (Optional) – as needed
Baking soda – a pinch
Cashews (Optional) – 10 – 12

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Urad dal – 1 tsp
Asafoetida(Kaayam) – 1/4 tsp
Green chillies chopped – 4-5
Grated ginger – 1 tsp
Curry leaves chopped – a sprig
Salt – to taste
Oil/Ghee – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil/ghee in a a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Add asafoetida into it,then add urad dal,ginger,green chillies and curry leaves.Stir for a while and add rava into it.Turn the heat to medium and keep stirring it until the rava is roasted.Turn off the heat and allow it to cool.
Add the veggies,curd,coconut,coriander leaves,baking soda and salt and mix well.You can add little more water/curd to get the consistency of the normal idly batter.Allow it to sit for 30 minutes.
Grease the idly plates and keep 1-2 cashews inside each plate and pour batter over the cashews,just like you pour idly batter.Steam cook it for 10 – 15 mts on medium flame.Allow it to cool in the rack for few minutes and then carefully lift it with a spatula and serve with your favorite chutney.

10 Responses to “Rava Idly”

  1. shiney said

    hi annita,

    i was longing for the recipe of rava idlis. thanx a ton.

    Try it out shiney and pls let me know how it turned out for u,ok
    Annita

  2. My favorite idly.thanks for the recipe

    Thanks dear
    Annita

  3. lalitha said

    looks delicious.This is a good way for kids to get their veggies too.

    Yeah,..u r right lalitha
    Annita

  4. Sang said

    Hey Annita..
    I’m a huge fan of your site and tried some of your recipes like vattayappam which was a huge hit with my family! I would sure try your rava idli -looks delicious. But I just saw in the ‘coming up soon’ section my favorite vegetable ‘koorkka’. Is it really called chinese potato here? Where can I find it? Don’t remember seeing it in any Indian stores here in
    Cincy. Please let me know. Thanks!

    I found it at a grocery store in chicago ,Sang..Thats my favorite too…and i’m missing that soo much…
    Annita

  5. mallugirl said

    anything you post is a must try for me!!

    Wow..thats a real compliment..dear mallugirl…:))
    How r u doing?Vaccation hangover okkay kazhinjo?
    Annita

  6. Bindu said

    Tried it today…it came out good. Not so fluffy like yours, but still soft. my little guy loved it. guess will have to make this often. thanks a bunch Annita. i cant wait for the koorkka recipe. i love love love it. will try chinese potato in our grocery stores this week. thanks dear.

    good to know that ur kids loved it,bindu…And Good luck for finding Koorkka..
    I couldn’t find that in Pittsburgh…My husband got it from Chicago…
    Annita

  7. vrinda said

    Hay anitha
    i tried ur rava idly today becoz i like evrything made with rava.But it wasn’t as soft
    as normal idly,was tasty..Thanx a lot and belated onam wishes
    vrinda

  8. veeenajan said

    Hi Anitha ..
    This recipe is new to me ..will surely make d give to my son ..Hope he will like it …Thanks for the post
    veenajan

  9. mini said

    Hi

    are the veggies cooked already or raw?

    Thanks

  10. My family all the time say that I am killing my time here
    at web, but I know I am getting familiarity every day
    by reading thes fastidious posts.

Leave a Reply

 
