My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Kadhai Paneer

Posted by Annita on September 11, 2007

Long back i’ve posted an Achaari Paneer recipe sent to me by a blog friend.This recipe is also sent to me by the same person,an equally good one which can be served with rotis.Thanks again Bindu,I really appreciate your enthusiasm and sharing attitude.

Kadhai Paneer

Kadhai Paneer,as per the name is paneer in a Kadhai(wok).This is a Punjabi favorite where fried paneer and green bell peppers are cooked in a spicy creamy tomato sauce and flavored with Kasoori Methi(dry fenugrek leaves) and coriander leaves.

Ingredients:-

Paneer cubed – 100 gms
Green Peppers/Capsicum cut into squares – 2 medium sized
Onion quartered and layers seperated – 1 medium sized
Ginger julienned – a 1/2″ piece
Garlic cloves chopped fine – 4
Tomatoes chopped – 2 big
Green Chillies chopped – 4
Coriander powder – 2 tbsps
Chilly powder -1 tsp
Kasoori Methi – 2 tbsps
Chopped Coriander leaves – 1/2 cup
Oil – as needed
Ghee – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste

Method:-

Heat ghee in a pan and fry the paneer pieces until they turn slight brown on its sides.Remove and drain into a tissue paper.Now to the same pan add more oil and fry onion and capsicum till onion turn translucent.Remove them from oil and reserve.Now add finely chopped garlic,ginger and chilli to the same pan.Fry it for a while and then add sauteed onion and capsicum into it.Stir in chilly powder and coriander powder.Then add the tomatoes,mix well and cook until tomatoes melt and the oil seperates.Add kasuri methi and salt and stir them together.(If you wish,add a little tomato ketchup at this stage to make it slightly sweet and more creamy.) Finally add the paneer pieces mix well,cover the pan with a lid and simmer for few minutes.Now add chopped coriander leaves,stir and switch off the heat.Again cover and let it stand for few more minutes.Serve hot with rotis.

Kadhai Paneer

Also see :

Restaurant Style Kadhai Paneer from VideoJug
Creamy Kadhai Paneer from Salilu’s Food
Kadhai Paneer at LuvBites
Kadhai Paneer at Mahanandi
Kadhai Paneer at Ghar Ka Khana

I’m so pleased and excited to receive this thinking blogger award from RP of My Workshop.Thanks dear RP.

Thinking Blogger

“Thinking blogger award is being awarded to the bloggers who make you think.” And I would like to pass this on to Sarah of Daughters of Tomorrow and renuramnath of Adukkala.

Rocking Girl Blogger

“The Rocking Girl Blogger Award” is for blogger’s ,who are girls or women, who blog and who Rock!!.” Thanks to Maria of Maria’s Menu and Viji of Malabar Ruchi for nominating me for this award.And I’m passing this to Shynee of Indian Potpourri and Priya of Priya’s Kitchen .

27 Responses to “Kadhai Paneer”

  1. Bindu said

    Hey Annita! Good to see this post:-) I am glad your family liked it. But honestly,the photo of your prepration is much better than when I make it at home!!! Everything you touch ,even if the recipe is the same, gets richer in color and i am sure better in taste too. You are the best Annita! Thanks again.

    Thanks for your kind words Bindu…I didn’t do anything..I just followed your recipe..So all credit goes to u dear…:))
    Annita

  2. Usha said

    Hi!
    Kadai paneer looks mouth watering!!!!! Congrats for your awards!!!!!

    Thank you Usha
    Annita

  3. Bindu said

    hey,i dint even notice this….a biiiig CONGRATS to you..you truly deserve it Annita. keep up the good work:-)

    Thanks again Bindu
    Annita

  4. jisha said

    hey annita congrats for the award..u reserved it..

    Thank you Jisha
    Annita

  5. roopa said

    Congrats on the awards! and what a lovely kadai paneer looks delicious

    Thanks Roopa…It tasted really good and easy to make too..
    Annita

  6. Cynthia said

    Congratulations on your awards! All are well deserved.

    Thank you Cynthia
    Annita

  7. Jubi Thomas said

    Hi Annita

    Congrats for your awards…. You deserved it….

    GREAT WORK!!

    Thanks to u too,Jubi..
    Annita

  8. bee said

    beautiful recipe, as usual, annita. and congrats.

    Thanks bee
    Annita

  9. Shella said

    Congratulations & Celebrations. What are you celebrating with?? Can we come over?

    Sure..sure..u are welcome at any time..:))
    Annita

  10. Bharathy said

    Congrats on your well deserved awards…
    Your blog is an anytime reference to me!..and has all the authentics of Kerala!
    Thanks a looot for linking me Annita!:)

    Its my pleasure,Bharathy..You have very nice recipes in your blog,unfortunately i found you yesterday only.Otherwise you would’ve been in my blogroll long back.
    Annita

  11. prajusha said

    annita,
    Congrats on those awards.
    Kadai Paneer looks delicious.

    Thanks Prajusha
    Annita

  12. Hi Annita, Congratulations on yr both Awards…!!! U deserve it. Many thanks to u and bindu for this recipe, we will try this out today itself. U r always the best, Annita (Let me know the secret of the appealing colour of the food u make). Have a great day, Annita…! :)

    Best Regards, From Dhanya, London (PooNthoottam Online Club http://paltalk-kerala-poonthoottam.com).

    Thanks Dhanya…i don’t know what makes the color..I think its just the chilly powder i use..I use homemade chilly powder sent to me by my MIL.I’ve added you to my blogroll,ok…
    Annita

  13. P.S. Congratulations and thanks from my mum too. :))

    My regards to ur mom too..Is she with you now?
    Annita

  14. Happy cook said

    congrats with your award.
    I love Kadai paneer, but never tried at home. I am going to make this one day. Don’t get paneer here so i will have to make paneer myself first.

    I’m sure you’ll love this,HC
    Annita

  15. Sarah said

    was missing home.. and as usual came here to see what you have been cooking..
    Your blog is like Vanitha magazine to me.. the link to home..
    Then I saw my name..I was least expecting it..
    Thank you very much for the award..

    You’re very welcome,Sarah..And it was my mistake,I forgot to let you know that you’ve been tagged..
    Annita

  16. Rg said

    This sure sounds yummy. I’ve all the ingredients right now except :( the main ingredient paneer, so I’m gonna try this recipe out with tofu first which I’ve in stock right now. Thanks a lot Annita and Bindu for sharing this recipe.

    Congrats! you definitely deserve those awards.

    Thank you,Rg
    Pls lemme know how it came out with Tofu
    Annita

  17. Hi Annita, how r u? Ohhhhh! Thanks a lot to add my site [I saw that earlier, but I thought it was somebodyelse’s site as the spelling is different – my site is PooNthoottam (n is capital too). Thanks again Annitaaaa].

    Oh,yes, my mum is back to London and now she is at home with me. Let me see what is yr new menu – cheera? c u there :)

    Loving Regards, From Dhanya.

    Ooh,i’ll make that change very soon Dhanya…Regards to ur mom..
    Annita

  18. Rg said

    Annita, I tried it with tofu first, it turned out good, so I made it again for my guests too. They too loved it. If it’s good with tofu, then I’m sure, it would taste very very very good with paneer, that will be my next attempt. Thanks a lot. Now I gotta try your gobi manchurian also very soon. Will let you know how that turned out too. Thanks again Annita.

    i’m happy to know that u loved the kadhai paneer,Rg..Now i too have to try it with tofu…
    Annita

  19. Swati said

    Hi

    Annita, tried your recipe out last weekend, turned out great….just yummylicious..

    Thank You So Much for this recipe :))

    Swati.

    Thank you for letting us know Swati..Its now our family favorite too
    Annita

  20. Priya said

    Hi Annita!
    I cannot thank you enough for your blog. It is absolutely beautiful and you give the best instructions! I made this a couple days and it was soooooooo delicious! The only thing I did differently was add a small can of tomato sauce. My husband gave this dish a “9 out of a 10” (for the record, he NEVER gives a 10…ever!). Needless to say, that made me very happy. All my thanks goes to you, my friend. God bless you!

  21. […] 26, 2009 Kadhai Paneer Posted by kalavara under Uncategorized   This is one recipe that got me hooked to Annita’s blog, in fact I have this recipe bookmarked in my favorites. […]

  22. […] consisted of Bhuna chicken (two pieces of chicken in a thick gravy of roasted spices), Dal Makhani, Kadhai Paneer, plain Tandoori Roti, Rumali Roti and Lacha Parantha. Our choice of dessert was sweet Lassi and […]

  23. Foto Wanita Indonesia…

    […]Kadhai Paneer « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  24. Dunia Supranatural…

    […]Kadhai Paneer « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  25. 338a said

    My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various
    websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?

    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  26. If your wallpaper is in the first group, the wall coverings
    that just peel right off, enjoy the rest of your day. The cooler surfaces of a crawlspace or basement act the same as
    the can. As a result, many loops in the landscape are formed
    and eventually these loops cut off the river, forming
    lake-type bodies of water adjacent to the main river.

  27. Unfortunately, this is often ignored or minimized by
    non-professionals. Apply it on the cleaned surfaces of the bathroom, let it stand for 15
    minutes and then wash off with sufficient amount of water.
    This is a very interesting question that everyone would
    like to know.

Leave a Reply

 
