My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Cracked Wheat Mango Cake

Posted by Annita on September 7, 2007

Here’s another recipe which i’ve tried out recently.I found this in Krishna & Arjuna’s World and this seems very innovative and interesting to me.Somehow I messed up my first attempt and cracked wheat didn’t cook well . So next time I didn’t want to take a risk and so precooked the wheat before mixing it with the other ingredients.The cake came out pretty well and i loved every single bite of it especially with that mango sauce as a topping.

Thanks again to Krishna & Arjuna.

Mango Cake

Ingredients:-

For Cake:

Cracked Wheat cooked until water is absorbed- 3/4 cup
Egg whites – Of 3 large eggs
Granulated Sugar – 1/2 cup
Unsalted Butter(In room temperature) – 1 stick
Vanilla Extract – 1 tsp
Baking Powder – 1 tsp
Mango Pulp – 1 cup
Almonds chopped – 1 tbsp

For Mango Sauce :

Mango Pulp – 1/2 cup
Sugar – 3 tbsp
Water – 3 tbsp

Method:-

Preparing the Cake :

Beat together egg whites and sugar untill it gets fluffy.Add rest of the ingredients and mix well.Preheat oven to 350 degrees and pour the cake mixture into a greased pan.Bake it for approx 30 min or until a tooth pick inserted at the centre comes out clean.Allow it to cool well,cut into squares and serve with mango sauce.

Preparing Mango Sauce :

Heat sugar and water in a pan until the sugar is melted,add mango pulp into it,mix well and switch off the heat.Allow it to sit for few minutes.Mango sauce is ready to be served.Pour a spoon full of sauce over the cake piece,decorate with almonds and serve.

Note :Krishnarjuna suggests ricotta cheese or yogurt instead of butter for a lower fat version.

19 Responses to “Cracked Wheat Mango Cake”

  1. Rajitha said

    annita.. those look yummy.. i think a fun way to use cracked wheat.. i’ll try making these without the eggs tho..

    Thank you Rajitha…welcome to my blog..
    Annita

  2. mallu said

    very nice
    I have never made cake with cracked wheat.
    thanks for thr recipe

    Thank you Mallu and welcome to my blog
    Annita

  3. Happy cook said

    I’ve never made anything with crack wheat. But the cake looks so moist and delicious

    Do try it out when u find time,HC
    Annita

  4. Asha said

    Looks beautiful Annita, what a color!:))

    Thank you ,Asha
    Annita

  5. sushma said

    Hi annita,

    first time in ur blog.. nice one.. liked the cake recipe.. thnx for sharing

    Thank you and welcome to my blog,Sushma
    Annita

  6. Cynthia said

    Cracked wheat sounds so healthy and I am here thinking like some kids, I don’t want nothing like that but then I hear that there’s mango sauce and I perk up :)

    Try it out Cynthia…you’ll like it with that mango sauce…Sure…:))
    Annita

  7. Nags said

    unique recipe! have never tried it before! kalakki :)

    I too think its a unique recipe,Nags..Try it out sometimes…
    Annita

  8. meeso said

    These look so good…once I bought a box mix for a mango cake sort of like this, it was so awful and I had been looking forward to eating it…now I think I will have to try this to get the taste I had been looking for!

    Pls try this one and let me know how it turned out for u…
    Annita

  9. Rahin said

    hey annita , this looks yum , chk otu my blog ….post title good things ….:)

    You’ve got a nice blog going on,rahin..keep up the good work..
    Annita

  10. Hi Annita, this Mango cake looks nice, must be tasty too. Thanks.

    Regards from, Dhanya.

    It sure was tasty(for me)…:))
    Annita

  11. Jyothsna said

    Can i try steaming this instead of baking…..it might work, no?

    Ooh..thats a good alternative,I didn’t think about it Jyotsna…It might work..
    Annita

  12. Binsy said

    Hi Annita, I will definitely try this cake. How many servings/slices does this recipe yield?

    I think it’ll give around 20 slices,Binsy..
    Annita

  13. jisha said

    hey..a different one..will try this soon

    Pls let me too know if u’ve liked it..ok..
    Annita

  14. Pravs said

    so different cake..looks so yummy.

    It tastes yummy too,Pravs
    Annita

  15. sona said

    wow..never ever have heard of a cake with craked wheat..really inovative

    It was new to me too,Sona…
    Annita

  16. Amita said

    HI All

    Please visit my new website http://www.oriyakitchen.com to know more about oriya cuisine. Thanks you all.

  17. Jisha said

    Hi Anitha
    I tried this today.It tasted good.I cooked cracked wheat with just 3/4 cup of water.So it didnt get cooked enough.May be because of that the batter looked too watery and cake had a texture of somewhat between cake and pudding.Is that how it should be.Anyway it tasted great.Thanks for the recipe.

  18. divya said

    can we replace the egg whites with something else for vegetarians like me…?

  19. Divya said

    I tried. But the consistency was not like a cake. I think the batter was too watery. Is it because the wheat was overcooked? what is ratio to cook cracked wheat?

Leave a Reply

 
