My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Chicken Burrito

Posted by Annita on July 8, 2007

And now a mexican favorite for you to try at home.This is again a fusion,and my family loves it.

Chicken Burrito

 

Chicken Burrito

 

Ingredients:-

To Prepare Marinade:

Chilli Flakes – 1 to 2 tsp (as per your taste)
Red Onion quartered – 1/2 medium sized
Pepper powder – 1 tsp
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
Garlic cloves – 5
Fresh oregano chopped – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste

Grind all the above ingredients into a smooth paste and keep aside.

Other Ingredients :

Boneless Chicken breasts – 3 or 4
Flour tortillas for burritos – 4
Sliced Onion – 1/2
Sliced Bell pepper – 1/2
Chilli Flakes – 1/2 tsp
Cooked rice- 1 cup
Thick Salsa (either store brought or home made) – 1/2 cup
Canned Beans (Pinto or Black) – 1/2 cup
Shredded lettuce,Shredded tomato,Shredded cheese,sour cream,guacamole etc – as needed
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Marinate the chicken with the prepared marinade and refrigerate it for at least an hour.Heat oil in a skillet over high heat and cook the chicken until done and all water evaporates,turning each side only once.Allow it to cool and cut into small stripes.Keep it aside.You can also grill the chicken instead of cooking it in a skillet.

Now into the same skillet,add more oil (if needed) and saute sliced onion and bell peppers for a while.Sprinkle chilli flakes and salt.Stir well and remove from heat,do not brown it.Keep them aside too.

Spread each tortillas onto a plate.Then spoon the salsa onto it and spread evenly over the tortilla.Instead of spreading over the tortilla,you can also mix it along with the chicken,if you wish.Now spoon the chicken mixture,sauteed onion and bellpepper,rice and beans onto tortillas.Add the toppings(lettuce,tomatoes,cheese etc) and roll up the tortillas.Serve hot.

Chicken Burrito

17 Responses to “Chicken Burrito”

  1. Rg said

    My family loves Burritos too. I’ve never prepared the chicken for the burritos (or fajitas or quesadillas)from scratch though. I mean I always use the cooked & seasoned grilled chicken strips. Your recipe sounds good and delicious. will try it out and let you know. Thanks annita.

  2. meeso said

    Yum, Yum, Yum!!! It sounds perfect…especially all grilled up!

  3. Cynthia said

    Oh yeah, this is treat. How are you?

  4. Jyothsna said

    Looks good Annita. If I can find some tortillas, I’ll try it out too.

  5. rj said

    Hi Annita,

    Awesome site. Thanks for all the recipes. Can you please post the recipe for regular kerala Garam Masala? Sorry I am a guy :)and I am clueless.

    Will be posting that soon
    Annita

  6. smitha said

    Hello Anita
    All ur recipes are good.i’ve tried few recipes from ur site and it’s a hit….!!!
    Actually i wanted to ask u that do you know whether our “matta rice” is in the category of brown rice???
    i really want to know that whether this “matta rice” is a “red rice” or “brown rice” and just want to make sure it’s not in the white rice category…please help me……

    Thanks in advance.
    Please Keep posting ur recepies….
    smitha

    I think it falls under brown rice category only,Smitha..Anyway its not a white rice..i’m sure…:))
    Annita

  7. jisha said

    hi..

    nice to c u with this recipie after a break..thanks for the receipie

  8. akshata said

    hi
    Thanks for the recipe
    i love to try recipes which are a fusion and which will suit our indian palate.

  9. RP said

    I liked the marinade you used for chicken. I make burritos too, I just use a garlic lemony marinade for chicken. Will try your way next time.

  10. usha said

    Hi,

    I liked the recipe very much…it resemble similar as Chipotle one…I wish to taste one from your plate:)))Thanks.

  11. Leena said

    Hi Anita ,
    I liked the Vanitha recipes & its a boon 4 people like me who cannot read malayalam …
    ur collection of recipes r gr8 , tried some of them … it came out very well …
    Thanks & awaiting more recipes !!

  12. mahek said

    hi
    i would love to try this recipes but i stay in india and we do not get readymade tortillas so can you pls tell me if i can make them at home.

    Hi Mahek,
    i donno how to make tortillas at home..Let me find it out..and If i get the recipe i’ll surely post it..
    Annita

  13. praveen said

    I have a blog which is related with kerala. So if you wish to put a link on you blog, I would be happy to link back.

    Kerala – God’s Own Country

  14. Finla said

    Hi Annita
    I just started a cooking blog today because i was inspired by yours. So would you please add mine on your link.
    Thankx
    http://mykitchentreasures.blogspot.com/

  15. Whenever i visit yr blog, i will confuse for few minutes to choose one, as allllll of yr recipes are so good Annitaaaaaaaaa. Thanks a lot.

    Have a great day…! Regards, from Dhanya.

    Thank you,Dhanya
    Annita

  16. chicken salad…

    […]Chicken Burrito « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  17. carrot cake…

    […]Chicken Burrito « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
