My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Dahiwala Bharta

Posted by Annita on April 26, 2007

A different eggplant deliccacy from Suvir Saran’s Indian Home Cooking cookbook ,which tastes like an Indian baba ghanoush.This smoky and mushed eggplant when combined with yogurt can be served as a vegetable side dish or even as  raita.

Dahiwala bharta

Ingredients:-

Eggplant – 1 large
Red onion chopped – 1 medium sized
Plain yogurt – 2 cups
Fresh grated ginger – 1 tbsp
Hot green chilly chopped – 1
Coriander leaves chopped – 2 tsps
Garam masala – 1/4 tsp
salt – to taste
Oil – 3 tbsps

Method:-

Roast the eggplant directly on the burner of a gas stove over medium heat,turning often until the skin is completely blackened and the flesh is softened,about 10 minutes.Or roast eggplant on a cookie sheet in the oven at 500F,until blackened,about 20 minutes.Once cooked,allow it to cool enough to handle,and then peel off the skin using your fingers,rinsing your hands under running water as your work.Cut off the stem and discard it.Put the eggplant in a bowl and mash it to a puree,you can use wooden spoons or potato masher for this.

Heat oil in a pan on medium heat and add onion and salt into it.Saute it till onion turns translucent.Add mashed eggplant and cook it until dry,stirring in between.Remove the pan from heat and allow it to cool.

Whisk the yogurt until smooth in a bowl.Add grated ginger,green chilly,coriander leaves and garam masala into the whisked yogurt and mix well.Pour this yogurt mixture into the cooled eggplant,stir well.Chill it and serve cold.

11 Responses to “Dahiwala Bharta”

  1. Mishmash! said

    Hey Annita, this recipe as u said, looks like baba ghanoush only….quite different , want to try but problem is my hubby wont come anywhere near eggplant :)

    Shn

    oooh..thats sad..u know what?i crave for eggplant dishes..:))
    Annita

  2. Roopa said

    Anita it looks delicious, it make it as a raita

    Yep..it can be served as a raita too
    Annita

  3. Rachna said

    Hi Anita, this is my one of my hubby’s fav dishes… yur recipe is great, I make it the same way except I put in a mustard seeds, hing and curry leaves tadka on top!

    i ‘d love to try your version too,rachna
    Thanks
    Annita

  4. Priya said

    Anita, I will definitely try this…Could you please give me the recipe for Kerala Jilabee. My son likes it very much.

    I haven’t tried it by myself yet,Priya..Bbut me too likes it and i’ll surely be learning it soon from my friend..And after that i’ll be posting it in my blog..
    Annita

  5. Chinni said

    Hi Anita.This is my first visit to your site.I like your site.Nice recipes ya…..

    Thank you Chinni..Nice to meet you too..
    Annita

  6. Sukanya said

    Dahiwala Bharta sounds different to me……It looks YUM!…It has a simple procedure too…..

    Yeah..sukanya..It has avery simple procedure.

    Annita

  7. Surya said

    Nice rcipe Annita.Looks good.Will try this one.Thanks.

    Thank you Surya..Try it out and let me know if you’ve liked it.
    Annita

  8. KF said

    I was looking for this recipe,Thanks for sharing dear.

    You’re always welcome,KF
    Annita

  9. Cynthia said

    Hi Annita,

    I can’t believe that it took me this long to discover your blog. Thanks to Shn of Mishmash: http://kitchenmishmash.blogspot.com/ I discovered you today. Better late than never. :)

    You have such a treasure trove of information here and I am going to enjoy exploring as I have already added you to my blog roll.

    The post on my blog today looks at making paratha roti – a type of roti we make in the Caribbean and I have been learning since I made the post that it is very similiar to the Kerala parotta! So Shn sent me the link to the post on your blog. I was so excited when I saw it and am constantly amazed when I discover the origin of a dish we make here in the Caribbean. You can check out my post here: http://tastesofguyana.blogspot.com/2007/04/is-making-roti-stressful.html

    So good to meet you.

    Thank you Cynthia..I’m so glad i found you..As you said,ur version of roti is very similar to Kerala Paratha..I would love to try it in your way sometime.
    Annita

  10. soumya said

    This is totally new to me.We prepare somewhat similar dish called badane kai gojju.Well will surely give a try.,Thanks a lot for sharing such a nice recipe.

  11. RIA said

    HI,
    I made this dish, and it came out good. i added chilli powder instead of green chillies. One more in my recipe collection.

    thanks a lot
    ria

Leave a Reply

 
