My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Orotti

Posted by Annita on April 23, 2007

I’ve been thinking of posting this for a long time and finally i made it today..:)
Orotti,which falls under traditional Kerala breakfasts category is a variety of thick roti made using rice flour and grated coconut.Some add jaggery,mashed banana,mashed jackfruits etc into the dough to make sweet orottis,but in my home we always prefer it to be plain and is often taken with spicy chutneys or gravies.

Orotti

Orotti

Ingredients :-

Rice Flour – 2 cups
Grated coconut – 3/4 cup
Salt,Water – as needed
Ghee or Oil – for greasing the pan.

Method:-

Take a bowl, add rice flour and grated coconut into it,mix them together.Boil water in a pan,adding required amount of salt into it.Pour the boiled water little by little to the rice flour,stirring in between,until it is ready to make into a smooth dough.Allow it to cool for a while.When it is half cooled,knead it with your hands into a smooth dough.Divide the dough into 4-5 equal sized balls.

Heat the griddle and apply little ghee onto it.Take a ball and spread it like a thick roti onto the griddle using wet hands.Or else you can shape it into a roti on a banana leaf,a parchment paper,foil etc and transfer it into a greased griddle.Cook for about 1 minute on high heat,then simmer it for 3-4 minutes.Now turn the roti,and cook the other side the same way.Apply little ghee on top and serve hot.

This can also be prepared on a banana leaf,spread the dough into the shape of a roti on a greased banana leaf and cover it with another piece of greased banana leaf,and then cook it over a hot tawa.

Orotti

25 Responses to “Orotti”

  1. Wishy said

    Would dried flaked unsweetened coconut work in this recipe, or must one grate fresh coconut?

    Wishy

  2. asha said

    Looks great.We call it Kai Akki rotti,which is coconut rice rotti.I love the way they look Annita,great job:))

  3. InjiPennu said

    I have only heard about it. Thank you sooooo much!

  4. vini said

    Not heard of the term “orotti” before!Looks good…will give it a try.

  5. Seena said

    Anita,
    Is this like Pathiri? I have heard this name but haven’t seen before.And that unda chammanthi is also new for me..have to learn much from you..

  6. Hi Annita,

    yet another favorite dish of mine. I love the orottis that my amma makes.. hhmmm am missing home :(.

  7. Nisha said

    Dear Annita,
    I am a regular to your blog since the last two years and it really the best blog on Naadan cuisine so far. Orotti is something that really made me write this coz this was the way my Ammoomma used to make it…Plain and with Dry red chilly chutney….the kind where it was burnt on coals then crushed with oil, water and shallots. On the side there also used to be kappa that was cooked in hot coals. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Keep up the good work.

    Thanks fopr your kind words,Nisha..I’m so happy to hear it..
    Do visit me often
    Annita

  8. Vanishree said

    Hi,
    I like your blog very much.
    If you are interested in link exchange than please leave a comment on http://vanishreerajamarthandan.blogspot.com/
    Happy Blogging :)

  9. Roopa said

    nice Akki roti! Great so many similar recipes, but we roll it on like pulkas.

  10. Reena said

    I have had this just once. I had no clue about it’s preparation. Thanks for posting this.

    Thank you Reena
    Annita

  11. KF said

    Orotti looks delicious! Very simple recipe.Thanks for sharing dear.

    This is very simple..it always comes handy for me when i’m not in amood to cook
    Annita

  12. Ponni said

    Hi annitha,
    Thank you for the recipe. I uasually make orotti with uppuma
    rava. Its easier and tastes good too. Just mix with salted water and grated coconut and keep for 5-10 min for the rava to get soaked. Rest is the same.
    Ponni

    Ooh..thats another version of Orotti..Thanks Ponni
    Annita

  13. meena said

    Annita
    a very tasty version of the orotti can be made this way. coarse grind two little shallots, little curry leaves and 2 greenchillies in a mixer and mix it well with the coconut before all these are mized in the flour. Rest remains the same. A liitle oil while cooking would meake it softer and long lasting.

    I’m sure this will taste great,Meena..will surely be trying this out.
    Thanks
    Annita

  14. Archana said

    Annita,
    I have gone through your site and it is really amazing. This dish is really new to me. Which part of Kerala use this as a breakfast?

    I think its a Malabar speciality,but it is prepared all over Kerala.My amma’s house is at Kanjirapally..and they prepare it quite often,and again my husband is from TVM,and they make it too..

    Annita

    • Nasrajan said

      This is a great blog and good pictures of recipes too :-) Thank you, its indeed a relief while starting the war alone :-D

      I think this recipe is very common in Kollam, especially among Ramzan specials. I started seeing it frequently after reaching my husband’s house in Kollam. Its substitute for Malabar pathiris there.

  15. Nimitha said

    Hi Annita,
    My mother makes it like dosha dough and spreads on the pan.I will try this one. was looking for an easy to make breakfast recipe!

  16. Manmohan said

    Hi,

    Thanks for the recipe. The last time i had this was twenty years back in my mother’s house at tellicherry. However, the pictures posted look a bit different from what i had had. Ours used to be really thick – 1 to 1.5 cm thick. Also it used to be steamed first amd then pan fried. Best eaten with chcken stew or mutton curry.

    Manu

    Thats a new variation to the dish,what i’m used to…Steaming & pan fried…I really want to try that one…thanks for the suggestion…,Manmohan
    Annita

  17. Anil Nair said

    Orotti and chicken currey, it is one of the best combinations in Kasargod.The one in this photograph looks like Akki roti of Kanndiga’s,However real orotti is famous in kasargod Part of kerala, It looks similar to Pathiri.I have seen my mom preparing it like a poori( it will be a bit harder after sometime).Nannai pongi vaanthinu sesham,Orotti aduppinte theeyil oru 2ndu minute vachal ,orottikku nalla taste undakum.Orotti ee photoyil kanunnathu pole ithra thick aakan paadilla.Orottiyude akam pollayayirikkanamlike a poori.( but thicker than poori.

  18. Anusree said

    I am very thankful to you because when i asked a girl about its preparation, she was hesitated to say it.I promised that i will find it prepare it.

  19. prini said

    very nice.i m very thankful to u for ur all recipies

  20. Ashok said

    Awsome…this is one of the dish which is going to extinct from Northern Kerala.

  21. excellent piece of information, I had come to know about your website from my friend kishore, pune,i have read atleast 8 posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your site gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanx a lot once again, Regards, eenadu epaper

  22. wonderful information, I had come to know about your blog from my friend nandu , hyderabad,i have read atleast 2 posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your website gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanks a ton once again, Regards, malayala manorama online

  23. too good piece of information, I had come to know about your site from my friend sajid, bangalore,i have read atleast 11 posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your web-page gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new post, once again hats off to you! Thanks a lot once again, Regards, rrb secunderabad

  24. Simmy said

    Hi, Is Orotti made of roasted rice flour or plain rice flour?

Leave a Reply

 
