My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Sardines/Mathi Curry

Posted by Annita on April 2, 2007

This is again a recipe from my amma,its a must try dish for Sardine lovers.It can be prepared with very little effort and with limited ingredients.We used canned sardines this time,but it tastes better when made with fresh ones.

Sardines curry

Ingredients :-

Fresh Sardines(Mathi/Chala) – 10
Onion sliced – 3 medium sized or 1/2 kg Shallots sliced
Green Chillies – 5-6
Curry leaves – 2 sprigs
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Tamarind – gooseberry sized
Salt – to taste
Coconut Oil – 2 tbsp

Sardines

(I used Canned Sardines in Tomato Sauce.It was firmer than the sardines preserved in oil/water)

Method:-

Take each sardine,clean and then make 3-4 slits on each side.Keep them aside.

Put all the ingredients except fish into the pressure cooker and mix them together with your hand .It has to be kneaded thoroughly such that all the ingredients are well combined.Add fish pieces and 1/2 cup water into it.Close the cooker and turn on the stove.When the steam emerges,put the weight on it,immediately turn the heat to low and cook it slowly for 30 more minutes.Allow it to cool,then remove the weight and transfer it into a serving dish.

Sardines curry

This tastes great when served with roti/chappathis.

36 Responses to “Sardines/Mathi Curry”

  1. Sangeeta said

    Hi Annita,

    Sardines in pressure cooker? Wouldn’t it become mushy? By the way I love all your recipes. The sardine recipe just confuses me!

    No it won’t,Sangeetha..we are cooking it in very low heat without disturbing them..so they stay intact…the Sardines will become very soft and tastes great..
    The pics i’ve posted here is made with canned sardines in oil..and its not broken,rt?
    Annita

    • Mathew Cheramannil said

      I never see this kind of receipe for Mathi curry. Once I looked at the picture itself, i lost it. pressure cooker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You must be joking. Your receipe itself is a joke. Modern cooking. Get real!!!!

  2. sajna said

    I have never heared of cooking sardines in pressure cooker . I am a regular visitor of ur site and I just love all ur recepies . I hope to get more of such wonderful recepies. If possible just add some good sandwich recepies also

    Thank you..Yeah,sajna..will surely keep that in mind…will try to post it soon.
    Annita

  3. Reena said

    i love sardines curry. this pressure cooked fish recipe is new to me.

    Try it out,Reena and let me know whether u like it or not
    Annita

  4. jisha said

    humm chalacurry..annita enne engane kothippikkalle..kittillaththa sadangal okkey kandu pidichu curry vekkunno????(kidding)njanum onnu nokkette ethu kittumonnu..thanks for the receipie..

    Ithu ivideyokke kittunna saadhanamalle jisha..:))
    Annita

  5. venu said

    Hi Annita

    I love mathi/chala curry.
    In pressure cooker ? I heard first time.

    Anyway one more thing – don’t you add red chilly powder in it ?

    I am going to try this chala curry this weekend with fresh sardines.

    tks and regards

    no,we didn’t add chilly powder..instead green chillies are added
    Annita

  6. Rg said

    Now-a days I’m on the look-out for more and more non-coconut recipes(Though I hope I can substitute coconut oil with Olive oil) …..thanks a lot for sharing this recipe. I do have 3-4 frozen sardines left in my freezer, will try this curry with that. BTW, canned sardines are already very delicate and soaked in oil right? I wonder how you managed to pressure cook that and still have non-broken fish in the picture…???????

    Thanks to you and your mom for simple and tasty recipes.

    No,Rg..it won’t break up..only thing is that you’ve to be very careful while transferring to a serving bowl.Sardines when cooked in a cooker will become very soft and tasty.Try it out and u’ll surely love it.
    Annita

  7. Manzkie said

    Thanks for the recipe. I might try it tonight. Looks tasty!

    Try it out and let me too know how it turned out for u..
    Annita

  8. noel said

    hi annita,does sardines need 30 minutes to get cooked,,n that too in a pressure cooker….well…its smthing new…iam a great fan of sardines….will defenitly try it out…thanx agn dear annita

  9. Sabitha said

    Looked really tasty.but it was a big flop show after making..it tasted a bit sweet may be because of the onion.the curry was really oily and fish totally smashed up.Felt terrible :-(

    Ooh..thats sad,Sabitha..I too haven’t tried it by myself..but when my amma made it here,it was perfect and tasted real good..Did you cook it in high heat?
    Anyway will try it by myself and will let you know about it..
    Annita

  10. Seena said

    Anitha,
    This is first time I learn mathi curry in pressure cooker..I cook lots of mathi vibhavangal..will give a try in pressure cooker also..I love your recipes..

  11. Jubi said

    Hello Anitha,
    I never knew that fish curry could be cooked in pressure cooker.. it was the first time I heard about this… and i have tried it… did not use mathi but the king fish and it was really good… Hope to get more of such wonderful recepies and tips…

    Thanks a lot…
    Jubi

  12. Linda said

    Hi Annitha,

    Njan sardines curry try cheythu. But didn’t get that red color. How did u get that red color for your curry?

    I’ve used sardines preserved in tomato sauce…may be bcoz of that,Linda..
    Annita

  13. Lekshmy said

    Hi Annita….your picture got copied here

    “http://www.eastern.in/kerala/streetfoodofkerala_display-receipe_refid-87-keralarecipe-Mathi_Curry.htm”

    lekshmy

  14. roopa said

    Hi annita, tried out this great recipe and it turned out well! Thank you!

  15. Tina said

    Hi Annitha,

    I had tried the same when I visited India and the maid made it at my in-laws place. I have since wanted to cook it.

    Thanks to you, it was wonderful.

    Tina

  16. manisha said

    i never heard cooking fish in a cooker????

  17. manisha said

    never heard fish in a cooker

  18. manisha said

    i want to know how to cook frozen sardine?i dnt like the scent of sardine.it has some peculiar scent which i want to get rid of.do u have any idea.how to make a delicious frozen sardine.

    thankx

    I’m sorry manisha,I dont know how to get rid of that smell..
    Annita

  19. shabnasheik said

    hi annita,
    i tried it yesterday…it cameout well.i am surprised by the method of cooking in pressurecooker.anyway thanks alot.keep going.

    Thanku shabna
    Annita

  20. Julian said

    hi Anita..

    can i not use a pressure cooker cos i dont have one

    Yeah..you can try it without a cooker too..
    Annita

  21. shameena said

    can we use this receipewith fresh sardines

    Yes you can
    Annita

  22. Soumya said

    hai Anita,
    I have tried ur Sardines recipe..And it came out realllyyyyy goood!!!!!!!!!!!!thanks a lot!!!!!!!!!

  23. hari said

    I shall try it out right now, but maybe i shall shorten the cooking time to 15 mins or 20 mins and try to improvise by adding some tomatos and red chilli powder
    will tell u the result after the cooking

  24. anna said

    hello annita…
    is tamarind different from kudampuli…??

  25. vidhu said

    This is one of my favorite dishes. However I did not have the recipe. I just typed ‘cooker chaala’ is google with almost no hope of getting a results and was pleasantly surprised when I got a result!!!

  26. Sudeepta said

    Love the ingredients, but would it be ok to cook everything in the cooker except the fish and then add sardines and simmer for a few minutes? Just to retain the nutrition?
    Am going to try tonight.

  27. N! said

    Hey, thanks for this! Came out very well!

  28. RAMESH said

    you cna add garlic and ginger chopped
    and put some fenugreek.5 or 8seeds.it make different taste and good
    for health all these ingrediants.
    Ramesh

  29. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for extra of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  30. Best eBook said

    Best eBook…

    […]Sardines/Mathi Curry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  31. Jenny said

    Hello anita,

    just one doubt b4 I trial this out…did u add tht tomato sauce also along with the fish?

  32. chef cacdemy…

    […]Sardines/Mathi Curry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  33. Buy social fans, followers and Views…

    […]Sardines/Mathi Curry « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  34. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and coverage! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.
    spaccio woolrich bologna http://www.edizionipiagge.it/wp-content/themes/woolrichoutlet/

Leave a Reply

 
