My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Zucchini Coconut Rice

Posted by Annita on February 23, 2007

I always make sure to include varieties of veggies in my son’s diet.Luckily he loves pastas and pulaos,and that makes my life quite easier.I don’t follow any recipe while cooking for him,usually I fix something with the ingredients available in my pantry.This was one such dish which i prepared for lil’ Milan,but we all loved it and slowly it became our favorite.

Zucchini

Zucchini Coconut Rice

The recipe follows..
Ingredients:-

Cooked Rice – 2 cups
Zucchini cut into small dices – 1
Chopped Onion – 1/2
Cherry Tomatoes Sliced – 5
Ginger powder – 1/2 tsp
Pepper powder – 1 tsp
Garam masala powder – 1/2 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Grated coconut – 1/2 cup
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds and jeera seeds to splutter.Add in onion and saute till onion turns translucent.Now add all the powders and fry it for a while.Throw in zucchini pieces and salt ,cover it and cook for 7-8 minutes.Add grated coconut and tomato slices and cook for 5 more minutes stirring occassionally.Mix in cooked rice and simmer for 2-3 mts.Serve hot with raita/papad.

19 Responses to “Zucchini Coconut Rice”

  1. Bindu said

    Very new Rice dish for me…never ever tried zuchhini in my life. sure wanna give it a try this time:) so,you have used dry coconut powder here too? the ones we get here ? and also,does the zuchhini get all soggy after being cooked? i am gonna try this anyway! a change is always good! thanks dear…

  2. Nidhi said

    Zucchini Coconut Rice, thats a different one and after reading your recipe, I am sure that will taste great. Zucchini is a great twist to fried rice or pulav. I will try it next time i’ll make pulav. Thanks for the recipe..

  3. swapna said

    Very interesting dish!!!

  4. maheswari said

    That’s a unique combo…looks great..

  5. InjiPennu said

    “I always make sure to include varieties of veggies in my son’s diet” – Oho! I will surely tell him that his mom is sneaking in vegetables that tooo zucchini in his choru…very bad! :) :)

  6. RP said

    Hmm… that looks like a biriyani!

    Looks like Inji woke up on the wrong side of the bed today. :)

  7. No RP,I think she first looked at the mirror,atha ee thalathirive..
    Annitha,Really Interesting Dish..

  8. Jyothsna said

    I’ve never tried zucchini, but your recipe has changed my mind :) Nice one!

  9. InjiPennu said

    Ohooooo! There is an organised campaign aginst me!! kandolam kandolam….ningale pinne kandolam! :)

  10. Zucchini with coconut – that’s creative and delicious! Now if I could have a little dish of achaari paneer too, I would be a happy camper :) Thanks for sharing!

    Linda

  11. Venkata said

    Nice idea for sneaking in the veggies, I am on the same mission not for the kids though :-)

  12. sia said

    very creative dish anita. never tried zucchini in rice. very good way of making kids eat different veggies:)

  13. bindu said

    annoose..a dum question…
    whats zuchhini? It looks like salad cucumber

  14. Mishmash! said

    hmm..thats a clever way of including veggie in ur son’s dish. Though I used zucchini for preparing side dish and curry, i never thought of inventing something like this. U re very clever :)

    Shn

  15. prema said

    Zucchini coconut rice is new to me too. Looks nice and very innovative dish too . thanks for the recipe

  16. Reena said

    WoW! Zucchini Coconut rice looks very delicious and I am going to try out this.

    Thanks Anita !

    Reena

    Try it out Reena,I’m sure u’ll love it
    Annita

  17. coconut water nutrition|Nutritional coconut water|Antibactacterial Coconut Water…

    […]Zucchini Coconut Rice « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  18. […] Recipe taken from Annita´s website. […]

  19. Caroline said

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost
    all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome web site!

Leave a Reply

 
