My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Achaari Paneer

Posted by Annita on February 20, 2007

Here’s a different paneer recipe flavoured with ginger,amchur(dry mango) powder and sharp and peppery,Nigella/Kalonji.Thanks Bindu,for sending me this wonderful recipe,she is a regular visitor of my blog,and a busy mom with two little kids.She had send me two of her family favorite Paneer recipes,and asked me to share with you all.

Achaari Paneer

So here goes the first one..

Ingredients :-

Paneer cut into cubes – almost 2 cups
Dry Ginger powder – 2 tsp
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Fenugreek seeds – 1/2 tsp
Onion Seeds(Kalonji) – 1/2 tsp
Jeera seeds – 1 tsp
Chopped Onions – 3
Chopped Green chillies – 3 -4
Turmeric powder – 1 tsp
crushed Garlic flakes – 5-6
Crushed Ginger – 1 inch piece
Beaten curd – 1/2 cup
Amchur(Dry Mango powder- 1 and 1/2 tsp
Red Chilli powder – 1/2 tsp
Slit green chillies – 3-4
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in a pan and add dry ginger powder,mustard seeds,fenugreek seeds,onion seeds and jeera and fry till they crackle.Add chopped onions and green chillies and saute until golden.Add in turmeric powder ,crushed garlic and crushed ginger and fry for 2-3 mins.Gradually add beaten curd stirring constantly.
Add amchur powder and salt and cook till curd dries slightly.Just before serving mix in paneer cubes and slit green chillies.Sprinkle red chilly powder and stir for 1-2 mins on low flame.Serve hot with roti/naan.

Achaari Paneer

Recipe Source : Amul.com

23 Responses to “Achaari Paneer”

  1. sia said

    hi annita,
    this is very different way to make paneer curry. i have never used ginger and mango powder in bulk quantity. sounds like very tangy and spicy dish. i am book marking this recipe:)
    and congrats for ur 1st anniversary:) happy birthday to my treasure, my pleasure:)

    Thanks a lot,Sia
    Annita

  2. bindu said

    alu also u can make the same way?
    Its really yummy.
    if we can make it really dry, this can be used as starter as well. right nanoose?

    Yeah..it might work with Alu,too..
    I knew you would love this dish,Paneer is ur favorite,rt?
    Annita

  3. asha said

    Looks fabulous Annita.Very attractive color.YUM!

    Thanks Asha
    Annita

  4. Anupama said

    Paneer has a special place in my heart. So paneer in all forms is always welcome. Thanx for this recipe

    Thanks Anu
    Annita

  5. Mythreyee said

    wow, what a wonderful recipe with paneer.

    happy to know that you like it,Mythreyee
    Annita

  6. Jyothsna said

    Hmmm…a different way of making paneer. Looks attractive.

    Thanks Jyothsna
    Annita

  7. Bindu said

    Hi Annita!
    I see that you have tried this recipe:)Photo has come out great! I would really like to know if you and your family liked it. I hope everyone who tries this recipe likes it too!!

    We all loved it,Bindu..Thansk for the recipe..I’ll be trying out your other recipe soon
    Annita

  8. dhanya said

    Another one so soon….I loved achari paneer/chicken & was one of the must have gravy item when we used to go out for dinner… Thanx for sharing Annita/ Bindu.
    I fixed up the side bars… Thanx for that too…

    Thanks Dhanya
    Annita

  9. Menu Today said

    Hi Annita,
    Different way to make with paneer. Wishing many more years of blogging.

    Thanks Menutoday
    Annita

  10. Nalini said

    very different recipe and the pic looks very mouth watering. A must try. Thanks for sharing, Nalini

    thanks Nalini
    Annita

  11. sumitha said

    Thanks to you and your friend for sharing!

    Thanks Sumi..
    Annita

  12. Praveena said

    Looking at the picture my mouth is watering !! Looks spicy and tangy for my taste. :-D
    Thanks Annita for listing me in the malayalee food blog list. It’s means a lot to me.

  13. Mishmash! said

    I have some paneer in fridge..will give it a try soon…looks like it will go well with chappathis.Thanks :)

    Shn

  14. woooo ! ab kuch paneer seacial ho hi jaye ghar per bhi aaj.

  15. Nidhi said

    This again a great recipe to go with either Chapati or Parantha. I love paneer and I have to try it…

  16. ESSKAY said

    Extremely fantastico. Came across this page somehow while googling Paneer recipes and needless to say, am a BIG FAN of this method of preparation. Infact, that is the dish for tonight’s dinner.

    Thanks.

  17. Food lover said

    I tried this recipe, but it was not good at all compared to all your other posts. I am quite a fan of your cooking posts and hence thought it necessary to give you an honest feedback.

    Thanks.

  18. BINDU said

    Hi,

    I have been looking for the neyyichoru recipe for a long time. Got the best now. Thank u.

    Now Feeling interested in trying the other recipes too. Honestly liked the rice recipe a lot.

    Rgds.

  19. sathi said

    HI,I AM FROM KERALA IN MY HEART UR PANEER GOT A PLACE NEAR MY OTHER TASTES. IT WAS VERY YUMMY & DELICIOUS ONE .LOTS OF THANKS FOR ALL. FROM A PANEER LOVER OF YOUR’S

  20. Smita said

    Adipoli….looks very tempting…will definitely try this recipe soon

  21. Neha said

    did not like, your last paragraph made me do twice the work. you said put aamchoor and other dry seeds.

  22. Bugs said

    Annita …..I love what you do.

    Merry X` mas and happy new year ahead.

  23. Hansa Arya said

    sent me

Leave a Reply

 
