My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Moist Yellow Cake

Posted by Annita on January 13, 2007

Here’s a delicious and moist yellow cake,the recipe adapted from allrecipes.com. I’ve used buttercream and pineapple jelly as the filling here.

Moist Yellow Cake

The recipe goes like ..

Ingredients:-

Cake Flour – 2 cups
(P:S : its not all purpose flour)
Granulated sugar – 1 and 1/2 cups
Unsalted Butter – 1 cup
Eggs – 4
(The original recipe calls for 8 egg yolks.I changed it,as I dont want to waste all those whites)
Milk – 3/4 cup
Vanilla Extract – 1 and 1/2 tsp
Baking powder – 2 tsp
Salt – 1/4 tsp (optional)

Method:-

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).Grease two 8 inch round pans and lightly flour it.Seperate the egg whites and yolks.Beat the egg whites until soft peaks form and keep it aside.Sift together the flour,baking powder and salt and set aside.

In another large bowl beat butter and sugar untill light and fluffy.Now add egg yolks one at a time and beat well.and stir in vanilla.Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated, starting and ending with the flour mixture.Mix in the egg whites using a wooden spatula.Now pour the batter into the pans and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.Cool in the pan itself for 15 mins and then gently tap it into a cooling rack.

21 Responses to “Moist Yellow Cake”

  1. Asha said

    Love the cake,looks fabulous and moist too!Cake flour does make lot of difference indeed!:)
    Happy Pongal!

    Thanks Asha,and happy pongal to u & ur family
    Annita

  2. shaheen said

    Hmm. ur cake really looks moist and yummilicious. What is the filling in between and how did u cut the cake so perfectly?

    Thanks Shaheen…
    I’ve used buttercream topped with fresh pineapple chunks as the filling..And for cutting it,i didn’t use any technique..It came out well…:))
    Annita

  3. Rashmi said

    yummy cake Annita.The pic is beautiful.
    Happy Pongal to you and your loved ones!

    Thanks Rashmi..And happy pongal to u too
    Annita

  4. rp said

    I love moist cakes. Actually I have been craving for a chocolate one so badly…

    Me too love moist cakes..A chocolate cake is coming soon…
    Annita

  5. Nidhi said

    Yum-Yum Cake Annita…I love cakes but don’t eat much as they have lots of calories :(

    Love the way you presented it.

    Thanks, Nidhi.

    Thanks Nidhi..
    Annita

  6. Coffee said

    Delicious!!! I love moist cakes!!!!

    Thanks Coffee
    Annita

  7. swapna said

    hai annita
    wonderful recipe..

    Thanks Swapna
    Annita

  8. Puspha said

    Tat looks absolutely delicious. Well done!!!!

    Thanks Pushpa..i’ll take it as a credit as it comes from an expert like u..:))
    Annita

  9. Sri said

    Lovely cake Annita.

    Thanks Sri
    Annita

  10. Shn said

    Annita, Guess the cake justifies its name , looks very moist !! U have great variety in ur posts and I have bookmarked ur page; tried ur ‘thenga chammanthi’ and believe me, it was exactly the taste I wanted!!

    I’m delighted to hear that,Shn..And welcome to my blog
    Annita

  11. swapna said

    hi annita
    cake piece is looking yummy…

    Thanks Swapna
    Annita

  12. Menu Today said

    Hi Annita,
    Lovely cooking cake. Happy New year,Thanks for sharing..

    happy New year to u too,dear..
    Annita

  13. Arun said

    It’s very yummy.Good recipe as well.
    Sigh!!! Wish i’d a cook who can read english ;)

    Thanks Arun..
    Annita

  14. Biny said

    Hi Annita,
    Happy New Year .. i had been checking ur blog daily .. god recepies .. hows mon ? i would be trying this yellow cake soon but u haven’t mentioned abt the filling .. u cut he cake to two and then put the filling in between .. is it the way u do ?
    would be going to India on Feb 3rd .. planning to be there for 1 month ..

    Hi Biny,
    Its long time since i hear anything from u..How r u dear?Mon doing good..i’ve started sending hime to a daycare too..
    I’ve prepared 2 cakes of same size,and fill them with butter cream & fresh pineapple chunks..
    I’ll be posting a detailed recipe about filling and layering real soon..
    Annita

  15. Shn said

    Annita, sure, I will be visiting ur blog regularly from here onwards, especially since I tried ur ‘thenga chammanthi’ which satisfied my palate:)
    Right now I have a blogspot rolling; an amateur I shd say. I was wondering if we could have a link exchange !! Do check out my blogspot first and let me know if u prefer a link exchange.

    Yeah sure Shn..i’ll definitely love to add ur link
    Annita

  16. Leela suresh said

    Hi annita
    thanks for a moist cake recipe. i tried and it came out excellent. Just one problem, the taste of egg is little dominant. Please advise. Please send me a recipe of just soft sponge cake without butter

    Have u added 4 whole eggs/8 egg whites?..If you feel the egg taste is dominant,next time try it with whites only(thats what the original recipe says) .I dint feel any egg taste when i made it,may be bcoz i love eggs soo much…:))

    Annita

  17. jisha said

    Annita..

    cake looks yummy.i want to try it.but i have a doubt.how long we can keep this cake with it’s moistness.It should keep it in the fridge or outside.i want to make it for the next party.but that day i maynot get time for everything.please give an advise

    hi Jisha,
    You can prepare it 4-5 days ahead and keep it in the refrigerator if you wish..And allow it to reach the room temperature before serving..
    I usually prepare it 2 days ahead and keep it in the room itself,in a cool place .I think the latter tastes better and fresh.but if you live in some warm place,refrigerate the cake if you are preparing it ahead of time.

    Thanks
    Annita

  18. jisha said

    Thanks annita for the replay.i will do like that.

  19. Reena said

    Hi Annita,
    I love your blog. Once i accidently reached here, and now I come back everyday.This cake looks fabulous. I don’t like too much sweet in my frosting. So I am thinking of doing whipped cream frosting on it. Do you think it makes sense? Any idea how the whipped cream frosting is made(like the one we get in bakery) . I usually whip up some heavy cream, add required sugar and flavouring. If you have a better suggestion please do let me know. Once again, good job!!!

  20. minu said

    Annita,
    Thanks for sharing all good recipes. I like the way you describe with photos….its so helpful.
    then, in this recipe you said cake flour? whats that? is it self raising flour?
    i get confused seeing different types of flours in super market as to what for what???
    can i use plain flour for this recipe…pls adv
    thanks a lot

    Cake flour is different from self raising flour and plain all purpose flour.Quote from Joy of Baking :-
    Flour contains protein and when it comes in contact with water and heat it produces gluten, which gives elasticity and strength to baked goods. Different types of flour contain different amounts of protein. Therefore using a different type of flour than what is called for in a recipe (without compensating for this change) will alter the outcome of the baked good. A cake flour is used to make a white cake where a delicate tender crumb is desired.”
    So you cannot use plain flour for this recipe..hope this helps..
    Thanks
    Annita

  21. Sarah said

    Hi

    Happy New Year! I happened to reach here thru’ my sister. I will be trying this recipe for valentine’s day. I have valetine theme in mind, a red/pink colored cake. Could I use straberry chunks instead of p/apple? Is there any chances that it’ll get spoiled & is it necessary that I have to bake it few days before the occassion?Its a surprise, u c!!!Awaiting ur response.

Leave a Reply

 
