My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Kappa/Tapioca Aviyal

Posted by Annita on January 9, 2007

Finally I’m ready with my first post of 2007.I’ve been waiting to post something special,but couldn’t prepare anything.Our family was caught by some bad virus,and everybody got sick one after the other.We are still in the recovering process only.

Kappa Aviyal is just a regular dish at my husband’s place.This is my mother in laws speciality dish,she is very clever in coming up with varieties of ‘Aviyals’,like Chakka(Jackfruit) Aviyal,Thakkali(Tomato) Aviyal,Mutta(Egg) Aviyal etc.All of them were new to me at first,but I was forced to learn all those as my husband is a huge fan of these dishes.

Kappa Aviyal

Here goes my recipe for Kappa Aviyal..

Ingredients:-

Yuca root/Tapioca(Kappa) cut into long thin pieces – 1/4 kg or 1 big
Grated coconut – 1 cup
Shallots(Kunjulli) – 4
Jeera seeds – 1/2 tsp
Curd – 2 tbsp or Tamarind(Vaalan puli)- little (may be half the size of a gooseberry)
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Chilly powder – 1 tsp
Curry leaves – a sprig
Coconut oil – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste

Method:-

Cook tapioca by adding salt and water, until it is soft and tender.Drain excess water and keep it aside.Soak tamarind in a little water for sometime,mash it well with the hand,strain and reserve the tamarind juice.Grind together coconut,jeera,shallots,turmeric powder and red chilly powder into a rough and coarse paste.Add this paste into the cooked tapioca pieces and mix well.

Now switch on the heat to low and cook the tapioca for 1 minute,stirring frequently.Add curry leaves,tamarind water (or curd ) and cook until it is thick.Garnish with coconut oil
and remove from heat.

23 Responses to “Kappa/Tapioca Aviyal”

  1. Coffee said

    WOW!!! I love kerela food!!!! And this sounds lovely :)

    Hope you are recovering fine now :)

    Yeah..almost better now,Coffee
    Thanks
    Annita

  2. Swathy said

    Hmm, it must be really difficult with fever around the house,
    Take Care …and hope you all get well soon..

    Rgds,
    Swathy.

    Thanks Swathy..We are getting better here.
    Annita

  3. RP said

    A new kappa dish! Enticing!

    Mutta aviyal? How could that be? I hope you will share it one day.

    Yeah..will surely share that soon..It is simple RP,instead of kappa,just use boiled eggs quartered.
    Annita

  4. hey thanks for sharing this recipe
    cant wait to try out

    Thanks Jaya,Try it out and let me know how it turned out for u.
    Annita

  5. indira nair said

    hi annita,
    mutta aviyal,thakkali aviyal ,kappa aviyal,chakka aviyal etc are my amma’s speciality too. and my brother’s name is Deepu hihi.
    indira

    You too from trivandrum??,I think these are tvm specials..:))
    Annita

  6. hi Annita,

    hope you feel better and so does your fmaily ..

    this sounds good and looks even better:)

    Thanks Meenal,I’m almost ok now,but my son is still sick..:((
    Annita

  7. Jo said

    Hi Annita,

    I recollect my mom telling me that curd in an avial should be added only in the end,that is, when the heat is turned off and the avial has cooled a little. Otherwise, the curd will curdle. is it true ?

    Get well soon !

    In normal Aviyal i also do the same way only..But for this my MIL ,adds curd in an early stage and then you have to stir it continuosly in very low heat..Other wise,yes the curd can curdle.This dish is somewhat thick than the normal aviyal,and may be bcoz of that curd is added first,and then it is thickened in low heat.Also you can use tamarind instead of curd,so no worries of curdling also…

    And Thanks Jo
    Annita

  8. shaheen said

    oh, another kappa dish. what do u think, should we have a blog dedicated to only kappa?Why is this called an avial?is it a generic term for mashed, do u think?

    I think it may be bcoz the preparation process and the ingredients(to grind) are almost same as ‘Aviyal’.Not sure though..

    Annita

  9. Jo said

    I am from Trivandrum too !!!

    Where r u in Tvm?My husband is from Poojappura..
    Annita

  10. Susan said

    Hi Annita,
    Belated newyr greetings and get well soon.
    Curry leaves theernnupoyo?…………susan

    Theernnu poyi..susan..kandu pidichalle…adi vaangikkum ketto..:))
    Annita

  11. Rg said

    Hope you are doing Ok now. Take care!!

    Oh BTW,Thanks for the kappa aviyal recipe. Sounds interesting. I’ve just one yucca root left in my refrigerator, I’ll try this aviyal recipe with that today or tommorrow. I’ll come back with the results. :)

    Waiting to hear your results,dear..And i’m perfectly ok now
    Annita

  12. Bindu said

    hey Annita!

    it has been a while since i visited your blog..and i a reading about your whole family came down with fever? I sincerely hope you all are doing well now. I know it can be very tormenting. As for me, I became a mother yet again on 22nd December and have another son now. That would explain my reason of absence:) Well,it is good to be back..You take care. Will keep visiting now on…Bye

    Wow..thats a great news,dear..Howz ur lil one doing?
    Annita

  13. Bindu said

    btw, I love kappa..we call it kollikkizhangu at my place. I love preparing it with just ulli and turmeric a nd chillies or just saute it with mustard,curry leaves and whole red chillies with spices. But surely will try this recipe of yours. My Achhan prepared aviyal once with kolli.and it was great. Thanks for sharing dear…

    Thanks for dropping by,Bindu
    Annita

  14. Bindu said

    hey annita….sorry for another question…

    i had a real bad craving for the “sharkara payasam” during my last trimester…you know the kind we get as prasadam in temples in kerala? not watery but thick and very very tasty…do you know the recipe for that? or anyone who knows this recipe? please let me know dear. Thanks…

    I’m sorry Bindu,I donno the recipe of that..but i’ll surely try to get a recipe for u..And if i can found one,i’ll send that to u,ok..
    take care
    Annita

  15. Rg said

    Annita, I tried out your kappa aviyal recipe. It tasted so good, I finished it off in just one sitting. I’ll be making it frequently from now on. The only difficulty was cutting it into long thin pieces…..:) Anyways, thanks again for this wonderful recipe Annita.

    Cutting part is difficult for me too,Rg.
    Annita

  16. Bindu said

    hi dear..

    lil one is doing ok. both the boys are keeping me on my toes:)literally!
    hey, i tried kappa aviyal,it came out okay. i think i made a mistake by draining all the water after cooking kappa, so mine turned out really really thick..maybe next time will try doing it right! i also tried unniyappam…it came out good. thanks for your recipes dear..btw,your teddy bear cake? MARVELLOUS is the word!!i cant imagine me making that kinda effort…ever!! you r great! ur hubby and kids are so lucky:))

    Its a dry dish,Bindu..And thank you for your lovely comments..
    Take care and my hugs to your lil’ darling..
    Annita

  17. Bindu said

    Hey Annita!

    I have 2 paneer dish recipes that i would like to share..where and how shall i post it? or i can simply email to you..you can try and then if turns out good, post it in your style..with photos and all..:)) leme know.

    Bindu,if you’ve the photoz of those dishes,you can send me that also along with the recipes in an email..I’ll surely post it in your name..you can send me an email to annita_joseph@yahoo.com.I really appreciate your attitude of sharing nice recipes with us..
    Thankyou dear.
    Annita

  18. Bindu said

    Annita, i sent the recipes to you this morning, but both mails bounced back..looks like tha email address is incomplete…after ‘I’ there shud be either n or something:)or no I at all just yahoo.com i think..leme know and will send it again.

    Sorry Bindu,There’s no I..Its just annita_joseph@yahoo.com or annitajoseph@gmail.com..
    Annita

  19. Mythreyee said

    Thank you for the recipe with kuchi kizhangu. This is the only Indian recipe with tapioca I found on the net other than kuchi kizhangu chips. I am going to try this recipe today itself. Thanks again.

    Thank you Mythreyee..And welcome to my blog
    Annita

  20. Nishanth said

    Good post..

  21. I would like for Google Tv to be made available for use on cell phones.

  22. Awesome website man, looks very nice. Ive been looking for something like this.

  23. vimal said

    Go to http://www.facekoot.com for details about the Kappa/Tapioca Aviyal

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

