My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Kappa Vevichathu/Cooked Tapioca- Rp’s style

Posted by Annita on December 11, 2006

My amma hails from Kanjirappally,Kottayam,where people cannot live without kappa(Tapioca) and chakka(Jackfruit),and she is  not an exception either.We used to have kappa atleast once a week,i’ve taken kappa in various forms and with various accompaniments and love all those.But RP’s way of preparation was new to me..being an ardent lover of kappa,i couldn’t resit trying it.It was really great RP,we loved the combo too.Thanks a lot.

Kappa Vevichathu

Here goes the recipe..

Ingredients :-

Kappa(Tapioca/Yuca root) cleaned and cut into small pieces – 2
(If you are unfamiliar with cleaning a Kappa,refer this from Inji’s)
Finely chopped Onion – 1
Red Pepper Flakes – 1 tsp
Curry leaves – 1 sprig
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Oil – as needed
Salt – to taste.

Method:-

Wash tapioca pieces 2 or 3 times in running water.Drain it and keep aside.Boil water in a big vessel adding the tapioca pieces into it.When the water starts to boil,strain the water.Again boil water with tapioca pieces and salt.Cook until it is soft and tender.Drain the excess water. Alternatively you can use a pressure cooker also to cook tapioca.

Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Add in onions,curry leaves and red pepper flakes and fry until onion turns brown.Mix in the tapioca using a wooden spatula.Serve with the curry of your choice.

Kappa Vevichathu
Kappa served with coconut milk fish curry

17 Responses to “Kappa Vevichathu/Cooked Tapioca- Rp’s style”

  1. Susan said

    HI Annita,
    Kazhikkan varatte………. Lovely presentation

    Thanks Susan
    Annita

  2. Sri said

    hi Annita We love love love kappa….especially withh mathi curry. I add turmeric and garlic to it. kappa looks good.

    Thanks for the info,Sri
    Annita

  3. Sumin said

    Hi Annita,

    Your dish looks delicious.Can the yuca root available in american stores be used??Is it yuca root or cassava??Which is most similar in taste to our kappa.Keep up the work…!!!

    Yeah..I use the yuca root only..I think cassava,kappa and yuca are all same..Refer Wiki here
    Hope this helps..
    Annita

  4. rp said

    Awww…I came here to refer your kappa kuzhachathu recipe..because I have some dried kappa and I thought I would refer yours and inji’s recipe before I attempt to cook it..and look what you have done. You surprised me by making this kappa recipe… Thanks annita, I feel so happy.

    I am also happy to see ur comment here,RP..
    Annita

  5. Asha said

    Great pics and recipe.Enjoy.

    I love the fish curry too!:))

    Thanks again,Asha
    Annita

  6. Archana said

    Got to make it NOWWWWW.
    Nice photo too. Thank you.

    Thanks dear
    Annita

  7. Saffron said

    yummm… this looks delicious! I love all starchy tubers and have to give this a try..

    cheers!

    Thanks Saffron
    Annita

  8. Sumitha said

    Annita I tried both the pineapple pachadi and zucchini thoran from your blog,loved the pachadi,since zucchini is a new to my taste buds,I am getting to like it now.Thanks Annita:)Annita I have posted a query in your Fish pickle post,can you please help?

    Thanks for letting me know about it Sumi..U still in the hangovers of the vaccation?
    I was a little busy for the last 2 days..will surely answer ur query,sorry for the delay..
    Annita

  9. bhargavi said

    Looks delicious. Nice photos.
    Good day!

    Thanks Bhargavi
    Annita

  10. Siddhu said

    Hi Annita,
    Just found your Blog through another site. I am from Malaysia.I visited Kerala in March this year for the first time to visit a friend in Kotyam(sp?)Ate Kappa with Meen red curry for first time too. No words to describe it-DELICIOUS and finger-licking good! So happy to find your recipe, am attempting it this weekend for family.They have never eaten Keralite food. Thanks for sharing and your Blog is awesome! BTW,had the sweetest Chakka ever from my friend’s farm. Regards from Malaysia.

    Many thanks for visiting my blog,Siddhu,You are very lucky to visit Kerala..we all miss home very much…:((
    Happy X’mas and Happy new year to you and your family.
    Annita

  11. Rose said

    Hi I was going through your website and the recepies were all familier and later only I realized that your mom is from Kply. (i am also from there) so I thought of writing to you

    love
    rose

    Happy to know about u,Rose..Where in kanjirappally?My amma might know your family .And she’s here with us now..

    Annita

  12. Sayi said

    Kappa is my favourate, we get this in US , but no mathi curry !!!

  13. rose said

    Hi Annita,

    Now only I saw your comments to my mail. My house is near to Govt Hospital. MY family name is Karippaparambil- Poovancy. By the way where is your mums house

    Your site is very nice.

    regards

    rose

  14. mirando city texas car insurance

    pigeons.kilobyte afterthought Asiaticize

  15. Lekshmy said

    Annnita…again here ….http://www.eastern.in/kerala/streetfoodofkerala_display-receipe_refid-86-keralarecipe-Kappa_Vevichathu.htm

    lekshmy

  16. Latestcottage cheese recipestips…

    […]Kappa Vevichathu/Cooked Tapioca- Rp’s style « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  17. Matt. said

    Thanx for this recipie ! Amazing taste with fish curry…………………………………….!!!!

    Matt from Australia.

Leave a Reply

 
