My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Fish curry in Coconut Milk

Posted by Annita on December 11, 2006

This is also from RP’s Workshop.Give it a try friends, i’m sure you’ll love it.This goes well with rice,kappa or even roti.Thanks again RP for this simple recipe.

Fish curry with coconut milk

Ingredients:-

Fish diced – 2 cups
Finely chopped Onion/shallots – 1/2 cup
Fenugreek seeds (Uluva)- 1/4 tsp
Crushed garlic cloves – 3
Minced ginger – 1 tbsp
Green chillies chopped – 4
Chilly powder – 1 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Camboge(Kudam puli) – 1 piece
Curry leaves – 2 sprigs
Thick coconut milk – 1 and 1/2 cups
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Wash and soak kudam puli in 1/4 cup of warm water and keep it aside.
Heat oil in a pan and add fenugreek seeds and fry for few seconds.Add in onion, garlic, ginger,green chillies and curry leaves.Stir and cook until onion turns translucent.Add in chilly powder,turmeric powder and salt.Stir for a while,and add fish pieces.Cover and cook for few minutes stirring in between.Now add kudampuli along with the water.Stir and add coconut milk.Bring it to a boil stirring occasionally.Simmer and cook for few more minutes.Switch off the heat and serve.

29 Responses to “Fish curry in Coconut Milk”

  1. shilpa said

    Lovely fish curry Annita. I will try it sometime. I have never cooked fish with coconut milk as we always make it with normal coconut. I am sure I will love this version.

    Yeah..if you like the flavour of coconut,u’ll surely love it Shilpa
    Annita

  2. shaheen said

    i too had made this curry recently. it really is a nice curry. don”t tell RP.:)

    hehe…illa njan parayunnilla…:))
    but the curry was too good ..
    Annita

  3. rp said

    hmmm I didn’t come here….didn’t see anything…didn’t hear anything. :)

    It was super delicious,RP..many thanks for teh recipe
    Annita

  4. gowri said

    Annita,
    Delicious looking curry. Can I use any fish to make this curry?? i will try soon. thanx

    Yeah,u can use any kind of fish u like
    Annita

  5. Rg said

    No coriander powder, eh? ok, will give this a try this weekend and will let you know. Thanks Annita and RP.

    Thanks Rg…Merry X’mas to u and ur family
    Annita

  6. Rehna said

    Hi Chechi,

    I used to try most of your receipes & everything came out fine. I really thank you for the receipes & the way of its presentation ( there lies the real magic ). I had tried lot of other receipes from other sources which forced me to go back to the normal food that I used to make. But your site really made me a good cook. My friends at X’mas party congratulated for my dishes ( all from you… So the credit goes to you..:-) ). Expecting more receipes from you… Everyday i used to check your site for a receipe ….

    Again thanks….

    i’m so happy to read your comments,Rehna..Thanks for visiting my blog.
    A very happy new year to you and your family.
    Annita

  7. tommy said

    hello,
    i used to live in india for a while and came across some fantastic fish curry during a boat trip in the backwaters near cochin. as a sidedish, there was a wonderful tastic red chutney, maybe consisting of beetroot or something similar, which made the meal an unforgotten experience. i woander somebody knows it and may pass me some receipt. thanks alot, happy new year

    tommy

    Was the chutney sweet or hot?.if that’s hot it might be red chilly chutney or onion chutney ,which i’ve already posted in my blog..Anybody else know any sweet chutney which is red in color?Pls share …

    Thanks
    Annita

  8. reet sagoo said

    its really amazing………..so simple but so veryt delicious ..easy to cook but hard to leave
    good job.

  9. Sayi said

    Coooolll no other food is as tasty as our kerala food

  10. saritha said

    Hi Annita,

    i tried this fish curry yesterday..nannayi vannu.Thanks .

  11. Finla said

    Hi Anitta
    My stock of Kudam puli is finished so can i use tamarind instead and can i use prawns instead of fish pieces
    Addicted to you blog :-)))
    Finla

  12. Remya said

    Annita…my husband absolutely enjoyed yesterday’s lunch because of this fish curry..thanks alot..looking forward for your new recipes to be added soon..

  13. Jumana said

    Hi Annita, I was looking for coconut fish curry recipe on the net and came across your site. I was impressed with the pic and decided to try it out. Allthough the fish curry came out good, it didnt look anything like the pic! :-( Did u add some coloring to the curry? Or tomatoes? was it kashmiri chilly powder that you used? Do let me know pls.
    Thanks for the recipe.
    Jumana

  14. Jeny said

    Tried this recipe yesterday…it turned out just perfect..I used tamarind..but it tasted gr8..VEry simple yet delicious..Way to go Annita…You just made my day…and this comes from some1 who’s made fish curry for the first time in her entire life..love ur blogs…look forward to seeing more!!

  15. nazrina said

    currry powder about 4 tablespoon
    asam about 1 big lump soak it inwater
    try to use the low fat coconut milk
    cumin powder 2 teaspoons

  16. Savitha said

    Hi Annita,

    I was just browsing thru the web to find some recipe for fish cooked in coconut milk and I came across your blog. I just prepared it and it tastes so yummy. Its a very simple yet tasty. Im sure my hubby will love it.
    Thanks and keep going.

  17. Preethi said

    Where will we get kodum pulli here in the US?

    I’ve seen it in some Indian grocery stores…Check it out in your Indian stores…
    Annita

  18. hazel said

    anitha,
    curry was yummyyyyy
    cud’nt restrict licking my fingers…:)

    Thank u,hazel..
    Annita

  19. Leena Nebu said

    made it yesterday. could not get the same colour maybe because i used the chilly powder which does not give colour but is very spicy. but it turned out good.my husband also liked it.

    May be bcoz of chilly powder only…Anyway i’m happy to hear that u’ve liked it.
    Annita

  20. Mili said

    Hi annita…made this dish today…turned out really good…yummyyy…..

  21. seger vid prog blackjack bonus kod…

    indentations Sumner enabling Danubian tufts?…

  22. […] Great for making fish curry. Here is a recipe: Fish curry in Coconut Milk My Treasure…My Pleasure […]

  23. shibin 8th std said

    occasionaly stir,this means wether we have stir it on occasions like christmas ,onam etc,is that so,i humbly request for ur reply.

  24. phuket said

    ya i tried your blog dish in phuket Thailand.I put tamarind instead of cudam pulli because it is not available here.But any way the curry was fantastic and its remembered me cochin.I would like to say to you my kind thank you.pls write about more cooking.
    Joseph
    Phuket/Cochin
    ephuket.net

  25. Thank you very much.Will be trying again.

  26. partha randhir said

    Tried out your recipie

    I made it for a party so i used 2 kg of fish fillet and used the milk extracted from one whole coconut….changed it a bit n it came out superbly.
    one of the best fish curries that ive made
    your recipies are simple tasty and easy to make thats why its sooo much of fun.
    Thank you very much

  27. Harish said

    Vry vry tasty meen curry..Thanks a lot..

  28. old books said

    old books…

    […]Fish curry in Coconut Milk « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
