My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Apricot Glaze

Posted by Annita on October 16, 2006

Apricot glaze prevents the crumbs from the cut sides of the cake,getting into icing.So brush all the cut out pieces with apricot glaze,and leave them to dry before applying any kind of icing or frosting.

Apricot Glaze
Apricot Glaze

Here’s the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Apricot Jam/jelly – 450 g (1 lb or 3 1/2 cups)
Water – 3 tbsp

Method:-

Gently heat jam and water in a saucepan ,stirring in between until melted.Boil rapidly through 1 minute,and then strain it through a sieve.Using a spoon,rub through as much fruit as possible,and discard the skins left in the sieve.

Pour the leftover glaze into a hot jar.Cool and close the jar tightly.It can be stored in refrigerator for more than 2 months.

P.S:- You can always substitute any other jam/jelly for Apricot.

Recipe Source:-First Steps in Cake Decorating by Janice Murfitt

6 Responses to “Apricot Glaze”

  1. RP said

    Annita, can we use any jam for this purpose? Or only apricot?

    Yes RP..You can use any jam u like..I forgot to mention that in the post..Thanks for reminding me about it.

    Annita 

  2. sks said

    Annita,
    this was one trick that i learnt very late in the short lived baking career and it works like a charm. after that i used this everywhere.

  3. Meettu said

    Hi Annita,
    I tried making whipped cream by using whipping cream powder.
    I added cold water to the powder and mixed them using a egg beater.
    The turned out to be thick,but they were not fluffy.
    What should I do get really light and fluffy whipped cream.

    I made the cream for black forest cake.I want to make the perfect whipped cream for my Black forest cake.

    Could you pleas help me….

    Regards,
    Meettu

  4. Very good information, really educational and you just mention some wonderful issues. I am disagreeing with my mother with this area of interest for many years and under no circumstances have a common ground. I’ll go ahead and unquestionably show them your blog post so that it gives us extra to debate. With thanks!

  5. The points you discussed here are quite priceless. It turned out such an exciting surprise to have that looking forward to me after i woke up now. They are continually to the point plus easy to interpret. Thanks a lot for the innovative ideas you’ve got shared here.

  6. Some really wonderful posts on this site, appreciate it for contribution. “Give me the splendid silent sun with all his beams full-dazzling.” by Walt Whitman.

Leave a Reply

 
