My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Masala Baingan/Bharwan Baingan

Posted by Annita on September 30, 2006

If someone ask me about the vegetable I love most,I can say without any thinking..”Its Eggplant..“.My eyes always get struck with any eggplant dishes, whenever I hop through the food blogs.This was one such dish,which I decided to give a try from the very first sight,and it was really really good.The recipe is from dear Asha’s Foodie’s Hope,she has many more Eggplant dishes,and most of them are in my ‘Must try’ waiting list.

Masala Baingan
Masala Baingan

Ok,now the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Eggplant diced into small pieces- 1 big
Chopped Onion – 1
Chopped Cilantro – 2 tsp
salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

For Grinding:-

Dry Coconut – 1/4 cup
Coriander Seeds – 1 tbsp
Onion – 1
Cloves – 4
Pepper corns – 4
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Chilly POwder – 1/2 tsp
Cashew Nuts – 6
Sugar – 1/2 tsp
Tamarind Paste – 2 tsp

For Garnishing:-

Chopped Cilantro
Heavy Cream

Method:-

Dry roast all the ingredients for grinding,cool it and grind to a smooth paste.Keep aside.
Heat oil in a pan,add chopped onion and fry it until brown.Add eggplant pieces and any other veggies(optional),and fry it until they are almost done.Stir in the masala paste,salt and cilantro and fry it until thick and oil starts to seperate.

Garnish it with cilantro and heavy cream and serve hot with roti/chappathi.Asha says it tastes delicious if roasted pototo or fried pearl onions is added to the dish.Hopefully i’ll try adding them next time.
Thanks again Asha for this wonderful recipe.

13 Responses to “Masala Baingan/Bharwan Baingan”

  1. Archana said

    I love eggplants too, a must try. Thank you for the recipe

  2. Asha said

    Thanks Annita for trying my recipe!! I am very flattered and very glad that you liked it!! Try many more and enjoy them all!!:))) Cheers…

  3. Daagh said

    wonderful yet simple recipe. Baingan is one of my fav vegetable as well :-)

  4. Bindu said

    Annita, sure looks yummy. Thanks to Asha and you:) will def try this one soon.

    Try it out Bindu,u’ll surely love it
    Annita

  5. Bindu said

    just wanted to add one info…’bharwan baingan’ is one where you fill small brinjals with lot of masala and fry. they dont chop the brinjals in that one.they just make slits and fill in the masalas.
    Thanks for the info ,Bindu.Next time i’ll surely try like that..U r from Kerala,and still u seems to be familar with many North Indian dishes,:))
    Annita

  6. bindu said

    Thats because my husband is from Delhi. I was brought up in Delhi too. He is not from Kerala. So, my expertise is more in north indian cooking. because when i was growing up, my amma did all the cooking:)south indian cooking i mean. we had the typical Malayalee diet. but after marriage that all changed. my mother in law taught me all the north indian way of cooking. and after coming here, i experimented with tonnes of north indian recipes because my husband is very fond of different style of cooking and food. hence the knowledge of north indian cooking:)) but after visiting your blog i am keen on learning the authentic south indian cooking, because my husband loves south indian food too! and moreover i love it too!brings back so many old memories. and thats thanks to you.

    Good for u,now you could master both north indian and south indian cooking.LAst week I’ve been in LA.I thought of you,where are u in California?

    Annita 

  7. Bindu said

    Hi Annita. How are you doing?I was wodering where you’ve been:) So,you had a good time in LA? Well, I am in San Jose. LA is a long drive from where i stay. 5 hour drive I think. Whenever you come this side, even to San Francisco, we should meet up. I would love to meet you and your family.Take care…

    Thanks for the invitation,Bindu..I don’t think i will be coming to California again in near future…Anyway if ever i’m coming,will surely let u know about it.

    Annita 

  8. RIA said

    Hi,

    I am trying this recipe today. it is easy. but i would like to know what is “heavy cream.

    which cream to be used here….is sour cream fine.

    thank you.
    ria

    Heavy cream is heavy whipping cream which is available in all grocery stores,Ria..And sour cream is different from heavy cream

    Annita

  9. Linda said

    Hi Annita I was just browsing and came across your website and I am so excited now. I already prepared the neychoru & Chettinadu mutton curry and my husband loved it. I made the Gulab Jamun too. That came out real good. THanks for all your posts. ITs so detail with so many pictures.
    I have a question on the “Masala Baingan/Bharwan Baingan” recipe. You mentioned one heany paste. What is that? Where do I get that from or How do I make it? Thanks a lot

    Regards
    Linda.

    Its not heavy paste Linda,its heavy whipping cream which can be easily available in local grocery stores in dairy section..If you’re in U.s,you can get it in Walmart,Kroger anywhere….
    Annita

  10. Linda said

    Ok. Thank you. I guess njan motham vayichilla. Yeah I am in US.

    You’re welcome Linda
    Annita

  11. Jerry said

    Need to add more light, before taking picture.

  12. Nikita said

    I actually found it superb

  13. Miguel said

    I got this site from my pal who shared with me on the topic of this web page and now this time I am browsing this
    website and reading very informative posts at this time.

Leave a Reply

 
