My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Gobi Mussallam

Posted by Annita on September 13, 2006

This is another dry and mild dish which goes with roti.I got the recipe from Bawarchi‘s downloadable recipes section.Its like an online handy cookbook for me,with lots of recipes,neatly categorised and well presented.

Gobi_Mussallam
Gobi Mussallam

See the recipe here..

Ingredients:-

Cauliflower cut into florets – 1 medium sized
Chopped Onion – 1
Ginger-Garlic paste – 1 tsp
Tomato puree – 1/4 cup
Cumin powder – 1/2 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1 tsp
Red chilly powder – 1/2 tsp
Coriander powder -1/2 tsp
Garam masala powder – 1/2 tsp
Chopped coriander leaves – 1 tsp
Oil – as needed
Salt – to taste

Method:-

Boil cauliflower florets in salted water adding half of turmeric powder till it is cooked half.Heat oil in a pan ,add onions and saute till brown.Add in ginger-garlic paste,cumin powder,coriander powder,garam masala powder,remaining turmeric powder and salt,and stir thoroughly for a while.Now add tomato puree,and saute it till oil seperates.Throw in half cooked cauliflower florets and cook for 5- 10 mts in medium heat,stirring occasionally.
Garnish with chopped coriander leaves and serve.

Gobi_Mussallam served with chappathi

32 Responses to “Gobi Mussallam”

  1. Shuba said

    This looks delicious…looks like gobi manchurian but not deep fried!!!…thats nice..will try this

    It tastes very much different from gobi manchurian…Try it out sometime.

    Annita

  2. Rg said

    looks wonderful! will sure try this one out. thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Thanks dear..

    Annita 

  3. Archana said

    A must try ! I have tasted murg mussallam, was not really aware of a veggie version. Will try this out for sure. Thank you for the recipe. Hope you are all settled in your new place.

    Is there a murg mussllam too..I’ve to search for that recipe now..Thanks Archana.And we are all well setlled in new place.Thanks again for asking

    Annita 

  4. maheswari said

    Looks delicious..as mentioned above looks alot like gobi manchurian.Will try soon..

    Try it out Maheswari,and let me too know about the results.Thanks

    Annita 

  5. shaheen said

    annita,there seems to be gobi recipes galore now.. saw gobi manchurian and now urs. so i have two new recipes to try out. thanks

    Me too saw Priya’s gobi manchurian,Shaheen..And i’ve tried out ur madakki pathiri,it came out soo good..will be posting the photos soon..

    Annita 

  6. MenuToday said

    Hi Annita,
    New recipe to try.. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks Menutoday

    Annita 

  7. Anita…its is so easy and simpe to make– must try recipe— nice picture!!

    Thanks again,Priya

    Annita 

  8. Rashmi said

    Annita,

    I tried this recipe.Chk it out. http://websamayal.blogspot.com/2006/09/szechuan-egg-fried-rice.html

    Thanks for trying it out Rashmi.And ur version looks delicious.

    Annita 

  9. prema said

    Hi Annita,
    The picture looks so wonderful that Iam tempted to try out this..thanks for the recipe.

    Thanks for dropping by ,Prema

    Annita 

  10. Meena said

    this looks great..with no deep frying..a must try..thanks for sharing

    Thanks Meena.

    Annita 

  11. Priya said

    Hi Anita,
    I just loved this recipe the moment I read it and so I tried it out last night. It is such a simple recipe and yet so tasty. I dint have tomato puree and so used fresh tomatoes and some ketchup. This is surely going to get into my frequent list for cauliflower.

    Happy to hear that u all loved it,Priya..

    Annita 

  12. Anupama said

    Beautiful recipe annita, I love to try out these daily veggies like gobi etc in a different way,and I like garam masala a lot too.

    Thanks Anu..,Me too love garam masala..:))

    Annita 

  13. Vaishali said

    Looks like a simple yet tasty dish, Annita. I guess, I’ll try it out soon.

    Try it out and let me know about it,Vaishali

    Annita 

  14. RP said

    Looks great Annita! I would love to try it soon.

    Thanks Rp

    Annita 

  15. Asha said

    I know about that downloadable recipe site, really cool!! Good that you tried one of those, looks good!! Thanks Annita!

    It has a lot of wonderful recipes,rt?I simply love those collections..

    Annita 

  16. Anju said

    Hey this is a cool way to try cauliflower… had no idea cauliflower sabzi could taste so good :)
    thanks anita…

    Thanks Anju..I am very much familiar with ur name..”Anju Raveendran.:”have u done ur college or schooling in Ernakulam?

    Annita 

  17. Jayshree said

    A simple dish to try.. Thnx for sharing

    Thanks a lot Jayshree
    Annita

  18. […] Method: Cook the rice separately in a pan such that the grains doesn’t stick to each other. Add pinch of salt and 1 spoon of oil while cooking the rice. Allow it to cool and keep it aside.Now, take a non stick pan and heat the olive oil. Add the finely minced garlic and fry it. It adds more flavor to the rice. Add red chilly flakes and fry it. Add the frozen veggies and saute it . Add the spring onions and fry it. Now add pepper, salt and Ajinomoto. Add soy sauce and stir it well. Now add the cooked rice and mix it well. Scramble the egg separately and add to the rice. After seeing Rashmi’s(Websamayal) fried rice i too tried the side dish of Annita’s-(My Treasure My Pleasure ’s) Gobi recipe. It came out good. […]

  19. Rg said

    Annita, I tried this recipe y/day for dinner. It was simple, easy to make and it tasted good(next time, I’ll probably add some crushed garlic too to it as I love garlic flavor). anyways, thanks for sharing this wonderful simple recipe.

    Even I love garlic flavour.Its a nice idea to add garlic in it.I’ll also add it next time.Thanks Rg
    Annita

  20. Jeevani said

    Try this recipe for Kesar Gobi – Cauliflower florets cooked in a paste of almond and saffron.

    http://www.happyonion.com/showrecipe.php?recipeid=276

  21. Nita said

    tried this recipe! very tasty..thnx

    Thank you for letting me know about it,Nita
    Annita

  22. Calvin said

    Awesome dish…I also used ketchup and didnt have garlic paste with me..basically put garlic ginger in mixer with too much water and crushed somewhat and used it…Inspite of it….it came out well and tasty…Thanks…Im an Indian student in the US who looks for such easy recipes to do….Thanks a lot.

    Happy to know that u liked it,Calvin…
    Annita

  23. Neelima said

    Dear Anita,

    I kept wondering how to make good curry out of cauliflower. Thanks for your receipe. I have added extra tomato puree to make it little more gravy so that it can be used for both rice and chapathi.

    neelima

  24. anu said

    i was searching for good curry with cauliflower. It was simple and easy to make. thanku for ur recipe
    ………….

    Thanks Anu
    Annita

  25. nidhi said

    hi
    Ive always stayed away from cauliflower recipes thinking its too difficult to make.but this one was so easy, simple and tasty! Thanks a lot for posting it. Im looking for good aloo recipes too. Please share them if you have any.

    Will try to post some aloo recipes soon..
    Annita

  26. nidhi said

    also need to mention – of all the kerala cuisine blogs ive come across, yours is by far the best and easiest recipes. I really have to thank you because your recipes have made me change from a person who knew absolutely no cooking (and had no interest for it either )to someone who loves to explore new recipes today! in fact, any kerala item i make at home today is picked from your recipes.

    Thank you very much…Nice to know that i’m inspiring others to cook..Do visit my blog and write to me when time permits..

    Annita

  27. Pies1 l Pie Recipes2 l Perfect Pie Recipes3…

    […]Gobi Mussallam « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  28. KitchenAid Professional 600 Mixer…

    […]Gobi Mussallam « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  29. Monalisa said

    The picture looks so yummmy…
    So less ingrdients.
    I have to tell my mom to prepare this.
    I love trying new nw recipes.
    Thanks for this recipe.

  30. Monalisa said

    Once we boil bdthe cauliflower it didnt taste good.
    It lost the taste and the didnt taste nice.
    Is there not another way?

  31. Odessa said

    Can I simply just say what a comfort to discover
    a person that actually knows what they are discussing on the internet.
    You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make
    it important. More people should read this and understand this side
    of your story. I was surprised that you are not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  32. What i do not understood is in truth how you are not actually much more neatly-preferred than you might be now.

    You’re so intelligent. You already know thus considerably in relation to this subject,
    made me in my view imagine it from a lot of various angles.
    Its like women and men don’t seem to be interested unless it’s one thing to accomplish
    with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs outstanding. At all times
    deal with it up!

Leave a Reply

 
