My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Cabbage Thoran

Posted by Annita on September 1, 2006

Thoran,a dry delicious side dish with coconut, is highly privileged to be a part of traditional Kerala Sadya.Thoran can be made using different vegetables ,but in my place we prepare only Cabbage Thoran for Sadya.A combination of vegetables can also be used to prepare thoran.

Cabbage Thoran
Cabbage thoran

Here’s my cabbage thoran recipe..

Ingredients:-

Finely sliced cabbage – 1/2
Green chillies – 8
Grated coconut – 1 cup
Garlic pods – 2
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Jeera – 1 tsp
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Urad dal – 1 tsp
Curry leaves – a sprig
Crushed chips(Banana,jackfruit,potato,Papad…..etc.even lays will do) – 1 tsp
(Note:-Adding crushed chips into thoran can enhance the taste.I adapted this from a Malayalee women’s magazine ‘Vanitha‘.)
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Grind grated coconut,turmeric powder,green chillies,jeera seeds and garlic into a coarse paste.Mix together cabbage ,salt and the ground mixture well with hand.Keep aside.
Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds to splutter.Add in urad dal and curry leaves and fry for a minute.Now add the cabbage into the pan and mix well.

Preparing Cabbage Thoran
Cabbage -Coconut mixture added into the pan

Cover it with a lid and allow it to cook in medium heat,stirring in between.You can add little water if needed,too much of water will always spoil the dish.
Following my amma’s method,I don’t add any water to the cabbage ,but i cover the cabbage with a lid or a plate which contains some water.And due to the moisture,water droplets forms under the lid,will drip into the pan in regular intervals,which prevents cabbage from sticking to the bottom.

Cooking Cabbage
Cabbage covered with a lid with some water

When the cabbage is almost done,add crushed chips,mix well and simmer for 3 more mts. Serve with rice.

9 Responses to “Cabbage Thoran”

  1. prema said

    Adding crushed chips to cabbage poriyal is a very diiferent one. I am going to try this out the next time.. Thanks for the recipe.

    You should try it out,Prema…
    Annita

  2. Rg said

    Crushed chips enhances the flavor, huh? I’ll sure try that out. thanks annita.

    Thanks Rg,Onam evide vare aayi..

    Annita

  3. Bindu said

    hi Annita!
    Hope you are doing well. I just had a question. When I make thoran with green beans, do i follow the same recipe for grinding the paste…as in cabbage thoran? or is there any difference? pls letme know ASAP as i plan to make it tonight)Thanks a bunch dear.

    Yeah Bindu,you can follow the same procedure.If you are short of time,u can even omit the grinding part.Just throw in all the ingredients,that’ll also work fine.
    Hope this helps.
    Annita

  4. Bindu said

    Appreciate your help Annita…Will do so. No, since I have time on my hand, i will make it the traditional way..but thanks for the tip. when i have little time, i will surely do that too;)

    Thanks Bindu.Did it turn good for u?
    Annita

  5. Bindu said

    Hi Annita!
    Just wanted to ask you something. I have been looking for an authentic “Puliyogare” recipe..or tamarind rice as some call it. i came across some..but not the authentic kind. Can you tell me if you have the recipe, or someone else you know has one? would really appreciate your help. Me and my husband love it. will wait for your reply as always. Thanks a bunch dear.

    Sorry Bindu,I don’t have a recipe of that.I haven’t even tried a Puliyogare as my husband doesn’t like it much.But i’ve found out a link for u,it looks authentic to me.And even the reviews are good.Here it is : http://www.pachakam.com/recipe.asp?id=548
    Hope this helps.
    Annita

  6. Bindu said

    Thankyou Annita. IT does look good to me too:))Appreciate your help.

  7. Sangeetha said

    I just made Cabbage Thoran for dinner. The aboce recipe ofcourse :-)….and i must say….THANKS….its has come out well :-)

    Thanks Sangeetha
    Annita

  8. Charline said

    Dear Annita,
    I’m a regular reader of your blog. I’m married to a malayalee and have a blog about Kerala cooking (part of it) in french, transmitted my mother in law mainly. I just posted a cabbage thoran and I have a question about the jeera. I’m almost sure that in my family in law they use fennel seeds (perumjeeragam) for thoran, but I see many recipes with jeera, or cumin. Can it be anything or is there a confusion? Is cumin widely used in Kerala (I’ve never tasted it in our family dishes, it’s always perumjeeragam, but i know how the local cookings are different ! ;) ) ?
    Thank you for your recipes that are really inspiring for me !

Leave a Reply

 
