My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Onion Chutney

Posted by Annita on August 30, 2006

I’ve tried this Onion Chutney last week.This is used as an accompaniment for various South Indian snacks,but i like it a lot with Idli and Dosa.The recipe is from my favorite Womens magazine ‘Vanitha‘.

Onion Chutney
Onion Chutney served with Dosas

Here’s the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Chopped Onion – 1/4 cup(I’ve used red onion)
Oil – 1 tbsp
Dried Red Chillies – 4
Ginger – a small piece
Tamarind – gooseberry sized ball
Curry leaves – a few
Salt – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in the pan and saute onion till translucent.Mix together sauteed onion and all the other ingredients and grind to a smooth paste. Chutney is ready to be served.

Dosa & Chutney

See more recipes of Onion Chutney from fellow bloggers :-

Krishna and Arjuna’s

My Dhaba’s

Indira’s

Reddy’s

Shireesha’s

Meena’s

RP’s

16 Responses to “Onion Chutney”

  1. Mini said

    Hello,

    I am also from kerala and I FOUND YOUR WEBSITE VERY INTERESTING….I wanted to ask you which rice do you use to make idlis???And also can you suggest how to use idli rawa ratio if using it instead of rice??Also how do you make the batter rise as mine never rises.Please help me out!!
    Keep posting yummy recipes..eagerly looking forward to see more…
    Thanks,
    Mini

    I normally use “Sona Masoori ‘ or ‘Long grain rice’.I haven’t tried with Idli rawa yet.Will give you a link and I’m sure it’ll help u..Here it is.

    http://vineelascooking.blogspot.com/2006/07/idly-with-vadai-currygarlic-golden_18.html

    And to make the batter rise up,just keep the mixture in some warm place for 8-10 hrs.Sometimes it can take longer than that.I always keep it inside my electric oven after preheating it for 30 seconds .I’ll be posting an Iddli recipe real soon.

    Thanks for visiting my blog,Mini. 

    Annita 

  2. Reshmi said

    Iddliyum sambarum nannayirikkunnu…..do u cook iddlies in the tradional “IddliKuttukam”, because iddli looks big and soft……can u share the receipe of iddli. I am also from Kerala.

    Yeah I’ve an iddli kuttakam,Reshmi.I’ll be posting iddli recipe real soon..may be just after Onam..

    Many thanks for dropping by.

    Annita 

  3. Rg said

    I sometimes make onion chutney the same way excluding the ginger. Mine always turns out to be a very light colored chutney. I wonder how u got that bright red color from sauteed onions? Thanks anyways for sharing.

    My red chillies gave that colorI suppose..,I didn’t add anything special in it…And I used red onions too…

    Annita

  4. Geena said

    Annita, I made this chutney and came out very good, but it was not red as yours, though I used red onion and dried red chilli. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe.
    where did you get the steel serving plate with small sections for curries. It looks very beautiful. Do we get it online? what is the name for the plate? Thanks in advance.

    I got those steel plates from India,geena..I donno if its available in Internet..
    And about the chutney,i too didnt get that red color when made it agaian..I think that was from the red chillies I had then..If you really want it to be red,replace some whole red chillies with kashmiri red chilly powder.
    Annita

  5. Geena said

    Thank you for the reply Annita. I will surely buy kashmiri chilli powder next time. I searched online for the stainless Steel serving plate but couldn’t find any.

    Do u have an old time pottery near your place..I got a small steel serving plate from there during thanksgiving sale…
    Annita

  6. Geena said

    Thanks again Annita, You are very helpful. I will surely look for any such place. Sorry for the late reply.

    You are very welcome,Geena
    Annita

  7. shaista said

    annita,
    this is one sensational chutney. just like my mom’s.

    Thanks Shaista..Try it out and let me know if you’ve liked it or not.
    Annita

  8. jyoti said

    Anita,
    I have tried few of your recipes and bookmarked many!!! Very nice and interesting blog.. I keep reading it regularly..
    I had made this chutney with dosa last night and really liked it.

    Thanks you Jyoti..and do visit me often
    Annita

  9. Smriti said

    Hi Annita, I tried this recipe and it tasted great! I’ve put a <a href=”http://svabhava.blogspot.com/2007/04/recipes-from-other-blogs.html” rel=”nofollow”>link</a> to it on my blog.

    Thank you for letting me know abt it,Smriti
    Annita

  10. TONY JOSEPH said

    Thanks annita for those recipes. Actually a great boon since i am starting to cook and stuck in nigeria without family. will keep you posted on outcomes. could you suggest some fish recipes

  11. […] by Annita on November 6, 2008 I’ve blogged about an Onion chutney before,eventhough this one is also prepared with Onions , this is not a chutney,we call it […]

  12. Sahaja said

    hey nice blog :) finally i found someone on wordpress having a cookery blog….
    i am fairly new to cooking but love to :)
    hey there is an event i am holding called single serving at spicyrasam….please hop on and wud be glad if u cud send me an entry :)

  13. zubdu said

    Please email to recipes.Thank you.

  14. felina said

    was going thro ur blog.til seed is also called sesame or gingelly.
    gingelly oil is cold pressed til seed oil, whereas the chinese use roasted til seed oil also called sesame.gingelly is made from black til seed.The flavour for sesame oil is different because it is roasted white seeds.This is my understanding.

  15. k

  16. […] a little more watery to dip the mysore bonda in.Beetroot pachadi – made 3 days ahead of time.Onion chutney – the recipe calls for tamarind which I didn’t have so I used lemon juice.Medhu vadai […]

Leave a Reply

 
