My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Chicken In Lemon Sauce

Posted by Annita on August 10, 2006

This recipe is from my treasured recipe series- Sanjeev Kapoor’s Khana Khazana- a collection of 8 books.I got this book at a reduced price,while we were in Bangalore.I’ve tried many recipes from it and they were all just perfect.

Khana Kazhana Recipe Collection
Sanjeev Kapoor’s Khana Kazana Series

Yesterday there was a potluck party at my husbands office,and he suggested cooking some non veg item.All of his colleagues are Americans and as they are very sensitive to spicy food,I had to look out for some mild non-spicy dishes.Finally I chose this Chicken in Lemon Sauce ,Indianized version of a Chinese dish and it was a big hit there.

Chicken In Lemon Sauce
Chicken In Lemon Sauce

Here’s the recipe..

Ingredients:-

Boneless Chicken Breasts- 4 or 5
Green Capsicum – 1 small sized
Red Capsicum – 1/2 small sized
Yellow Capsicum -1/2 small sized

Ingredients
Chicken & Capsicum pieces

Lemon Juice – 3 tbsps
Corn starch – 6 tbsps
White Pepper Powder – 1/2 tsp
Sugar – 3 tbsps
Star Anise – 1
Lemon Rind(grated) – 1 tsp
Chicken Stock – 2 cups
Garlic – 2 tsp (Optional)
(This is not in the original recipe.I’ve added it,as I love the garlic flavour)
Ajinomoto – 1/4 tsp (Optional)
Salt – to taste
Oil – 2 tbsps + to deep fry
Water – as needed
Method:-
Clean,wash and drain chicken breasts and cut it into small pieces.Marinate chicken in 1 tsp of lemon juice and salt.Blend 2 tbsps of cornstarch in 1/2 a cup of water.
Halve,deseed and cut capsicums into 1 inch sized pieces.Heat sufficient oil in a wok,roll marinated chicken pieces in remaining cornstarch and then deep fry it until crisp and light brown.Drain onto an absorbent paper.Heat 2 tbsps of oil in a wok or a pan,add capsicum pieces and stir fry briefly.Add pepper powder,ajinomoto,sugar,salt,star anise,lemon rind,chicken stock and bring to a boil.Stir in blended cornstarch and cook on medium heat till sauce starts to thicken.Add fried chicken pieces,and simmer for a couple of minutes.Stir in the remaining lemon juice and serve hot.

Chicken In Lemon Sauce

It goes very well with fried rice.

This is my entry for Tony’s Weekend Mela.

19 Responses to “Chicken In Lemon Sauce”

  1. Archana said

    Sounds very delicious, i am always on the look out for good chicken recipes. Thank you. Thanks a bunch for asking about me today Annita, i am going thru a hectic week at work. Hope everything slows down by the end of the week.

    Try it out Archana,u’ll definitely like it..

    Annita

  2. Puspha said

    The recipe sounds almost like the Chinese lemon chicken but with slight difference. It looks different too. Very nice.

    Happy to hear that u liked it,Pushpa..

    Annita 

  3. Lera said

    Wow! your pics are very appetizing.I can Imagine the taste.

    hmm..Try it out Lera and let me know about it.

    Annita 

  4. InjiPennu said

    This non spicy pot luck at office is always very hard for me. Should try this…! Sounds like a chinese-indian dish!

    Thanks again Injikutty..

    Annita 

  5. Rg said

    Wow! Annita… you’re quite amazing. ennikyum ippo cooking-il thalparyam vannu thudangi, all because of you, the great annita, and some of the other bloggers too…ningal-ku ellavarkum dhaanks :))

    I also used to struggle with the thought of what to prepare for the potluck party at my husband’s office and that too non-spicy….thanks to you I’ll try this recipe out for this year’s party … I’ve ample time to experiment it and then present it as the potluck normally here is around oct /nov or so….Again, annita……vallarre vallarre nanni. Keep it coming! :))

    Thanks Rg,As i’ve told u before,u r a real inspiration for me too…

    Annita 

  6. Reshmi Menon said

    Annita,
    You really amazes me!!My hubby is a gr8 chicken lover; should try this..

    Then ur hubby will surely love this,Reshmi..

    Annita 

  7. Anupama said

    Annita, looks like you are quite a sanjeev kapoor fan.

    yes..yes definitely..

    Annita 

  8. Prajakta said

    hi Annita

    Wow looks yummy! i m sure going to try this next weekend.I too hv some collection of sanjeev kapoor book!his all receipes r pretty gud and simple.

    i’m a great Sanjeev Kapoor fan,Prajaktha..Everything I cooked with his recipe,came  out good.. 

    Annita 

  9. shynee said

    Hmm…chicken…you r tempting me annita….Bt gluttony is no sin, right?!!I had been thinking of making a lemon chicken…checked a few recipes too..Now that u have tried I think I can fall back on u’r experience…

    you’ll love it Shynee..Guaranteed..!!..Only thing is its not that spicy..

    Annita 

  10. revathi said

    Who ever thinks that ONE MORE CHICKEN DISH is possible. It looks very gravy and yummy. Great one Annita !!

    Thanks a bunch,Revathi dear..

    Annita 

  11. lalitha said

    looks delicious.YUmmmmmy.

  12. Archana said

    Knock…Knock..
    Alevide?

    Present,maa’m..:))I was a bit lazy to blog for past 2 days ..But here it comes …

    And thanks a bunch for asking about me,Archana…:))

    Annita 

  13. prema said

    surely a different recipe worth trying…

  14. Archana said

    Annita,
    Will you send me an email?

    Yeah..sure..Archana

    Annita

  15. ayush arora said

    d chicke was awesome.
    u rock

  16. ayush arora said

    d chicken was awesome
    u rock

  17. Nimit Kathuria said

    correct me if I am wrong, but isn’t this copyright violation? Copying recipes from a book and posting them on your website?

    Hi,
    I dont think thats a copyright violation.Here I’m giving full credit to the author and i’m not claiming the recipe to be my creation…I could’ve written the recipe here in my name without mentioning anything about the cookbook or the author…if i wish…But I strongly believe thats very rude and i dont want to do that.Also i’m not copying any pictures from the cookbook..the pictures are all mine only..bUt as you said the recipe is taken from the cookbook only.I’m ready to take off the recipe from the blog if the author of the cookbook wishes so..

    And there are even some ‘cooking from cookbooks events’ ar also going on in the blogs..Check this out :
    http://weekendcookbookchallenge.blogspot.com/

    Annita

  18. lucy said

    Hi,
    The receipe sounds great and the dish lookd very yummy!!!
    great one Anita…I too i’, a Sanjeev Kapoor fan…i’m trying to get hold of some of his books….are they available anymore???

Leave a Reply

 
