My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Mushroom-Peas Pulao

Posted by Annita on July 30, 2006

I’ve also tried a pulao from Vineela’s Cooking.I’ve always been fascinated by her variety & creative dishes .This one was quite simple,flavourful and fast.Thanks Vineela for such a cool recipe.Mushroom lovers will surely fall for this one.I’ve added some mint leaves also to the recipe,as I love the flavour of mint,rest remains the same.

mushroom_peas.jpg
Mushroom-Peas Pulao

Here’s her recipe..

Ingredients:-

Boiled rice – 2 cups
Fresh button Mushrooms sliced – 5 nos
Frozen Green Peas -2 cups
Sliced Onion -2 nos
Green chillies julienned – 3 nos
Chopped garlic – 1tsp
Chopped ginger – 1tsp
Cinnamon – 1/2 inch piece
Cardamom(crushed) – 2nos
Cloves(crushed) – 2 nos
Cumin -1 tsp
Chopped Mint leaves – 1/4 cup
Red Chilly Powder – 1 tsp
Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in a pan and saute ginger and garlic.Add cumin seeds,green chillies and onions into it and saute until onion turns brown.Add mushrooms and saute for few minutes.Stir in Cinnamon ,Cardamom,cloves ,salt and green peas into it and cover it with lid.Allow it to cook in medium heat for 3-4 mins.Add in mint leaves,red chilly powder and the boiled rice.Mix well and simmer for 2 more minutes.Serve hot.

10 Responses to “Mushroom-Peas Pulao”

  1. mahek said

    i am going to try this as i love mushrooms and peas.

    Mushroom lovers should try it,Mahek..BTW I made a visit to you blog..I love goan cuisine..

    Annita

  2. vineela said

    Hi Annita,
    Mushroom pulov looks yummy.
    thanks for trying my recipe .It will be a nice dish to enjoy
    with family.This Mushroom pulov is for lg’s green blog project where my green is mint :-))

    Yeah..Vineela,,that was too good..especially for mushroom lovers like me..

    I had many of your dishes waiting to be tried out…

    Annita

  3. Rg said

    Annita, I tried this rice pulao y/day and it was good. I liked it. thanks a lot to you and Vineela for sharing this recipe.

    Thanks Rg,You are always been an inspiration to me..:))

    Annita

  4. gayathri said

    i am a fan of ur site. i tried ur veg fried rice, orange chicken & chilli fish during xmas ..it was wonderful. i would like to know the exact difference between fried rice ,pulao and biriyani?

    Thanks for letting me know about it,Gayatri.
    And about your question regarding the differences between pulao,biriyani & fried rice, I’ve found a well explained article in http://www.uppercrustindia.com and it states..
    “PULAO IS made by the absorption method of cooking rice. Biryani is made by the draining method of cooking rice. Fried Rice is a Chinese preparation which is made in a wok using Chinese spices and pre-cooked rice. In pulao the base ingredient is mixed with the rice, while in biryani the main ingredient is at the base of the vessel. In biryani lot of aromatic masala is used. Pulaos are relatively less spiced.”

    Hope this helps
    Annita

  5. […] The main course with a exotic Mushroom-Peas Pulao from Annita. […]

  6. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very completely happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  7. sofortkredit trotz schufa…

    […]Mushroom-Peas Pulao « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  8. daihatsu, kredit, terios, xenia, luxio, all new xenia, gran max pu, gran max mb, sirion, kas, kredit, cash, credit, astra, international, astra internasional, jl balikpapan, ronald…

    […]Mushroom-Peas Pulao « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  9. Bebölkerung…

    […]Mushroom-Peas Pulao « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

  10. When someone writes an article he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her mind that how a
    user can understand it. Therefore that’s why this post is great. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
