My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Chicken Curry with Potatoes

Posted by Annita on July 24, 2006

Last week i tried an amazing Chicken curry recipe from Meenakshi’s Hooked on Heat.The recipe was very easy and tasted great.Thankyou Meenakshi for sharing it.


Chicken curry with Potatoes

I’ve followed her recipe completeley and it here it goes…

Ingredients:-

Boneless chicken breasts sliced into small pieces – 2
Potatoes cut into quarters – 2
Thinly sliced Onions -2
Plain Yogurt -1/2 cup
Chopped Ginger – 1 tbsp
Chopped Garlic – 1 tbsp
Chopped Green chillies-1 tbsp
Red Chilly Powder – 1/2 tsp
Coriander Powder – 1 tsp
Turmeric Powder -1/4 tsp
Garam masala powder -1/2 tsp
Cumin powder -1/4 tsp
Kasoori Methi(Dried fenugreek leaves) – 1tbsp
(It is available in all Indian griocery stores)
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
Bayleaves -2
Cinnamon – 1
Curry leaves – a few
Oil – as needed
Salt – to taste
Water – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in a pan and add cumin seeds and curry leaves into it.Allow it to splutter and stir in cinnamon, bayleaves, ginger, garlic and green chillies.Saute it for a few seconds and add onions into it.Saute onions till they begin to brown and then add salt,chilli powder,cumin powder,coriander powder ,turmeric powder and garam masala powder.Fry it well till oil seperates.Now add chicken pieces and mix it for few minutes.Add necessary water to cook the chicken .Water should be boiled before adding yogurt.Allow it to boil once again,and then add potato pieces into it.Cover and cook till chicken and potatoes are well done.Add kasoori methi and cook for another 5 mts.Serve hot.

7 Responses to “Chicken Curry with Potatoes”

  1. Looks delicious Annita!
    dals are our ultimate comfort foods,..hah!

    Yeah..It goes well with roti/rice,rt?Thanks Karthi

    Annita 

  2. Rg said

    Annita, sounds good to me… I’ll defintiely try this…100% sure….but I’ve a silly question for you….doesn’t breast chicken pieces get cooked at a stage where we add it to the browned onions+masalas and saute it for few mins even before the water adding stage…it turns white pretty quick right…???So after mixing it with oninon+masalas and then adding water to it for further cooking and gravy, I always end up with breast chicken pieces over done. any thoughts?

    No,Rg.I dont think chicken will cook that fast.It turns white outside,but it takes some time to cook inside.It’ll take atleast 5-7 mts after water is added.And be careful in adding water,don’t add too much of water,as the chicken pieces will also release a small amount of water from itself.And always cook in medium heat.Check in btw,and if you think the chicken is overcook ,just switch off the stove  .

    Annita 

  3. LALITHA said

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. looks so good and making me hungry.

  4. Rg said

    thank you annita for clearing my doubts. I’ll be trying your chicken potato curry and shaheen’s chicken curry/varatiyadhu….both very soon. thanks a lot.

  5. Rach said

    I was looking for a non veg recipe which calls for Kasoori Mehti & there I found this perfect recipe what I was looking for. Just a doubt – when you say 2 chicken breast , could you please tell me what would be in terms of weight ? I would prefer to try this recipe with the whole chicken rather than boneless as I love to chew on the bones.

    Thanks,

    Tanya

    It was around 1 pound,Tanya.Many thanks for dropping by.Try out and let me know if u liked it,ok?

    Annita

  6. RIA said

    I liked all the chicken recipes. i am a keralite but not so much acquainted with kerala curries as mom only used to prepare it. at present in US, so missing kerala food, thanks for all the recipes. trying one after other.

    bye

    Thanks Ria..Try it out and let me know your comments too
    Annita

  7. Ansu said

    I am a novice cook who started cooking after coming to US. I loved your blog, my only complaint is when you buy onions from US stores they tend to be big so when your recipe says use of 2 onions, my curries were sweet before realized my gross error. I wish the weight of onion and tomato would be included in the recipe rather than the number

Leave a Reply

 
