My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Bittergourd-Mango Curry In Coconut Milk

Posted by Annita on April 15, 2006

As it is the bitter guard season here in Kerala and we have lots of them in our courtyard, every day there will be some or other bitter guard dish at home. Today I’m posting a different recipe with bitter guard which my amma made yesterday. I’m not claiming that this is excellent or anything, but a good one for bittergourd lovers and it goes well with rice.The curry was not that bittery too. This is actually my Grandma’s recipe and it goes like this..
Ingredients:-
Bitter Guard Sliced thin and of half inch length – 1
Raw Green Mango Sliced thin – 1
Sliced Onion – 1 (Using shallots/small onions enhances the taste)
Chopped Ginger – 1 tsp
Chopped Garlic – 1 tsp
Green Chillies sliced – 3
Curry leaves – a sprig
Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
Turmeric Powder – 1 tsp
Coriander powder – 5 tsp
Chilly Powder – 2 tsp
Thin coconut milk – 2 cups
Thick coconut milk -1/2 cup
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Ingredients
Method:-
Make a paste with turmeric powder,coriander powder and chilly powder adding a little water.
In a pan add a little oil and saute bittergourd slices,mango pieces,ginger,garlic and green chillies.Stir in half of the masala paste and salt into it.Add thin coconut milk and mix well.Cook till the bittergourd pieces and mangoes are well done.
Heat oil in another pan and add mustard seeds into it.When they pop add onion and curry leaves and saute till onions turn translucent.Add rest of the masala paste and saute well.Now add the cooked bittergourd mixture into it and simmer for 10 mts.Finally add thick coconut milk,stir well and remove.

Bittergourd-Mango Curry in Coconut Milk
Posted by Annita

6 Responses to “Bittergourd-Mango Curry In Coconut Milk”

  1. lakshmi said

    hi, happy new year. nice recipe. Recently mahanandi started this jhiva, you might be aware of, and it’s all about mangoes. you should have saved this for later.
    but anyway, nice one.

  2. Anita said

    O, but it is excellent! I found I had everything in the fridge and fresh curry leaves from the garden…and I set to work… After my own home food (Kashmiri), I find South Indian food is the other comfort food. I know, there is nothing common between the two cuisines. I love what coconut milk does to curries…yum.

  3. in trinidad we called bitter gourd caraille . our favorite is called mother in law caraille, carrots, tomatoes hot pepper is chopped in small pieces shaken up together before serving.

  4. lakshmy said

    u have a great collection of authentic kerala recipes there!!!! it simply brings baack gud old memories of gud keral fud. thanx a lot for ur efforts,i try most of ur recipes n shuld say it defs amazing. keep posting more recipes.

    Thank you very much for these encouraging words ,Lakshmi..Do keep visiting my blog.
    Annita

  5. […] my parents dropped by for lunch. I served them a most delicious vegetarian lunch which included Kerala-style bittergourds cooked in coconut milk with sour mango (this is now one of my favourite ways to cook karela!), a […]

  6. With havin so much written content do you
    ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it
    is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any
    solutions to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
